We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice palce”
Review of Restaurante Chalet

Restaurante Chalet
Ranked #130 of 616 Restaurants in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$22
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Furulund, Sweden
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice palce”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

A good tip for good food and restaurang is really this place, I tested beef on stone that was a new experience and it was very nice.Had not so many table outside that you could sit on, but it was a cozy place.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Finanina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

687 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    303
    217
    93
    54
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Undercooked pork and substandard holiday experience”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Whilst this restaurant may have you retro 70's lovers swooning it was a uncomfortable and unpleasant experience compared to others we have had staying in Funchal. We opted for the menu items not the set menu so we had more choice but the food was bland and in the case of the pork, undercooked. The serving staff smelt of smoke and the window fell apart behind us whilst eating. Vegetables arrived when we requested salad and consisted of cabbage and carrot. The worst issue is the poor value for money when you see what else Is available in the area.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mikejpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TONY F, Manager at Restaurante Chalet, responded to this review, 21 July 2015
Google Translation
O Restaurante Chalet tenta melhorar todos os anos o seu serviço e o menu em geral, como devem perceber não é possivel agradar a todos os que nos visitam por diversos fatores.
O que podemos garantir é que estamos sempre a evoluir com o intuito de melhorar os nosso serviços e garantir uma maior satisfação aos clientes que nos visitam.
São as criticas fundamentadas que nos fazem crescer.
Obrigado
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Amazing value”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We at off the special menu, 3 courses, alcoholic drink and a coffee for €16. But neither the service or food were cheap, staff friendly and attentive and the food was great - no complaints from any of the group I was with (and I'm very fussy). Would recommend and go again if I was here longer/came to Funchal again.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank L789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
95 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Ok at best”
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

I went here with family for an evening meal after being persuaded in by staff at the door.

Staff are very friendly and service is impeccable.

Unfortunately the food let this place down. We opted for the local tomato and onion soup with poached egg which have tried in several other places but here it did not come up to scratch.

My son ordered tagliatelle carbonara (all we could taste was egg and salt) a dish he normally lives but on this occasion could not eat. We were willing to let this go as everywhere is different however the waitress then made him feel very uncomfortable asking why he was not eating and was the food not good enough. In fairness, they did deduct the cost of this from the bill which we did not ask them to do.

My dish, chicken with peppercorn sauce was also difficult to eat due to being overpowered with daily to the point I could not taste the peppercorn sauce.

My partners espetadas were the only saving grace. These were well presented and cooked beautifully.

Staff then seemed offended that we did not want to order dessert or coffee.

We paid, leaving a tip, then were ignored upon leaving.

I would not return here.

Helpful?
Thank J300lsx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Excellent place”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We eat at the Chalet every time we visit Funchal, we have the Tourist menu which at the moment is16 euros, we had soup followed by a pork dish, then a dessert, then coffee, followed by a glass of Madeira, you also get wine with your meal. Cant be beaten!!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank vivjen92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurante Chalet also viewed

 
Funchal, Madeira
 

Been to Restaurante Chalet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing