We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“You can't tire of the view”
other traveller has booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
Terrace
View from Terrace
Terrace
Main Room
Sunset view from the House
House night view
Terrace - Fireworks in June and New Year
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Funchal, Madeira, Madeira Islands

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Katha77
Rainford
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“You can't tire of the view”
Reviewed 16 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We arrived on Madeira, picked up our rental car and were at the apartment within 15 minutes. We were met by Duarte, who showed us around the place and got us all set up for the stay. He also guided us to the supermarket and gave us some easy instructions of how to get around the island. Besides, he has got a collection of brochures and maps, which give information of what to do and see. We absolutely loved the place and sat out on the terrace in the morning for our breakfast and in the evening whilst enjoying a glass of wine. The views were wonderful as we were watching the moon set in the morning, the sun set in the evening, the cruise ships coming in and out of the harbour in Funchal and the clouds 'crawling' over the mountains. Just writing about it now makes me want to go back. It will be one of our most favourite places to visit. The weather was great, the food delicious and the people relaxed. We were lucky that we could stay longer on our last day, as there were no people arriving in the afternoon and we made sure to leave only when we really had to in order to not miss the flight. Thank you Duarte, Fernanda and Madeira...

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare E
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a view! Beautiful apartment”
Reviewed 9 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Large apartment with the most amazing terrace and a fantastic view over Funchal. We didn't hire a car but the local buses (3 near the apartment) were easy to use and allowed us to have a stress free holiday.
The Owners were very welcoming and happy to help with transfers from and to the airport, advice on transport, restaurants etc.
Really relaxing holiday, thank you.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MancityKe...
Truro, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to stay.”
Reviewed 2 March 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Fantastic location the view is fantastic especially at night.
I would advise a hire car as getting around would be quite limited with public transport as it takes an age to get anywhere. The apartment and Duarte are really nice, the rooms are spacious and comfortable. The only downside we had was the shower could be a little temprimental . We had a great time and will go back when the weather is warmer.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Location and views
Liked least: Nothing really
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
robin s
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful apartment overlooking Funchal bay”
Reviewed 16 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016
3
people found this review helpful

Does the view from the apartment match the pictures ? yes, but it is impossible to take a picture that truly shows how good it is. Perched up high on the hill side with a perfect view of the harbour, you could spend all day watching the world go by, see the cruise ships arrive, watch the local buses weave their way up from town, enjoy sunsets that are spectacular and at night the street lights twinkle.

The apartment is bigger than the pictures show, it has everything you need and more, the owners have included lots of books, dvds, games etc to make your stay trouble free.

During our visit in February the back patio with table and barbecue was first to see the sun and by 10 am the front balcony was lovely and warm, you can sit out without being overlooked.

We used the hire car offered by the owners which included airport transfers and managed to explore the island, the main roads are easy with lots of tunnels but the side roads are narrow and steep, there is not a lot of traffic and parking was easy to find.

You could use the local buses there is a bus stop near the apartment and the fares are reasonable (day or multi day tickets are available) with a regular service. The drivers and passengers are very friendly.

Madeira is very beautiful and we enjoyed shopping in Funchal, and enjoyed some lovely meals at Zarkos (local restaurant) and in Funchal old town.

The owners Fernanda and Duarte were very friendly and helpful and made us feel welcome.

The apartment is fantastic, the view spectacular and excellent customer service highly recommended.

A perfect place to get away from it all

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view and apartment
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley75
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great apartment and terraces with stunning view”
Reviewed 28 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Spacious 2 bed apartment with a lovely terrace at the entrance and a huge balcony at the other side. The balcony caught the sun from late morning to sunset and the view was magnificent. Plenty of room for the sun loungers and table and chairs. The terrace has a good barbecue and we used this a few times. The apartment was well equipped and the owners were both very kind and helpful. Car hire is offered by the owners and we used this to explore some of the island. We were picked up and returned to the airport by Duarte and Fernanda - a great service! The apartment is a few kilometres from the centre of Funchal and sits up on the hillside which is the reason it has such a great view over Funchal town and harbour.
The island is beautiful and has a lush, green landscape and a tropical climate. Really enjoyed Palheiro Gardens (not far from the apartment) and the Botanic Gardens. The cable car ride was excellent - all 3 kilometres of it! Also discovered that some of the island's lizard population will take food from your hand! Nothing to fear, they are very small.
A very comfortable apartment with great outdoor space and very accommodating owners.
Thank you Duarte and Fernanda for all your efforts and a lovely holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Privacy, outdoor spaces, view
Liked least: Lack of local shops nearby
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Reviewed 18 June 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing