We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$246
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$233
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$261/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 28/07
US$281
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$273
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$189
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$179
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Pestana Palms(Funchal)
US$224
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$170
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$323
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$306
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$176
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Porto Mare Hotel(Funchal)
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$226
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$219
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$200
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$173
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$225
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$173
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Free cancellation until 22/07
US$491
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$468
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (578)
Filter reviews
578 results
Traveller rating
247
187
84
38
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
247
187
84
38
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsa la carte restaurantspool barbuffet restaurantwater pologlass bathroomopen plan bathroombamboo restauranttraditional bathroomtea areawearing jeansmadeiran restaurantmain restaurantwine waiterpool staffsea viewhotel managersmall room
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 578 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed at the Hotel for 8 days from June 15th to June 22nd and it was amazing. The rooms were beautiful with amazing views. The Buffet was a little redundant but overall not bad and had a variety for everyone. The Madeira restaurant the atmosphere was great but the food was not the best. the Italian restaurant was amazing and the food was excellent I have to say we travel 3 to 4 times a year and this was the best Ala carte I have ever been too. The Entertainment Staff was amazing especially Sissi, Barbara and Francisco very very friendly and enthusiastic people. The only complaint I have was the restaurant chief Christophe Gonzalves I have never met such an arrogant rude and obnoxious person. He has no people skills and should not be dealing with the public all he does is constantly look in the mirror at himself, does not listen to people when they are speaking to him and continuously answers questions with one reply "Enjoy". He looks after all the single young girls and ignores everyone else. I am shocked that such a wonderful resort would employee someone like him. Overall great resort but don`t think I would return because of him.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
9  Thank Cindy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FORoyal, General Manager at Pestana Royal All Inclusive, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing the Pestana Royal Hotel for your holidays and for taking the time to leave us your comment.

It is with great pleasure that we read your words and we are delighted that you had a wonderful time here. A special thanks from the animation staff for the mention on their work. With regard to the service inconsistency you have found we would like to apologize for the bad experience and we assure you that proper measures will be taken so that these situations do not reoccur.

In all, we would like to once again thank you for your kind words and hope you give us the opportunity to have you back with us in the future.

Kind Regards,

Maria da Paz Garcia
Unit Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The staff were exemplary unfortunately that’s about all I can say that was exceptional. The bed was so hard we could not sleep fir more than an hour without waking. The masses of stairs ruined my knees. The food was the same every day fir every meal. The buffet was like a herd of wilderbeast fighting over grass. Being given plastic glasses of an evening inside the bar which was more like a cavern. I would give this 3 stars the very most. I can only imagine that the five star mark comes from the spa fascilities that no one uses because it so rediculously expensive.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Pestana Hotel Group
4  Thank Trevor W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FORoyal, General Manager at Pestana Royal All Inclusive, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay in the Pestana Royal Hotel and for taking the time to write us your feedback.

We are glad to see that you enjoyed our staff, they are indeed a very important asset to the hotel and they are very hard workers. It is always very pleasing to see their work praised.

With regard to our services, it is a let down to see that your expectations were not met during your visit. We have a 24 hour available reception to make sure every situation is accuratelly assessed, had you contacted one of our team members and they would be more than pleased to assist you.

In all, we would once again like to thank you for your words and to apologize for the drawbacks found during your visit. We hope you give us the opportunity to better serve you in the future.

Kind Regards,

Maria da Paz Garcia
Unit Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Hotel looks ok from outside but not so great on the inside. Quality/quantity of food was definitely not 5*. Quality/lack of sunbeds was poor. Ate in Italian restaurant, service disappointing, tables far to close together. Food at pool bar was ok. Had to drink from plastic cups, quality/quantity of drinks poor.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with Pestana Hotel Group
3  Thank besagemo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FORoyal, General Manager at Pestana Royal All Inclusive, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

First we would like to thank you for choosing the Pestana Royal Hotel for your holidays in Madeira and for taking the time to leave us your comment on Tripadvisor.

We are very disappointed to see that our services did not meet your expectations. This is definitely not a review that reflects our daily work and the service we aim to provide our guests, therefore we would like to apologize for the service inconsistencies you found while you were here. Also, we will discuss your feedback internally with the respective departments in order to find the best ways to improve the points mentioned.

Despite all, we hope to have the opportunity to have you back with us in the future and experiment our improvements.

Kind Regards,

Maria da Paz Garcia
Unit Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely hotel, staff helpful and friendly.

Pools and grounds are well kept with variety of trees and plants.

Dinner organised by times, you are given time when you check in, we were told you can ask to go at another time should you want to. We found that in the evening the restaurant was busy but there was no problem finding a spare table. There were different themes each evening for the buffet which meant it was varied and always plenty to choose from, including a freshly cooked option. We went to both the Italian and Asian restaurants they were excellent. Sadly the Madeira themed restaurant was not operating when we were there.

Downside is arrival and getting into your room, hotel has policy that you are unable to access your room until 3pm, at this time everyone arrives at reception so you don’t get into your room promptly, luggage took a while to arrive in the room. From arriving at the hotel, checking in and being able to unpack took 4:50-5 hours, not great when you have been travelling and would like to freshen up and start your holiday. Would be better for guests if the hotel could have rooms available sooner for guest arriving in the morning.

That said we loved this hotel and would return if in Madeira

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jill P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FORoyal, General Manager at Pestana Royal All Inclusive, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your recent stay in the Pestana Royal Hotel and for your comments further to your stay. We are thrilled to read your words and are very happy to see that you had an enjoyable time with us!

With regard to the check-in time, it is indeed a hotel policy to have the rooms available at 3pm. Nevertheless have we the room ready before that time we are more than pleased to allow the guest the access to its room. During high season, and with high occupancies this is something hard to happen since check-out time is until 12pm and we have a high afluence of people.

Once again we would like to thank you for your review and we would be very pleased to have you once again as our guest. Hopefully then you will be able to try our Botanic Restaurant!

Kind Regards,

Maria da Paz Garcia
Unit Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Pestana Royal is the most beautiful hotel on Madeira.
Great staffs, food, views, services.
We are happy that we choose this hotel for spending our honeymoon. We know we will return to Madeira and for sure to this great hotel.
Thank you for everything!

Room Tip: We had Duplex room with a view to the ocean and it was very beautiful
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mareknisler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FORoyal, Diretor-Geral at Pestana Royal All Inclusive, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your recent stay in the Pestana Royal Hotel and for your kind words! We are delighted to read your comments and are very happy to see we were able to provide you 'Memorable Moments'! We work hard every day towards costumer satisfaction and reviews like this is the best reward we can get!

We would be very pleased to welcome you back in our hotel for another wonderful experience!

Kind Regards,

Maria da Paz Garcia
Unit Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews