We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Only Place to Go”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Belmond Reid's Palace
Ranked #5 of 86 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Haynes
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“The Only Place to Go”
Reviewed 13 December 2013

Reid's Palace is THE place to stay in Madeira.

It doesn't look much from the road, (Estrada Monumental) but inside it is just beautiful. The staff are so very helpful, and the furnishings are immaculate. There are many Hotels in Madeira that would claim to be of an equal or greater rating than Reid's, but they are deluding themselves, and deceiving potential guests. The Government have allowed many new hotels to be built a few miles to the West of Reid's Palace, these new Hotels are truly dreadful places.

The gardens are superb, and are only available to Residents.

If you are staying somewhere else and are interested in returning to Madeira and want to stay at Reid's, then ask at Reception and they will happily show you around the building.

The Main Dining Room is closed in the Summer, when Brisa Do Mar, the outdoor Restaurant situated on the cliff top is open. The Main Dining room is absolutely beautiful, the Hotel ask that Men wear a Jacket & Tie when eating there, which is only right as it is such an August Room. There are other Restaurants in the hotel and adjacent to it, where the dress code is less formal,

We have Stayed at Reid's about 18 times, we don't go anywhere else.

The food is superb, and the Breakfasts have virtually all that any reasonable person could want. If there is though something you would like that isn't on the menu, then try asking, and the chefs will do all they can to help.

For those who like swimming, you can swim in the sea from the Reid's landing stage, there is also a sea-level pool, and two pools at hotel level, both heated.

We always hire a car and drive around the Island, the locals are very good and safe drivers, not mad like in mainland Europe.

If you like good and friendly service in lovely surroundings, then Reid's is for you.

Room Tip: Ask for a Room in the Garden Wing, with a view over the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BigTedHaynes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExperienceManager, Manager at Belmond Reid's Palace, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Dear Valuable Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your kind feedback.

It is a great pleasure for us to understand that you once again had enjoyed your stay with us, and that you got back home with nice memories of your Reid's experience.

With much of my pleasure I will share your comments with all the Reid's Team, and I ma sure they will indeed feel proud and happy to read your words of vote.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to the Reid's Palace, I remain, with my kindest regards,

Ciriaco Campus
Hotel Manager
The Reid's Palace
Madeira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,426 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,215
    147
    49
    7
    8
See reviews for
235
945
43
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

This superb hotel lived up fully to expectations, but was also relaxing and friendly. The staff are efficient, while still being fully approachable. - Nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast was absolutely delicious with a huge selection of tasty food. We ate at Villa Cipriani twice, and although expensive, the food and service were extremely - more vegetarian options would make it even better. The afternoon tea was just out of this world, with again nothing too much trouble for the staff. The complimentary Garden Tour and Cocktail reception were excellent.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cymru-Travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExperienceManager, Manager at Belmond Reid's Palace, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Dear Valuable Customer,

Thank you very much for taking the time for sharing your feedback about your Reid's Experience.

We have all been flattered by your kind words. Is indeed a great pleasure to receive these words of vote, and without any doubt they are the spring that pushes us all to do our utmost to please our valuable customers.

We all hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you back here to the Reid’s Palace, in not too far future.

Wishing you all the best, we remain, with our kindest regards,

Ciriaco Campus
Hotel Manager
Reids Palace
Madeira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, Herts
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

We booked 3 nights at this 5 star palace expecting the creme de la creme of hotels. Some mixed reviews highlighted below...

We were shown the large cocktail and tea rooms which had an opulent, formal character but as we made our way down to the 5th floor, it lost that feeling. The hallways became stale and dated and started to resemble a retirement home. There was an old musty smell that lingered in the 'billiards room'. Some people may like it that way - but we just felt it was sparse, the hotel stuck in a time warp with an urgent need of a facelift. Not a great start.

Our room was smaller than expected. The decor with a faint charm, but I felt it was chintzy. Was not expecting a room like this at the price we paid for. The room (and in fact most of the hotel spaces) had an unusual dusty layer which triggered my dust allergy. Also lots of noise above the room at 8.30am every morning. Tables and chairs were being scraped across the floor.

Bathroom was very good size - clean and well serviced. Mini bar soft drinks were free - although fridge needed defrosting. No tea and coffee making facilities in the room because it was a fire hazard and the hotel was mostly wooden apparently(?)! Room service was prompt, professional and food delicious. Wifi internet was really fast.

Prices were extortionate however - including the Afternoon Tea which a lot of people who visit the hotel come to experience. We have had Afternoon Tea in older establishments and paid a lot less. So unfortunately we missed out on this. The Cocktail bar was usually dead so we steered clear of this too.

Staff were extremely friendly, welcoming and very professional. The spa area was clean and very pleasant to use. Spectacular views of the city and sea throughout the hotel. Lots of beauty spots and gardens to explore within the hotel grounds. Breakfast was fresh and fantastic variety of foods.

Each night costing €295 for a standard double room. We were surprised to find it didn't actually meet all of our expectations at this price (and we have stayed in many fab 4 and 5 star hotels). Unfortunately not quite the 'palace' we were expecting. Few improvements to be made, otherwise a very welcoming, historic and charming stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jules8000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExperienceManager, Manager at Belmond Reid's Palace, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Dear Valuable Customer,

Thanks a lot for taking the time for sharing your constructive feedback.

With much of my regret I understood that your experience with us was not up to your expectations. It is our mission to exceed our customers' expectations, but despite all our efforts, sometimes we do not succeed in it.

It is anyway always a pleasure to understand where we do not succeed, so we can work in order to improve the quality of our product and services.

I would like once again thank you for your comments, which have already been discussed so that we can address them.

Best regards,

Ciriaco Campus
Hotel Manager
Reid's Palace
Madeira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

We stay every year at the Savoy and see the famous Reid's Palace on the cliff just along the coast but until this year we have never been inside. First impressions are of an old family run hotel in the small reception area, then the rather sumptuous public rooms leading to the restaurant. We went for a drink in the cocktail bar. It was underwhelming, rather sad and empty at 9pm and had a vey starchy formal feel to it. The drinks were fairly expensive. The view over the harbour to Funchal was spectacular. The bar sitting area was truly dismal and we will not be bothered to go back for a drink but next year we promise ourselves to have dinner. We were surprised to see that dress for dinner was extremely informal!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank smithwolviston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 13 November 2013

One night stay. The hotel is great. The afternoon tea is a must. We dinned at Les Faunes, no desert because of late afternoon tea – good, but not wow (a New Year Eve dinner some time ago at Villa Cipriani was memorable). Staff is a good blend of experienced Portuguese people and overseas trainees, all very helpful and attentive.
Breakfast is great, with emphasis on local produce. Even the beer at the mini bar is made in Madeira.
All the pools are great, especially the big one with heated sea water. And if one doesn’t like pools, basking in the sun in November will suffice – there aren’t many places in Europe like that.
The large and intimate garden really makes you forget that you are only a kilometre or so away from the city centre.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chiips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExperienceManager, General Manager at Belmond Reid's Palace, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear Valued Customer,

Thanks a lot for sharing your comments.

We are so glad that despite your short visit you left us with great memories about your Reid's experience, and I would like to pass you our appreciation for your nice words, which are for us the fuel to walk everyday the extra mile in order to meet our customers needs.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Reid's Palace soon,

Ciriaco Campus
Hotel Manager
Reid's Palace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hadleigh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

I have just returned from a weeks stay at this remarkable hotel and am still floating on a cloud. I can't fault this hotel in anyway. Nothing was too much trouble and the staff made you feel very special with their amazing service.
We stayed in a deluxe room on the fourth floor with a balcony and sea view. The room was large and spacious with every last detail catered for. The bathroom was a delight with a large walk in shower and bath. A nice touch was that all soft drinks in the mini bar were complimentary.
As we were on half board we tried all the restaurants in the hotel from the pool side restaurant for lunch, Le Faunes for dinner, Villa Cipriani and the large dining room for two gala dinners. All the food we had was excellent but the Villa Cipriani was our favourite visiting four times during our stay. It has a great relaxed atmosphere and a magnificent view from the terrace.
The hotel arranges excursions which are good value compared with tour operators using the hotel. We went on a trip on an ancient Mercedes bus which was great fun and we went to places we couldn't have walked to because of the steep inclines.The hotel also provides a complimentary shuttle bus into town.
We went on a free tour of the ten acres of Reids gardens which is well worth doing. The gardens are kept immaculately by the 8 permanent gardeners.
All the public areas are spotless with some stunning flower arrangements of exotic flowers grown on the island.
The pool areas were also well kept and the pools were warm enough to swim in during our November visit.
We met many people during our stay who return to Reids every year. I can understand why as we had a beautiful, memorable and totally relaxing stay. Thank you Reids

Room Tip: Our room got quite warm at night so a good blast from the A/C while you are out at dinner cooled it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SusieA111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExperienceManager, General Manager at Belmond Reid's Palace, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear Valued Customer,

Thank you very much for taking the time for sharing you feedback.

It is a great pleasure for us to understand that you went back home with good memories about your Reid's experience, and I would like to express my personal, along with all Reid's team appreciation for your nice words.

Comments like yours are the spring that pushes us everyday to walk the extra miles when it comes to meet our customers' expectations.

I hope I will have the pleasure to welcoming you back to the Reid's Palace, and if in the meanwhile you think I might be of any help, please to not hesitate to contact me directly.

Wishing you all the best, I remain, with my kindest regards,

Ciriaco Campus
Hotel Manager
Reid's Palace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a long weekend a couple of weeks ago and had a great experience.
The location is great, with ocean stretching to the horizon before your eyes. The gardens are beautiful with lots of spots to enjoy sunshine. Sun deck is very private and nice. Swimming pool area is very stylish and beautiful. There were a lot of families with kids that weekend, but kids were kept occupied, we never heard any crying or noise, even at the swimmig pool.

Only small trouble we had was with the hotel's reception staff being not familiar with the LHW membership card. My husband has an unlimited LHW membership that we booked the hotel through. However it seemed that the hotel reception staff didn't seem to actually know what that means. They did upgrade us as part of the LHW membership, but didn't take into account our request to have sea view. So on arrival we had to change rooms. Little painful, but the room we got in the end was absolutely gorgeous, so was well worth the trouble! Then, on the chek out day as well, they tried to make us leave early when we do have a guaranteed late check out with the card. You'd expect the reception staff to research that, since we went to all the trouble pointing out card benefits at check in..

Ther rest of the weekend was flawless. Staff is very professional and non invasive.
We pretty much spent the weekend between the sea deck, the swimming pool and the food. One of the swimming pools is heated, so was very nice even in late October. We didn't venture into the ocean though!

The rooms are beautifully furnished and the whole hotel is excellently kept, with lots of memory pieces in the hallways, cute elevators, luxurious carpets. Service is 5-star too. I was feeling a bit sick one evening and they went out and bought us medication, which we've never previously seen in any 5-star hotel we've been to, they always make a big fuss out of it. But here nothing was too much trouble, it was great.

Food:
Breakfast was very good, with two daily specials that change every day, an exhaustive buffet with sparkling wine and fresh juices, and amazing views of the ocean.
We had dinenr in the French restaurant and weren't particularly impressed. Service and the ambience were a bit too old fashioned for my taste. Food was good though, but not excellent.
We also had dinner at the Italian restaurant, which was very nice. The view is amazing. Service is very friendly and professional and the food is very good. Definitely recommend. It's not very formal, so you woulnd't necessarily wear an evening dress (contrary to what the dress code suggests).
Lunch buffet at the swimming pool is very very good as well, although too expensive I'd say for a lunch buffet.

One thing we regret is that we didn't try the afternoon tea, it looked delicious!!

Room Tip: Room 730 has a huge terrace with views onto the ocean and the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmayaD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#4 of 86 in Funchal
2,857 reviews
0.7 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
1.1 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#3 of 86 in Funchal
874 reviews
0.3 mi away
VidaMar Resort Hotel Madeira
0.1 mi away
Pestana Carlton Madeira
Pestana Carlton Madeira
#29 of 86 in Funchal
2,247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Reid's Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Reid's Palace

Property: Belmond Reid's Palace
Address: Estrada Monumental 139, Funchal, Madeira 9000-098, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Funchal
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Funchal
#3 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#5 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#5 Family Hotel in Funchal
#5 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Reid's Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on cliff tops overlooking the Bay of Funchal and the Atlantic Ocean, this legendary hotel has, for over a century, been a standard-bearer for excellence. The hotel is located on 10 acres of subtropical gardens, boasts enviable access to the sea and is within walking distance of Funchal's shops, restaurants and night-life. With its reputation for excellence and discreet service, Belmond Reid's Palace is the ideal place at which to relax and be pampered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Belmond Reid's Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reid`s Palace By Orient-Express Hotel Funchal
Reids Palace Funchal
Reids Palace Hotel Funchal
Belmond Reid's Palace Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing