We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“first but not the last” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of L'osteria

L'osteria
Reserve with
Save up to 30% when you reserve online *
L'osteria is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #140 of 600 Restaurants in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$11 - US$33
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Romantic, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
home
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“first but not the last”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

What a fabulous meal we had last week and we have been back tonight and in no way disappointed. If you have tried the Forte, Mozarts, Armazen etc then this place will satisfy your taste buds if you love excellent food served with a touch of class. Please, take a short walk up the gentle incline to L'Osteria and reward yourself with a wonderful dining experience. Give it a try and enjoy!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank mickmphs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

669 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    414
    161
    63
    17
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ringwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Needs brightening up a little”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

L'Osteria remains one of our favourite restaurants in the Funchal area. The food is excellent and very reasonably priced. The service is always friendly and the atmosphere relaxed, so I am a little perplexed as to why it is not busier. However, having considered the matter and having thought what initially attracts me to other establishments, I believe it might benefit from a little more lighting to catch the attention of passers-by. Someone standing at the doorway encouraging people to try it might also help. The structure of the package menu has been changed to include a choice of any three courses for 20 Euros, with water and wine also included for a further 6.5 Euros. However, whilst this provides extremely good value, it does exclude those who can perhaps only manage two courses, but would still like water and wine as part of the package. I sincerely hope more people will start to patronise this little gem of a restaurant before the owners are forced to pull the plug.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank cyrilmoseley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Birthday Party to remember”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

We booked for the wife's birthday last month, 10 of us, the tables was set up to the side of the restaurant, and for a small charge we had flowers on the table plus a bouquet for the wife. Then as we had booked for 10 people, yes, a birthday cake to finish the evening. We all had different meals, wine, water, tea and coffee, only problem some of the family had to much to eat and were unable to finish their main course! Wonderful evening excellent food, a lasting memory.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KeithB579
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skipton
Level Contributor
128 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“I only wish it was more busy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

We returned to L'Osteria (16/08) after several visits in 2013. The service and food was just as good as ever. The 3 course menu at 20 euros per person was excellent value. We will return again during this holiday. The only disappointing thing is that the restaurant is never very busy. This is a shame. If in Madeira we would recommend this restaurant for fresh well coked food unlike some other restaurants in Madeira that serve up processed food and charge high prices.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Birdie2boy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Brilliant Deal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

This place was so good the first time we tried it that we went back a second time to try some of the rest of the menu. The service was excellent and most of the staff spoke very good English. They also do a brilliant deal for a 3 course meal with a bottle of wine and a bottle of water. As not all of the dishes are included in the deal you can still pay a few Euros to upgrade to something more expensive you fancy. We would go back there if we are in Funchal again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank THE_WILLUM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed L'osteria also viewed

 
Funchal, Madeira
 

Been to L'osteria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing