We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Belmond Reid's Palace
Nearby Hotels
US$293
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$164
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$140
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$285
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$255
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$247
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$118
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel The Cliff Bay(Funchal)
US$282
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$246
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$154
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$105
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$352
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$342
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$161
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$140
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$281
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$211
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$146
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (1,612)
Filter reviews
1,612 results
Traveller rating
1,378
162
55
8
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,378
162
55
8
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvilla ciprianiafternoon tea on the terracechampagne buffetcharming roomcocktail barbest hotels in the worlddinner dancefree soft drinksjacket and tiewinston churchilldeluxe roomcliff toptennis courtsdress codebreakfast roomluxury hotelthe general manager
Filter
Updating list...
956 - 961 of 1,612 reviews
Reviewed 15 August 2013

We were really excited to go to Reid's Palace for afternoon tea as its one of our favourite pastimes. The building is lovely and the view from the terrace stunning... Scores well on ambience but the chef needs a little training on the foibles of an afternoon tea! Sandwiches were ok if a little chunky-needed a Betty's sandwich ruler to tidy them up:-) Small cakes were lovely but the main disappointment for €32.50 were the scones - rather fruity, a little dry, and served with jam in a jar, a very stingy portion of foamy sweet cream that was barely enough for one person, but worst of all a portion of butter in a foil container... Not good!!! Really not worth the expensive price tag!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
7  Thank Alison23lufbra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We booked Reid's Palace for our 20th anniversary! what a delight. Hotel was excellent and staff were friendly and we had everything we needed - nothing was too much trouble for them.
On our anniversary we had champagne and flowers in the room, followed by a delightful meal in the Brisa de Mar restaurant with chocolate cake as an extra at the end of our meal - and another bottle of champagne in the room. The breakfast in the morning was amazing and plentiful.
We would recommend this to anyone - it is expensive, but well worth it - we were delighted and looking forward to our next visit - your every need will be catered for......

Room Tip: our room overlooked the pool area and had delightful views of the bay also - second floor balcony
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SKELLY2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

We celebrated our 40th wedding anniversary in style at this famous hotel and were upgraded on arrival. The bedroom and bathroom were elegant and we also had a lovely terrace and view. We enjoyed a fabulous breakfast with the most incredible array of choices so that any international visitor would not be disappointed. As we had visited Funchal before we didn't visit too much of the island but instead walked several times into town or in the other direction to the new promenade and then returned each time to take full advantage of the hotel gardens, the swimming pools and the rocky sea area with its diving platforms. There's a café, patisserie and Spa across the road so you can get snacks here or go elsewhere so you don't have to buy lunch at the hotel. Funchal has a great number of lovely restaurants but you wouldn't want to miss the hotel restaurants for a few evenings. The food was superb with excellent service and lovely staff and with such fabulous views from the terrace it's a real treat. Or eat at the Cipriani Italian restaurant in the grounds with a sea view and ask for a table on the terrace. The special buffet evenings are expensive but you get wine included and live music so there are hours to enjoy. For a special occasion it was all worth it and the hotel surprised us with champagne in our room and a chocolate cake after our anniverary meal. Don't forget to tell them if you're celebrating something!

Room Tip: Ask for a high room if you're in the garden area to get the view.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dots122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

This superb Hotel more than 120 years old is located at a top of a cliff in Funchal set in lush 10 acre gardens.
Magnificently decorated it has so many amenities that makes it quite unique in the world.
Recently acquired and refurbished by Orient-Express it has a Spa by La Prarie and Ytsara, two heated outdoor pools, one stunning sea pool, two tennis courts, a children's outdoor space with mini pool, a teens room with apple computers, nintendo and wii games consoles, a tv room, a billiard room, a drawing room, several restaurants, including Villa Cipriani, an Italian restaurant with stunning views over the Atlantic Ocean. The gardens have almost all flowers and plants that you can find in Madeira Island and hotel details are astonishing. An H. Stern jewellery shop and other gift shops can accommodate any needs. The food is exquisite for all tastes. At Tea Time there is a famous Tea Terrace where you can have tea like nowhere on earth. You can even plan an event like a wedding in a special secluded garden and terrace. Quite expensive but it's an a totally different Hotel experience. The staff are so pleasant and inviting that you'll probably won't want to leave the hotel...

Room Tip: Any room will be amazing.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Vera D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

We booked a late break as a tonic after 2 family bereavements and to celebrate our 30th Anniversary. Hotel offered room upgrade on arrival. Good all round service, buffets are great but expensive - 45 Euros a head for lunch. Noisy building woks at adjacent property spoilt the ambience to a degree and I think the hotel knew about this in advance and may have warned off regular guests as there were only 10 rooms booked. A la carte restaurants were excellent if quiet. This hotel is probably best in high season unless you are happy to be one of only a few guests. Very traditional. Warning - no ironing facility in room meaning we spent over 100 euros for hotel service.

Room Tip: Ask for sea facing with balcony not ground floor
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aviator2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews