We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Belmond Reid's Palace
Ranked #5 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a long weekend a couple of weeks ago and had a great experience.
The location is great, with ocean stretching to the horizon before your eyes. The gardens are beautiful with lots of spots to enjoy sunshine. Sun deck is very private and nice. Swimming pool area is very stylish and beautiful. There were a lot of families with kids that weekend, but kids were kept occupied, we never heard any crying or noise, even at the swimmig pool.

Only small trouble we had was with the hotel's reception staff being not familiar with the LHW membership card. My husband has an unlimited LHW membership that we booked the hotel through. However it seemed that the hotel reception staff didn't seem to actually know what that means. They did upgrade us as part of the LHW membership, but didn't take into account our request to have sea view. So on arrival we had to change rooms. Little painful, but the room we got in the end was absolutely gorgeous, so was well worth the trouble! Then, on the chek out day as well, they tried to make us leave early when we do have a guaranteed late check out with the card. You'd expect the reception staff to research that, since we went to all the trouble pointing out card benefits at check in..

Ther rest of the weekend was flawless. Staff is very professional and non invasive.
We pretty much spent the weekend between the sea deck, the swimming pool and the food. One of the swimming pools is heated, so was very nice even in late October. We didn't venture into the ocean though!

The rooms are beautifully furnished and the whole hotel is excellently kept, with lots of memory pieces in the hallways, cute elevators, luxurious carpets. Service is 5-star too. I was feeling a bit sick one evening and they went out and bought us medication, which we've never previously seen in any 5-star hotel we've been to, they always make a big fuss out of it. But here nothing was too much trouble, it was great.

Food:
Breakfast was very good, with two daily specials that change every day, an exhaustive buffet with sparkling wine and fresh juices, and amazing views of the ocean.
We had dinenr in the French restaurant and weren't particularly impressed. Service and the ambience were a bit too old fashioned for my taste. Food was good though, but not excellent.
We also had dinner at the Italian restaurant, which was very nice. The view is amazing. Service is very friendly and professional and the food is very good. Definitely recommend. It's not very formal, so you woulnd't necessarily wear an evening dress (contrary to what the dress code suggests).
Lunch buffet at the swimming pool is very very good as well, although too expensive I'd say for a lunch buffet.

One thing we regret is that we didn't try the afternoon tea, it looked delicious!!

Room Tip: Room 730 has a huge terrace with views onto the ocean and the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AmayaD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,546)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

857 - 863 of 1,546 reviews

Reviewed 3 November 2013

This centennial class Grande Dame of the Oriental Express Group remains one of the world's finest luxury hotels. Sitting atop Europe's highest cliffs overlooking the port of Funchal, the hotel caters to royalty, statesmen and those with significant means. As our transatlantic crossing included Madeira as a port of call, I had the chance to re-acquaint myself with this majestic gem in its time warp! It had been over 50 years since a family stay, and while buildings had been added to the original complex, little of its charm, elegance and beautiful furnishings had changed! The hotel exudes gracious world class service. We enjoyed cocktails on an upper terrace followed by a delightful poolside buffet. Foie Gras with Madeira Gelee (Aspic) and Madeira Drizzle, Bola de Caco bread, grilled offerings , seafood platters - and lovely sweets washed down with a nice Portuguese Duro Tinto and Malvaise Madeira, made for a glorious afternoon!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank oca007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Having just spent a short half term break at Reid's I cannot recommend it highly enough. It is not (as I feared) only for the more mature traveller. I stayed with my 2 young daughters (10 and 8) and we had the most fantastic, fun and relaxing stay. The staff could not have made us feel more welcome. Nothing was too much trouble and our every need was provided for. Although the kids menu varied between the different restaurants in the hotel we could always go 'off piste' and order whatever the girls felt like. The adult menus, especially the seafood was incredible. Not cheap but worth it. The rooms were well equipped. There were 3 pools, virtually empty during our stay. A wonderful terraced area by the sea adds a great dimension and the kids loved jumping off the diving board into the crystal sea. The weather was reliable - a gorgeous 25 degrees so ideal for last winter sun. We enjoyed a boat trip on a rib (go for the fast boat not the catamaran as you can swim with dolphins if you come across them socialising, not travelling or feeding) and saw a pod of 11 incredible sperm whales, just 3 miles from the shore. There is a kids club for little ones, 2 excellent tennis courts and a teenagers hangout with wii games and play station. We didn't make it into the spa but it looked very good. All in all we all had the best time and would definitely recommend it to young families. Oh, and the buffet breakfast was incredible! Can't think of anything else they could have offered!

Room Tip: We had a junior suite on the 6th floor - large king size and a single for the kid. Do go for sea vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Emma G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

Excellent staff, great atmosphere, lovely attention to detail! The pools, views and concierges have to be the best on the island. I told the restaurant we has a birthday in our party and they alerted the hotel and spa who delivered champagne and gifts!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank EllenSea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Stayed at Reids Palace Madeira for 7 nights in late September and early October. Hotel was excellent and staff could not do too much for you. The hotel restaurants are 5 star especially the Italien which is in the grounds,
One problem was the view from the room which was partialy blocked by a tree but we were told that if we go again we should specify particular rooms with certain views. Looking forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FRANCIS D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013 via mobile

Nothing is too much trouble for the staff, the deluxe room very well appointed with fabulous view of the ocean. Swimming pool pleasant with lovely restaurant attached. The lunchtime buffet was particularly good.
Could not fault it. Cant wait to go back!!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WiltshireLuxury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

My wife and I spent a week at Reids for my wife`s birthday....it is a hotel we will always remember for it`s splendour, lavishness , luxury, amazing staff and being treated as only Reids can. It`s not cheap but if you can afford it it`s money well spent for the experience. Each and every staff member were so attentive, polite and willing we felt like celebs. nothing was too much and every request was granted. My wife received Champagne on ice and lovley flowers on her birthday and the Villa Cipriani restaurant in the grounds gave her a specially made cake....so thoughtful....got to save up and get back there again!!!!

Room Tip: If you are celebrating anything, book Reids they will make it very special......
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 17Phil17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#4 of 88 in Funchal
3,071 reviews
1.1 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
0.2 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#3 of 88 in Funchal
952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
1.3 mi away
Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
0.2 mi away
Pestana Carlton Madeira
Pestana Carlton Madeira
#32 of 88 in Funchal
2,414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Reid's Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Reid's Palace

Address: Estrada Monumental 139, Funchal, Madeira 9000-098, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Funchal
#2 Family Hotel in Funchal
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Funchal
#3 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#5 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#5 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range: £237 - £446 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Reid's Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on cliff tops overlooking the Bay of Funchal and the Atlantic Ocean, this legendary hotel has, for over a century, been a standard-bearer for excellence. The hotel is located on 10 acres of subtropical gardens, boasts enviable access to the sea and is within walking distance of Funchal's shops, restaurants and night-life. With its reputation for excellence and discreet service, Belmond Reid's Palace is the ideal place at which to relax and be pampered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Belmond Reid's Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reid`s Palace By Orient-Express Hotel Funchal
Reids Palace Funchal
Reids Palace Hotel Funchal
Belmond Reid's Palace Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing