We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inside Funchal, but outside Funchal”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Belmond Reid's Palace
Ranked #5 of 86 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Lisbon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Inside Funchal, but outside Funchal”
Reviewed 13 November 2013

One night stay. The hotel is great. The afternoon tea is a must. We dinned at Les Faunes, no desert because of late afternoon tea – good, but not wow (a New Year Eve dinner some time ago at Villa Cipriani was memorable). Staff is a good blend of experienced Portuguese people and overseas trainees, all very helpful and attentive.
Breakfast is great, with emphasis on local produce. Even the beer at the mini bar is made in Madeira.
All the pools are great, especially the big one with heated sea water. And if one doesn’t like pools, basking in the sun in November will suffice – there aren’t many places in Europe like that.
The large and intimate garden really makes you forget that you are only a kilometre or so away from the city centre.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chiips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExperienceManager, General Manager at Belmond Reid's Palace, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear Valued Customer,

Thanks a lot for sharing your comments.

We are so glad that despite your short visit you left us with great memories about your Reid's experience, and I would like to pass you our appreciation for your nice words, which are for us the fuel to walk everyday the extra mile in order to meet our customers needs.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Reid's Palace soon,

Ciriaco Campus
Hotel Manager
Reid's Palace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,401 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,197
    144
    46
    6
    8
See reviews for
231
928
42
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hadleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

I have just returned from a weeks stay at this remarkable hotel and am still floating on a cloud. I can't fault this hotel in anyway. Nothing was too much trouble and the staff made you feel very special with their amazing service.
We stayed in a deluxe room on the fourth floor with a balcony and sea view. The room was large and spacious with every last detail catered for. The bathroom was a delight with a large walk in shower and bath. A nice touch was that all soft drinks in the mini bar were complimentary.
As we were on half board we tried all the restaurants in the hotel from the pool side restaurant for lunch, Le Faunes for dinner, Villa Cipriani and the large dining room for two gala dinners. All the food we had was excellent but the Villa Cipriani was our favourite visiting four times during our stay. It has a great relaxed atmosphere and a magnificent view from the terrace.
The hotel arranges excursions which are good value compared with tour operators using the hotel. We went on a trip on an ancient Mercedes bus which was great fun and we went to places we couldn't have walked to because of the steep inclines.The hotel also provides a complimentary shuttle bus into town.
We went on a free tour of the ten acres of Reids gardens which is well worth doing. The gardens are kept immaculately by the 8 permanent gardeners.
All the public areas are spotless with some stunning flower arrangements of exotic flowers grown on the island.
The pool areas were also well kept and the pools were warm enough to swim in during our November visit.
We met many people during our stay who return to Reids every year. I can understand why as we had a beautiful, memorable and totally relaxing stay. Thank you Reids

Room Tip: Our room got quite warm at night so a good blast from the A/C while you are out at dinner cooled it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SusieA111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExperienceManager, General Manager at Belmond Reid's Palace, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear Valued Customer,

Thank you very much for taking the time for sharing you feedback.

It is a great pleasure for us to understand that you went back home with good memories about your Reid's experience, and I would like to express my personal, along with all Reid's team appreciation for your nice words.

Comments like yours are the spring that pushes us everyday to walk the extra miles when it comes to meet our customers' expectations.

I hope I will have the pleasure to welcoming you back to the Reid's Palace, and if in the meanwhile you think I might be of any help, please to not hesitate to contact me directly.

Wishing you all the best, I remain, with my kindest regards,

Ciriaco Campus
Hotel Manager
Reid's Palace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a long weekend a couple of weeks ago and had a great experience.
The location is great, with ocean stretching to the horizon before your eyes. The gardens are beautiful with lots of spots to enjoy sunshine. Sun deck is very private and nice. Swimming pool area is very stylish and beautiful. There were a lot of families with kids that weekend, but kids were kept occupied, we never heard any crying or noise, even at the swimmig pool.

Only small trouble we had was with the hotel's reception staff being not familiar with the LHW membership card. My husband has an unlimited LHW membership that we booked the hotel through. However it seemed that the hotel reception staff didn't seem to actually know what that means. They did upgrade us as part of the LHW membership, but didn't take into account our request to have sea view. So on arrival we had to change rooms. Little painful, but the room we got in the end was absolutely gorgeous, so was well worth the trouble! Then, on the chek out day as well, they tried to make us leave early when we do have a guaranteed late check out with the card. You'd expect the reception staff to research that, since we went to all the trouble pointing out card benefits at check in..

Ther rest of the weekend was flawless. Staff is very professional and non invasive.
We pretty much spent the weekend between the sea deck, the swimming pool and the food. One of the swimming pools is heated, so was very nice even in late October. We didn't venture into the ocean though!

The rooms are beautifully furnished and the whole hotel is excellently kept, with lots of memory pieces in the hallways, cute elevators, luxurious carpets. Service is 5-star too. I was feeling a bit sick one evening and they went out and bought us medication, which we've never previously seen in any 5-star hotel we've been to, they always make a big fuss out of it. But here nothing was too much trouble, it was great.

Food:
Breakfast was very good, with two daily specials that change every day, an exhaustive buffet with sparkling wine and fresh juices, and amazing views of the ocean.
We had dinenr in the French restaurant and weren't particularly impressed. Service and the ambience were a bit too old fashioned for my taste. Food was good though, but not excellent.
We also had dinner at the Italian restaurant, which was very nice. The view is amazing. Service is very friendly and professional and the food is very good. Definitely recommend. It's not very formal, so you woulnd't necessarily wear an evening dress (contrary to what the dress code suggests).
Lunch buffet at the swimming pool is very very good as well, although too expensive I'd say for a lunch buffet.

One thing we regret is that we didn't try the afternoon tea, it looked delicious!!

Room Tip: Room 730 has a huge terrace with views onto the ocean and the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmayaD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Level Contributor
270 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

This centennial class Grande Dame of the Oriental Express Group remains one of the world's finest luxury hotels. Sitting atop Europe's highest cliffs overlooking the port of Funchal, the hotel caters to royalty, statesmen and those with significant means. As our transatlantic crossing included Madeira as a port of call, I had the chance to re-acquaint myself with this majestic gem in its time warp! It had been over 50 years since a family stay, and while buildings had been added to the original complex, little of its charm, elegance and beautiful furnishings had changed! The hotel exudes gracious world class service. We enjoyed cocktails on an upper terrace followed by a delightful poolside buffet. Foie Gras with Madeira Gelee (Aspic) and Madeira Drizzle, Bola de Caco bread, grilled offerings , seafood platters - and lovely sweets washed down with a nice Portuguese Duro Tinto and Malvaise Madeira, made for a glorious afternoon!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oca007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Having just spent a short half term break at Reid's I cannot recommend it highly enough. It is not (as I feared) only for the more mature traveller. I stayed with my 2 young daughters (10 and 8) and we had the most fantastic, fun and relaxing stay. The staff could not have made us feel more welcome. Nothing was too much trouble and our every need was provided for. Although the kids menu varied between the different restaurants in the hotel we could always go 'off piste' and order whatever the girls felt like. The adult menus, especially the seafood was incredible. Not cheap but worth it. The rooms were well equipped. There were 3 pools, virtually empty during our stay. A wonderful terraced area by the sea adds a great dimension and the kids loved jumping off the diving board into the crystal sea. The weather was reliable - a gorgeous 25 degrees so ideal for last winter sun. We enjoyed a boat trip on a rib (go for the fast boat not the catamaran as you can swim with dolphins if you come across them socialising, not travelling or feeding) and saw a pod of 11 incredible sperm whales, just 3 miles from the shore. There is a kids club for little ones, 2 excellent tennis courts and a teenagers hangout with wii games and play station. We didn't make it into the spa but it looked very good. All in all we all had the best time and would definitely recommend it to young families. Oh, and the buffet breakfast was incredible! Can't think of anything else they could have offered!

Room Tip: We had a junior suite on the 6th floor - large king size and a single for the kid. Do go for sea vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emma G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atyrau, Kazakhstan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

Excellent staff, great atmosphere, lovely attention to detail! The pools, views and concierges have to be the best on the island. I told the restaurant we has a birthday in our party and they alerted the hotel and spa who delivered champagne and gifts!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank EllenSea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Stayed at Reids Palace Madeira for 7 nights in late September and early October. Hotel was excellent and staff could not do too much for you. The hotel restaurants are 5 star especially the Italien which is in the grounds,
One problem was the view from the room which was partialy blocked by a tree but we were told that if we go again we should specify particular rooms with certain views. Looking forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FRANCIS D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 86 in Funchal
2,821 reviews
0.7 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
1.1 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#4 of 86 in Funchal
856 reviews
0.3 mi away
VidaMar Resort Hotel Madeira
0.6 mi away
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
#6 of 86 in Funchal
1,353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Reid's Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Reid's Palace

Property: Belmond Reid's Palace
Address: Estrada Monumental 139, Funchal, Madeira 9000-098, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Funchal
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Funchal
#3 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#5 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#5 Family Hotel in Funchal
#5 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Reid's Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on cliff tops overlooking the Bay of Funchal and the Atlantic Ocean, this legendary hotel has, for over a century, been a standard-bearer for excellence. The hotel is located on 10 acres of subtropical gardens, boasts enviable access to the sea and is within walking distance of Funchal's shops, restaurants and night-life. With its reputation for excellence and discreet service, Belmond Reid's Palace is the ideal place at which to relax and be pampered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Belmond, Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Belmond Reid's Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reid`s Palace By Orient-Express Hotel Funchal
Reids Palace Funchal
Reids Palace Hotel Funchal
Belmond Reid's Palace Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing