We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Moynihans Irish Bar
Ranked #81 of 661 Restaurants in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$18
Cuisines: Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Moynihans is the place to be in Madeira, it is fun, modern and comfortable!We are open daily from 11am until midnight. Food is served from 11am until 10pm everyday. We have live music 3 nights a week, Like an explosion that leads you to another dimension of entertainment, Moynihans is the place in the madeira social life. Fun, modern, comfortable and with a mixture of pub food, classic pub atmosphere and sports television, with daily animation and live music, this is the place to come
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Far more laid back and relaxed than a typical irish bar, with excellent entertainment and table service.

Thank bdf1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sinead m, Owner at Moynihans Irish Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Dear Bdf1,

Thank you for your review of Moynihan's Irish Bar

Kind Regards
Sinead Moynihan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (695)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

478 - 482 of 695 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2014

We came across Moynihanhs Irish Bar purely by accident, I am a very plain eater and am very difficult to please. It was the only bar we found that caters for the plain eaters like myself. The staff are friendly and attentive to your every need. The portions are very good and the Sunday roast was lovely and very good value. We ate there every night and the staff remembered us and made us feel welcome. All the food is homemade and because of this ,at busy times you may have to wait a while for your food.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank jennifer f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sinead m, Owner at Moynihans Irish Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Dear Jennifer F

Thank you for your review of Moynihan's Irish bar, I was delighted to read that you enjoyed our homemade food.

Hopefully you will return in the near future

Kind regards
Sinead Moynihan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We ate here once and visited a few times for drinks. The menu was quite varied and the staff were absolutely first rate!

Thank Jsrickus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sinead m, Owner at Moynihans Irish Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Dear Jsrickus,

Thank you for taking the time to review Moynihan's Irish Bar

Hopefully we will see you again

Kind Regards
Sinead Moynihan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

A nice bar with a good outside area.
Good cocktails after a meal at the Istanbul resturant underneath.
Quite expensive but nice to find an actual bar in funchal

Thank takmij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sinead m, Owner at Moynihans Irish Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Dear Takmij

Thank you for your lovely review of Moynihan's Irish Bar.

I hope you will return in the future

Kind Regards
Sinead Moynihan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Amazing bar with such lovely staff, made everyone feel very welcome. Big variety of English foods, also a Maderian special on the menu, at great costs! Always a great atmosphere, enjoyed the weekly quiz and getting to know other people through this. Just a lovely lovely place to go and enjoy a meal and then relax for the whole night after while being looked after by lovely people. Thanks for your great hospitality! (a member of the biggest family you've ever had there!)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank georgia d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sinead m, Owner at Moynihans Irish Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2014

Dear Georgia D,

Thank you for your lovely review of Moynihan's Irish Bar, it was lovely to read how much enjoyed our food, service and weekly quiz.

I hope you will visit if you return to Madeira in the future

Kind Regards
Sinead Moynihan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Moynihans Irish Bar also viewed

 

Been to Moynihans Irish Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing