We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Superb house in great location”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Villa Firdaus

Villa Firdaus view of garden and deck
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Villa Firdaus view of garden and deck
Main double bedroom Second family bathroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
53 reviews
Villa Firdaus view of garden and deck
Main double bedroom
Second family bathroom
Lounge
Open-plan Kitchen
Dinning room
Main ensuite bathroom
Second double bedroom
Third twin bedroom
Driveway with secure parking
Garden
Outside wooden deck and front door
Deck and garden
View from Balcony
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Funchal, Madeira, Madeira Islands

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 53 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Thenotsoo...
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Superb house in great location”
Reviewed 6 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We spent a week at Villa Firdaus and were very sad to leave. The villa is finished to an extremely high standard and has everything you could need for a self catering holiday. The kitchen is huge, with all the utensils you could ever want. The bedrooms are large and comfortable, with a very luxurious en-suite in the master bedroom. The living room is pleasant and there is a lovely terrace with table and chairs and views of Funchal.

There is a bus stop very close by, so it's easy to get into town. It is possible to walk in to the main town, but it will take about 45 mins or so. Walking back is a little harder as it is very steep (like much of Madeira). We bought a week bus pass, which made life really easy.

The caretaker for the property, Joao, lives in the flat underneath the villa, so if you do have any problems he's on hand to help. He's a really nice guy and even gave us a lift into town when he saw us waiting at the bus stop.

The location of the property is also really quiet, so if you'd prefer to be away from the bustle of the centre then this could be ideal for you.

I would happily stay here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Lovely comfortable property
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SuzieToas...
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“The most beautiful place to stay in Madeira!”
Reviewed 7 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

This was our 4th stay at the villa and we just wouldn't go anywhere else! It is near enough to Funchal (you can see the sea from the balcony), yet peaceful and private. The house is exceptionally well furnished and equipped and the garden is a delight at all times of the year, thanks to Joao who spends many hours caring for it. Although there were 4 of us plus 2 children, we all had plenty of space. Last time we came our son got married in Madeira, this time our daughter and boyfriend got engaged ... there is definitely something magical about Madeira, and Villa Firdaus is the perfect place to stay there. Thank you Joao for helping us to have yet another wonderful stay, and for the keeping the gardens so lovely and safe for the children to play in.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The lovely well designed and equipped house itself and the garden.
Liked least: nothing to dislike
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haarlem20...
Haarlem, The Netherlands
1 review
“A fantastic holiday in a beautiful villa surrounded by flowers”
Reviewed 16 July 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We had a fantastic holiday with our 16 months old son in Villa Firdaus!
The first thing I said when we entered the house was: This house is even more beautiful in real life than the pictiures on the Internet.
We wandered from room to room and were astonished by the quality of the furnature and the athmosphere in the rooms.
The lights of Fundal on the hills far away were so pretty.
By daylight we were even more surprised. The garden is absolutely magnificant. Flowers and trees from al over the world. The view is amazing and yes you can see the sea. We can't thank the Manager Joao enough for al of his help when we asked him for help. Hè advised us on hikes, food, beaches, roads and many more things. He has such a warm personality and made our stay a beter one. We will return to Villa Firdaus!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house the garden and the friendly help
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
exchanges
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not enough superlatives to do it justice”
Reviewed 10 April 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

On the basis of a two month stay this year (2015) we would like to endorse all the positive comments in the reviews of Villa Firdaus. It is an absolute gem and cannot be recommended highly enough. The website, if anything, undersells it and the photos, excellent as they are, do not do it justice. There is a lovely atmosphere of a family home, not just a holiday let, and the whole property is astonishingly well-equipped. We made full use of the spacious kitchen and all its facilities. The beds are very comfortable and both bathrooms work well. The garden both front and rear is an ever-changing display of flowers, trees and shrubs, and is very well-tended. As the property has vacant plots on both sides there is a real sense of privacy and spaciousness. Although we rented a car to go around the island, the local buses are excellent for coming back from the centre (we usually walked down) and the Giro card system for payment makes them very good value. We were usually able to pick up a taxi when we wanted one from outside the supermarket. Funchal’s only beach Praia Formosa with restaurants and a lovely walk to Camera de Lobos is a pleasant 35 minute downhill walk, and there are irregular buses back up to close to the villa. Joao, the resident caretaker, is never in the way, but always available and helpful when needed. His English is excellent and he really cares for the property. Fatima the maid who cleans and changes the beds once a week is indefatigable, and leaves the place spotless. A point to bear in mind is that in February it can be chilly in the evenings and, as we were in most nights, we used more gas to warm the living room than expected, and incurred a small extra charge for this, which we happily paid. I would imagine that most people staying for a shorter period would be out more in the evenings, and this wouldn’t be an issue. In short, there aren’t enough superlatives to do it justice!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quiet, spaciousness and the feeling of a family home
Liked least: Nothing really
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maturecou...
Bideford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“THE PERFECT VILLA”
Reviewed 5 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Villa Firdaus is ,without doubt, the nicest quietest villa we have ever stayed in and is located in an ideal spot..All the rooms are huge, light and airey and are tastefully furnished to the very highest level..
Everywhere was immaculately clean.!
The kitchen is to die for..and has absolutely everthing you could ever need..

Big deep comfy beds & thick soft towels...the marks of luxury..

Villa Firdaus is somones lovely home..not just a rental villa..

Gardens are private and delightful...

The local busses pass within a 5 minute walk ,on a regular basis..

Joao , the property manager, lives adjacent..His local knowlegde is inexaustable and accurate..and for nothing for him is too much trouble...a really lovely guy..he greatly enanced our holiday

I cannot speak highly enough of the facility and have no hesitation in strongly reccommending ..We will definately return next year ,and most years after I expect,!

Mature couple ,who holiday at least 5 times a year..

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Not waking up until at least 9.30 every morning
Liked least: We had the local dogs barking at night on a couple of occasions.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SuzieToas...
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Heavenly!”
Reviewed 6 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Everything about Villa Firdaus is perfect. This is my second stay, this time the first week with husband, second with family including 9 year old Zoe who adored Barbie the dog and climbing the frangipane tree, and George, just walking at 14 months. It was very safe for them both, and very relaxing for us all. Sparklingly clean, fabulous views, really comfortable, and best of all Joao who looks after everything so well, and has great knowledge of the island too.
I can't recommend the villa highly enough. Extremely well equipped, views of the sea and mountains while eating breakfast on the balcony. The best place I have ever stayed!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Perfect villa and views
Liked least: Nothing at all to dislike
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn21
Heywood, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“An amazing holiday”
Reviewed 23 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We had a wonderful time both on Madeira and staying at Villa Firdaus. The Villa exceeded expectations and was better than the photos. Joao the on site manager was really helpful and a lovely person and didn't intrude in any way. The Villa managed to both feel like home but be a really special place to stay. There were five of us for part of the stay and we had plenty of space. We hired a car so the Villa was easy to find from the airport and within easy access to the main roads so it was easy to get out and about across the island - if you can cope with very windy and at times steep roads. We walked in to Funchal once but it is steep and quite a climb on the way back and does take about 30 minutes but that said there are buses and we found parking in Funchal ok and not too expensive. There is a large supermarket within walking distance of the Villa and a great restaurant with its own take away which we used a lot. There was more to Madeira than we expected and the different landscapes from the mountains to the beaches were spectacular. The catamaran cruise where we were lucky enough to see whales and dolphins was fantastic, we enjoyed the touristy things we did such as afternoon tea at Reids, the toboggan and the cable car but the drives up the mountains were our favourite - combined with the meals we had in interesting and beautiful places. We didn't manage to do as many walks as we'd have liked but that's a reason to go back. Leaving the Villa each morning wasn't easy as it was so restful but it was a lovely place to come back to and sitting on the decking or the covered patio in the evening was wonderful. Having been down to the hotel district during our stay and had a very different view of Funchal, we wouldn't want to stay anywhere else. This was one of our best holidays, we loved both the Villa and the island and would return to both.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The space and the views from the terrace
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing