We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Belmond Reid's Palace
Ranked #5 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 January 2014

Lovely hotel, good location,excellent service,delicious food; a luxury experience but very relaxing. Staff efficient and friendly.This is a real 5 star hotel; it has a tradition but with a modern approach.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ciricam, Manager at Belmond Reid's Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Dear Valuable Customer,

Thank you very much for sharing you nice review. It is indeed a great pleasure for us to understand that you went back with good memories about your Reid's experience.

I am glad to pass my personal, along with all Reid's gratitude for your appreciation, and we all hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you back to the Reid's Palace.

Many thanks and best regards,

Ciriaco Campus
Hotel Manager
Reid's Palace
Madeira

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,469)
There are newer reviews for Belmond Reid's Palace
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

781 - 787 of 1,470 reviews

Reviewed 16 January 2014

We booked a week at Reid's Palace to coincide with our 25th Wedding Anniversary on 30th December 2013. We were treated like royalty, and upgraded from a Deluxe room to a Suite for this occasion.

Nothing was too much trouble for anyone. My husband is in a wheelchair outside of the room and everyone offered help, whether it be into lifts, into dining rooms or onto the courtesy shuttle bus into Funchal itself.

We have visited Funchal quite a few times whilst arriving on cruise ships, but this was the first time we had stayed "on land" so to speak.

The Hotel itself is very beautiful, with superb gardens, and the views are to die for. Our Suite had two balconies, one next to the tea terrace overlooking the harbour, and the other looking onto palm trees and gardens with sea beyond. These views will stay clearly in my mind for ever.

The food could not have been any better, and great variety of choice for whatever meal we took in the hotel (we had booked half board). We had two champagne galas over the New Year period, and very good entertainment on both of those evenings.

We attended the Management champagne evening, and again we were made very welcome by all members of staff.

Guests at the hotel were also extremely friendly and we met a lot of interesting people there.

I couldn't describe the fantastic firework display put on at the harbour on New Years Eve, and we watched from our balcony, unobstructed, and totally awe-inspiring.

If anyone is thinking of visiting Madeira, I would not hesitate 100% to recommend Reid's Palace to them, and to Funchal in general, which felt a very safe place to wander around, even on your own, and everyone was so friendly.

If we do get the chance we will certainly return to Madeira and Reid's Palace.

Room Tip: I prefer a sea view, but the garden view is also wonderful.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MELDerby_U_K_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ciricam, Manager at Belmond Reid's Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Dear Valued Customer,

Thank you very much for taking the time for writing your review.

We have been more than pleased to understand that we have been bale to delight you and we made you stay at Reid's a special one.

I would like to pass my personal, along with all Reid's Team gratitude for your words of vote, and we hope to have soon the pleasure to welcoming you back.

Many thanks and best regards,

Ciriaco Campus
Hotel Manager
Reid's Palace
Madeira

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We spent 6 very enjoyable nights at this beautiful hotel perched on a cliff looking down into the Atlantic! The staff is most attentive and caring. The breakfast buffet was outstanding. So many different breads, cheeses, smoked fish, eggs, tropical fruits, juices, I could go on and on! We also enjoyed the afternoon tea and the dinners we had at the Villa Cipriani and Les Faunes and our long walks on Estrada Monumental! We look forward to staying at the Reid's Palace Hotel when we visit Madeira again. What a lovely place! Thank you for a wonderful holiday!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Mihir B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ciricam, Manager at Belmond Reid's Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Dear valuable Customer,

Thank you very much for taking the time for writing your review.

We have been flattered by your nice comments, and above all we have pleased to understand that you had delightful moments at Reid's.

On behalf of all Reid's Team, I would like to pass our gratitude for having chosen us for your holidays, and we all hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Reid's Palace.

Many thanks and best regards,

Ciriaco Campus
Hotel Manager
Reid's Palace

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

This was our second visit to the island and to this hotel, we visited for New Year last year also.

The hotel is set above Funchal and the harbour in fantastic grounds which are well tended.

We had 'Classic' garden rooms for our party consisting of myself, wife and my mother in law. We requested the same two rooms as last year and were pleased that these were allocated upon our arrival. The rooms are spacious, clean and are of a standard you would expect from an Orient Express hotel.

The breakfast is taken in a bespoke room, with views of the pools and sea beyond, with a buffet style breakfast of hot and cold food.

You are not in anyway rushed and can spend as long as wish taking breakfast, a splendid start to the day.

Lunch can be taken down at pool level, with buffet or menu options, catering for all tastes and nationalities.

Dinner can be as formal or informal as you wish with differing dining options. The jewel being the restaurant Cipriani, which sits in the grounds of the hotel and is owned and operated by the hotel.

The food and service are exceptional, we spent a number of nights here, the meal at New Years Eve was wonderful, followed by the fireworks over Funchal and the harbour made the trip very special.

We used the gym within The Spa and these facilities were good, with a range of options should you wish to indulge in the beauty treatments.

Overall a great trip, not that we did very much during the day, a trip or two in Funchal on the free courtesy bus run by the hotel.

We ate out of the hotel on three occasions, the restaurants were adequate though nothing compared to the wonderful Reid's Palace.

We shall return again and experience the feel of this wonderful step back in time.

Should you venture, please do not forget the Afternoon Tea, an experience not to be missed !

The staff and service at this hotel are exceptional, it is what differentiates this hotel from so many others.

Finally one person made it all possible at the hotel -Thanks Isabel for your organisation and for welcoming us, for saying good bye as we sadly departed, we look forward to seeing you once again.

Ends:

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank olicanaboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ciricam, Manager at Belmond Reid's Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Dear Valuable Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your comments.

I would like to take this opportunity to pass my personal, along with all Reid's Team appreciation for your nice words.

We have been flattered by your words, for us they represent for us a commitment to walk everyday the extra mile to delight our valuable clients.

We all will be more than pleased to welcoming you back.

Many thanks and best regards,

Ciriaco Campus
Hotel Manager
Reid's Palace
Madeira

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We have travelled a lot, lived in Dubai for 5 yrs, been to Mauritius, Seychelles & Maldives but never felt as comfortable and at home as when we were at Reid's Palace. Everything was top quality, rooms, hotel grounds, food, service and most importantly .... Attention to detail!!!
We will return for many more quality experiences. ... Thank you to all the staff at Reid's Palace that made our holiday a wonderful experience. ... Look forward to seeing you again in 2014.

Mark & Wendy Nankivell

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ciricam, Manager at Belmond Reid's Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Dear Valuable Customer,

I would like to thank you very much for taking the time for sharing your feedback about your Reid's Experience, and above all I would like to thank you, also on behalf of all Reid's Team for the words of vote you reserved to us.

These type of comments are indeed the greatest motivation and payback for the efforts we undertake to walk the extra mile to satisfy our guests.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Ciriaco Campus
Hotel Manager
Reid's Palace
Madeira

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

We had our afternoon tea on the terrace outside of the Reids Palace and the view was spectacular, our afternoon tea was served quickly, we chose the assam hazelbank tea which was lovely nice flavoured tea. The bread for the sandwiches was very soft and each filling very tasty. After we finished the sandwiches we were offered more however we did not want any, we were then brought our scones which are the best scones I have ever tasted so light and with not too many currents, clotted cream, butter and 2 types of jam. Again we were offered more scones this time we did have another one each. The selection of cakes were also very good there was at least 9 to share all of which had a pleasant taste, the passion fruit profiterole was my favourite. The services was first class, nothing was too much for the waiters. We were offered another pot of tea which we had and this was brought to us quickly.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jessica8631
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ciricam, Manager at Belmond Reid's Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Dear Valuable Customer,

Thank you very much for taking the time for writing your review.

It has been a great pleasure to understand that you left with great memories about your High Afternoon Tea experience, it is really rewarding for us receiving such comments, and we take them as a stimulus to continue to do our utmost in order to satisfy our valuable clients.

On behalf of all Reid's Team I would like to thank you very much for your visit, and looking forward to welcoming back, I remain, with my kindest regards,

Ciriaco Campus
Hotel Manager
Reid's Palace Madeira

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

What a wonderful experience, one I will always remember. You need to book for afternoon tea which is served from 3.00pm , the hotel and surroundings are without doubt first class, staff and waiters welcoming and make you feel very special. We had afternoon tea on the terrace with a wonderful view. First we had a glass of champagne (not your cheap fizz) served with little finger sandwiches, all freshly made, if their was anything that you did not like they would change it for you. Then small little cakes all hand made which also came with scones, jam, cream and butter. You pick from a selection of teas that you would like to be served and all served with best china. The hotel is superb and luxurious, staff very attentive, interior decorated to a very high standard, gardens to the front of the hotel beautiful. After tea we did ask if we could walk in the gardens, but we were told that because we were not residence it was not allowed ( that would have finished a wonderful afternoon). Now the cost, champagne 18.50 euros per glass, for afternoon tea 33.50 euros per person. A wonderful experience and if in Funchal a must, if there were a six star hotel this would be it.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Burtcroghan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ciricam, Manager at Belmond Reid's Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Dear Valuable Customer,

Thank you very much for taking the time for sharing your feedback about your Afternoon Tea Experience.

We have all been flattered by your kind words. It Is indeed a great pleasure to receive these words of vote, and without any doubt they are the spring that pushes us all to do our utmost to please our valuable customers.

We all hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you back here to the Reid’s Palace, in a not too far future.

Wishing you all the best, we remain, with our kindest regards,

Ciriaco Campus
Hotel Manager
Reids Palace
Madeira

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#4 of 88 in Funchal
2,933 reviews
0.7 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
1.1 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
VidaMar Resort Hotel Madeira
0.2 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#3 of 88 in Funchal
906 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pestana Carlton Madeira
Pestana Carlton Madeira
#31 of 88 in Funchal
2,315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Reid's Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Reid's Palace

Address: Estrada Monumental 139, Funchal, Madeira 9000-098, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Funchal
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Funchal
#3 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#5 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#5 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#5 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range: £258 - £579 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Reid's Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on cliff tops overlooking the Bay of Funchal and the Atlantic Ocean, this legendary hotel has, for over a century, been a standard-bearer for excellence. The hotel is located on 10 acres of subtropical gardens, boasts enviable access to the sea and is within walking distance of Funchal's shops, restaurants and night-life. With its reputation for excellence and discreet service, Belmond Reid's Palace is the ideal place at which to relax and be pampered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Belmond Reid's Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reid`s Palace By Orient-Express Hotel Funchal
Reids Palace Funchal
Reids Palace Hotel Funchal
Belmond Reid's Palace Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing