We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Belmond Reid's Palace
Ranked #5 of 86 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
Reviewed 21 August 2008

My husband and I stayed in this hotel for long weekend. We had great time :-) All staff very helpful and nice, customer service 100%.
Rooms very clean and well looked after. Good breakfast, lunch time restaurant OK, we haven't try their evening restaurants as we have been checking restaurants in the city centre. All bar staff fantastic! On my husbands birthday he had a card, flowers and champagne in ice bucket waiting for him in the room even though we never mention the occasion. I guess it’s all those little things what make all the difference. The Reid’s Palace is definitely the hotel which will go an extra mile to satisfy their customers 
Nice and quiet with beautiful views, if you are looking for relaxing time this is the best place to stay.

  • Liked — everything
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank mala77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,439 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,226
    149
    49
    7
    8
See reviews for
239
953
43
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2008

If you have something to celebrate or not, this hotel certainly delivers on all fronts. We could not have been more satisfied with our choice of Reids for my special birthday celebration.
The staff were delightful, food exquisite, surroundings charming.
What more can I say than do book, you are worth it.
Mr and Mrs Askwith

Stayed June 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank CareyA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skipton
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2008

We have just returned from 11 nights at Reid's Palace. This was our second consecutive holiday at Reid's. The hotel is magnificent, service and standards had not changed. There are many nationalities who visit the hotel everyone is very friendly.
It was so lovely that it was hard to drag ourselves away from the hotel to go home.
We booked a 7 night plus 4 night affordable package, this included some meals. It was excellent value and allowed us to sample the excellent restaurants in the hotel. Brisa Do Mar was even better than last year. This outdoor restaurant serves gourmet food, with a superb view of Funchal.
We were upgraded to a superior room in the garden wing, this had a beautiful view over Funchal. The room was one of the recently refurbished rooms and was excellent, clean linen sheets every day, towels changed twice a day, and complimentary soft drinks from the mini bar, a nice touch. The only slight problem was the standard of the house keeping, this was inferior to the previous year.
Breakfast was superb, something to suit all tastes. Includes hot and a full continental spread with cheeses, fruit , pastries etc.
Concierge staff very helpful, when I needed to visit a pharmacy they would not allow me to walk there. One hour later the prescription was in the room.
Afternoon tea not to be missed, sat on the terrace with the tranquil sound of a piano playing in the background, that was the life.
The pools are lovely, plenty of towels, both to lay on and after swiming. Twice a day fresh fruit is served complmentary. Pool drinks and food are a little expensive, but that is what you have to expect for a hotel of this class. We visited a small cafe opposite to the hotel, the food was excellent, salads, sandwiches and very cheap. It gave us a good excuse to get off the sunbeds?
The Spa is out of this world. Expensive but fabulous.
All staff are very friendly, efficient without over fussing. They always have a smile that is geniune.
One small point, dress code. Smart casual was allowed in all the restaurants except the main dinning room, where shirt and tie was the norm. I am pleased to say that we did see people being turned away from afternoon tea because of inappropriate dress code. Smart casual is the norm.
Overall I would say this is probably the best hotel we have ever stayed in on holiday and we are extremely fussy!
Value for money, yes a litle pricey but go on treat yourself to pure 5 star class. We tried to find fault but apart from the housekeeping we could not.
Should any traveller want a reliable taxi service. We have used the following for the last two years. Daniel is excellent 25 euros for the airport transfer, he also does island tours 110 euros for a full day.
Contact him at [--]

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Birdie2boy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2008

For our thirtieth wedding anniversary we pushed the boat out and stayed in a junior suite at Reid's for a week. We could not fault this hotel, the staff were charming and couldn't do enough to help, the service everywhere was exceptional and the food was great. Indeed the only complaint we did have was the weather - which was a bit cloudy. So, if you want to pamper yourself for a week and be pampered, go to Reid's - you will not be disappointed.

  • Liked — The excellent professional all round service
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Clive Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reading, berkshire, UK
Level 6 Contributor
308 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 659 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2008

Slightly disappointed by this experience. We were told smart casual dress code only to find some Americans dressed as though they were going to a baseball game. By paying 27 euros each we weren't expecting great value - but we were expecting an unforgettable afternoon at what is supposed to be one of the great hotels of the world. The view was good - but you can get better views of Funchal for free all around the city. The hotel is beautiful with old photos and works of art dotted around but overall we felt slightly cheated at the end. Glad we did it, but would not bother again.

Stayed July 2008
Helpful?
11 Thank blueandwhitehoops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LuxurytravelFunchal, Public Relations Director at Belmond Reid's Palace, responded to this review, 1 August 2008
Dear Tripadvisor member,

Thank you for advising us about your Afternoon tea experience. We are always aware that our in-house guests and as well from outside are respecting the dress code for the Afternoon tea. It happens sometimes that there are guests coming from the cruise ships who don't respect the dress code.
The Reid's Palace is very known for it's Afternoon tea worldwide and we receive many good comments.
We will certainly in the future be more strict in order to give to everybody an unique experience on the Reid's tea terrace.

Warmest regards,
Sandro Fabris
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2008

Was looking forward to a romantic weekend with my girlfriend. Wanted it to be special as was planning to propose to her. Looked at various places and hotel, and decided to go to Madeira specially because of some fantastic reviews of Reid's Palace. I should say that the place was absolutely faultless.

Prior to my departure had discussed my plans with Mrs Maria de Paz (Reservation Manager). She was so efficient and took care of my entire trip. She made sure that every minute detail was taken care of. She ensured that my room was upgraded to the most romantic sea front suite. Also all the various island activities were taken care of. With such great hospitality and such an idyllic location of the hotel, there could have been no better place to get engaged.

There are some great cuisine within the hotel. The breakfast was superb overlooking the pool. The Reid's dinner and dance is something worth staying back for. Just make sure you reserve it well in advance, as it is usually overbooked.

B A, Leeds, United Kingdom

  • Liked — Great location, good food and superb hospitality
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank BAALeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LuxurytravelFunchal, Public Relations Director at Belmond Reid's Palace, responded to this review, 1 August 2008
Dear Tripadvisor member,

I would like to thank you very much for your beautiful comments. Congratulations for your engagement! All the staff of the Reid's Palace and I wish you all the best for the future.

Warmest regards
Sandro Fabris
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dorset
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2008

Reid's Palace was welcoming from the first and the service never faltered. We stayed in a suite overlooking the bay and our breakfast on the terrace was beautifully presented and delicious. We ate in the Dining Room which was rather empty and lacking in atmosphere, perhaps being out of season , The Faun ( I think it was called) was much nicer with delicious food accompanied by specially selected wines. Our favourite though was the Cipriani, which was more relaxed and had very good Italian food. Our only slight disappointment was tea. We found the sandwiches rather dull - smoked salmon and a fish pate - when something more traditional like cucumber would have been nicer. The cakes were rather uninspired as well. Otherwise we had a wonderful time being waited on hand and foot in this superb hotel; a complete rest. We are hoping to return for Christmas in 2009
Although not cheap we felt the price was fully justified.
D and J Wood, Dorset

  • Liked — luxury
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank labradordorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#4 of 86 in Funchal
2,880 reviews
0.7 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
1.1 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
VidaMar Resort Hotel Madeira
0.2 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#3 of 86 in Funchal
887 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pestana Carlton Madeira
Pestana Carlton Madeira
#31 of 86 in Funchal
2,274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Reid's Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Reid's Palace

Property: Belmond Reid's Palace
Address: Estrada Monumental 139, Funchal, Madeira 9000-098, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Funchal
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Funchal
#3 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#5 Family Hotel in Funchal
#5 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#5 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Reid's Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on cliff tops overlooking the Bay of Funchal and the Atlantic Ocean, this legendary hotel has, for over a century, been a standard-bearer for excellence. The hotel is located on 10 acres of subtropical gardens, boasts enviable access to the sea and is within walking distance of Funchal's shops, restaurants and night-life. With its reputation for excellence and discreet service, Belmond Reid's Palace is the ideal place at which to relax and be pampered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Belmond Reid's Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reid`s Palace By Orient-Express Hotel Funchal
Reids Palace Funchal
Reids Palace Hotel Funchal
Belmond Reid's Palace Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing