We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Favourite place”

PVP-Pao Vinho e Petiscos
Reserve with
Save up to 30% when you reserve online *
PVP-Pao Vinho e Petiscos is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #73 of 606 Restaurants in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Romantic, Groups, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Favourite place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

Loved it first time, loved it the second time. great service and food and the owner a really nice man and loves his sport. All the staff are friendly and give good advice on the special of the day and choices you might like. Enjoy it

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank forgetmeknot21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    275
    182
    45
    22
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Acceptable but very average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014 via mobile

The service here was chaotic to say the least. It all felt all rather manic, and not a peaceful dining experience.

The food was perfectly acceptable - great chips, but everything else just a bit mediocre. It did the job, but given a lot of rave reviews here, was slightly disappointing.

Helpful?
Thank GeoffandHelenA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A Sunny Island
Level Contributor
159 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Fab risotto”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014 via mobile

I did a review in December and I was pleased to say that the waiter who stunk of cigarettes was not on when we visited this time. My husband had the steak with Bernadine sauce, which came with sautes with pieces of ham, vegetables, I had the risotto with croaker fish and coriander. With two soft drinks the vill was around €35.

We had a desert but not here if you take the lift in the restaurant to floor 4 you will find a place which is linked to this restaurant for crepes, ice cream,snacks. We had a simple crepe each with sugar and cinnamon it was euro 5

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank quillingartist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Portuguese Restaurant near Pestana Promenade Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

We have been visiting the PVP - Portuguese restaurant, next to the SPAR shop, each year for the last five years. The restaurant is only a few minutes walk from our timeshare in the Promenade Hotel.
The restaurant is extremely popular and now seemingly attracts more hotel guests than locals, who still frequent in significant numbers.
The restaurant offers meals at a fraction of the price in the hotel and of equivalent quality. Tonight every table was taken yet again.
The wine shop part of the restaurant sells a really good selection of Portuguese wines. These wines are available with the meal usually for 11 euros or less. The menu includes meat and fish daily specials alongside the main menu. Start with delicious mussels or prawns in garlic!Then try the wild boar and bacon or the entrecôte. Great value too!
All the staff speak really good English and could not be more helpful! Especially Orlando, who always makes us feel like we are returning "home". Many thanks to all the staff. See you again in September.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Hinxton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Still as good as ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014 via mobile

Have been going to this restaurant for a few years now and have always found the staff extremely friendly and helpful. Food is basic Madeiran cuisine but is always good and tasty. Wines are good and not too expensive. Would certainly recommend.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank mandak23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed PVP-Pao Vinho e Petiscos also viewed

 

Been to PVP-Pao Vinho e Petiscos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing