We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant holiday!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Palheiro Village

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Palheiro Village
Certificate of Excellence
Shropshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Brilliant holiday!”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We stayed in a 3 bedrooms villa with private pool and it was amazing! The villa is beautifully furnished and the views are breathtaking!!!!! The staff are really helpful and even left me a bottle of sparkly as I was celebrating my 30th Birthday :)
My husband and I were there with our 17 month old son and my parents and we all had a fabulous time-highly recommend!!!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Kelly04072014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vera_proemer, Manager at Palheiro Village, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Happy Birthday and thank you for taking the time to review us!
I hope you celebrated well?

Thank you for your visit and we look forward to welcoming you back for your 31st?!

Kind regards,
Vera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    297
    50
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
151
144
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Three generations thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Palheiro Village. We stayed in villa 49 which is right next to the swimming pool complex. This was ideal for us as we have a toddler and didn't want the risk of him falling in if we rented a villa with a private pool but were so close that it almost felt like our own pool!
The views from the villa were breathtaking from every window - even the shower had a stunning view. It was beautifully furnished and extremely well equipped with everything we might need for a relaxing stay - what a joy to fond sharp knives and weighing scales in the kitchen!
Palheiro village is a great place to stay - close enough to get into the centre on Funchal in ten minutes yet high up enough to get the great views and feel peaceful. We enjoyed all the facilities - fabulous facial in the hotel spa and two nice lunches in the golf clubhouse restaurant. The pool is lovely too - good size and never crowded. Often we were the only people there. There is an honesty bar for poolside drinks and ice creams and even a play room for young children.
All staff were exceptionally helpful and professional and we very much hope to return soon. It felt like the best of both worlds in many ways - the practicality of self catering combined with the services of a hotel (restaurants, pool, cleaning service in the villa etc...). Wonderful holiday!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Antonia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vera_proemer, Manager at Palheiro Village, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Good morning and thank you very much for your review!
Wow! Your comment is music to our ears. It is fantastic to hear that you all enjoyed yourselves and that there IS something for everyone and everyage at the Palheiro Village.

We very much look forward to having you back as guests: one, two or three generations. You are always very welcome.

Kind regards to the family and hope to see you soon!

The Palheiro VIllage Team ( the list is long) ....thank you from us all.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

The 2 of us stayed for 2 weeks in an apartment with an amazing view of Funchal. The apartment was very clean & well fitted, with maid service regularly. Staff extremely helpful, special thanks to Vera for showing us around a couple of the bigger villas for a probable stay next year with the rest of our family. We had a great time. Thanks again.

Room Tip: Although bus services are available, a car is a must to get about the island.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Malcolm S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vera_proemer, Manager at Palheiro Village, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Hello to the two of you!

Thank you for your visit and your review.
It was a pleasure showing you the Palheiro Village.

We look forward to having you back. Please take the family with you.
Just send an e-mail or you are welcome to book via the TripAdvisor site.

Wishing you all the best and hope to have you back soon!

Kind regards,
Vera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Palheiro Village was above the expectations. The villa in which we stayed had everything we needed, everything was modern and new, the view was awesome, to the ocean and to Funchal, the personnel was very professional.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank choosy23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vera_proemer, Manager at Palheiro Village, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Good morning and thank you for your review.
It is always great to hear that the Palheiro Village surpassed your expectations.

Your feedback is very important to us. We will keep doing our best.

We look forward to having you back.
You are welcome to book us directly via the TripAdvisor site.

Kind regards,
Vera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

This was our second visit to Palheiro and was every bit as good as the first. Palheiro is high in the hills above Funchal. The one bedroom large appartment was spotlessly clean and well fitted out. Super comfortable bed. It was on the first floor so had a wonderful view of the sea. The balcony was very large with sun beds, chairs and a table. Kitchen had everything you could want if you wanted to eat in. Whilst there is a bus stop just outside that will take you into Funchal, a car certainly makes life very easy, and opens the whole island to exploration. Many thanks to Vera who helped with some questions at the booking stage and was on hand to welcome us on arrival even though it was a national holiday in Madeira. The staff at Palheiro are a good team that work together to deliver a great experience. We will return for our third visit!

Room Tip: Contact Vera by phone or email and discuss your requirements. She will help you make a good choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YourEyesandEars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vera_proemer, Manager at Palheiro Village, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Greetings from Madeira!

Thank you for your visit, again!
Go fo it, go for the hat trick. We look forward to having you back.

You certainly made the most of the weather. Outside on your balcony everyday, what a life!

It is always a pleasure having returning guests. You are a fantastic measure of our quality.

Hope to see you sooner than later.

Kind regards from the Palheiro Village team, Louisa, Cristina, Emilia and myself!
Vera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at Palheiro. The villa was clean, very well equipped and the staff was amazing. Everyone was extremely helpful. Vera was excellent in arranging for a car rental which essentially made it effortless for us. Would definitely recommend a stay at these villas.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RET_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vera_proemer, Manager at Palheiro Village, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Hello and thank you for your visit and taking the time to review us!

It was a pleasure having you as guests. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay.
Hopefully we will have you back. It is a long way from Canada. I know, I am from Vancouver. Even more so, thank you for your long journey.

Till your next visit!

All the best from the Palheiro Village team and regards to Canada!

Vera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

The apartments are very well equipped, nicely decorated and kept to a high standard. We had one with a stunning view on Funchal bay. The staff was really helpful and friendly. There is a lot to do on the premises, there is an outdoor swimming pool, beautiful gardens, tea room, restaurant, spa and golf. We can really recommend this place!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Todi N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vera_proemer, Manager at Palheiro Village, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Greeting from Madeira and thank you for your visit.

It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed and used the tremendous facilities of the Palheiro Estate.
Yes, the property is vast: over 120 hectares in total. Everything is at your footsteps.

Thank you for reviewing us.
We look forward to having you back.

Kind regards from the reception team; Louisa, Cristina and myself, Vera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
3.7 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
3.2 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 87 in Funchal
2,711 reviews
2.7 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Quintinha Sao Joao
Quintinha Sao Joao
#9 of 87 in Funchal
1,076 reviews
4.1 mi away
Madeira Regency Cliff
Madeira Regency Cliff
#12 of 87 in Funchal
1,099 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Residence
The Residence
#6 of 87 in Funchal
784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palheiro Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palheiro Village

Property: Palheiro Village
Address: Estrada do Aeroporto, 65, Funchal, Madeira 9060-382, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 38 Speciality Lodging in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Palheiro Village 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a wide choice of Luxury Villas and Apartments we are able to offer you a home away from home at very reasonable prices with excellent conditions. Additionaly, our guests are entitled to a great selection of facilities and services at discounted prices. Located on a prime hilltop site overlooking Funchal, the 120 hectare Palheiro Estate has grown from an early 19th century hunting lodge and summer retreat for nobility into a sophisticated resort destination. It is important to remember that renting a holiday home in Madeira differs from reserving a hotel room or bed & breakfast. The advantages of renting a property at Palheiro Village allow our guests to enjoy privacy and flexibility within a luxury property offering unsurpassed views. Many of our guests find that renting a holiday home provides them with exceptional value and freedom. All of our fully furnished and very well equipped properties will surpass all your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you to your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, ACCOR, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Palheiro Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palheiro Village Hotel Funchal
Palheiro Village Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing