We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old worldly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Belmond Reid's Palace
Ranked #5 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Myself and my wife have just returned from a week in Reids, if you like to be pampered, this is the place, we had a very enjoyable experience,
The only criticism would be the balcony,we were both looking foreword to relaxing overlooking the bay of Funchal, but alas there was barely enough room for 2 chairs and a small table, it wont stop me going back there, but I will be staying away from level 9.

Room Tip: Our room was 916 the view over the bay is fantastic, but the balcony was tiny,Barely enough room fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank theteddys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ciricam, General Manager at Belmond Reid's Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Hope this message finds you well.

Thank you very much for taking the time for writing your review about your experience with us.

I would like to pass my personal along with all Reid's Team appreciation for the nice words you reserved us, and at the same time I would like to thank you very much for your constructive comments about the room.

We have taken good note of your preference and rest assured that time you will visit us, we'll do our utmost to assign you a room with a larger balcony.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to the Reid's Palace, I remain with my kindest regards,

Ciriaco Campus
General Manager
Reid's Palace
Madeira

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,529)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

821 - 827 of 1,529 reviews

Reviewed 9 February 2014

This was a return visit to Reid's, which never disappoints. The staff are friendly and so efficient, the hotel very well appointed and peaceful with superb sea views, and the food excellent, particularly the lunch time buffet in the pool bar. If you want somewhere for a relaxing break away from the dreadful winter weather, this is the place.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
5  Thank Cynthia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ciricam, General Manager at Belmond Reid's Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Dear Valuable Customer,

Thanks for sharing your feedback.

With much of our pleasure we understand that you had a delightful experience at Reid's Palace. On behalf of all Reid's Team I would to express all our appreciation and gratitude for your words of vote, and for your renewed preference and loyalty.

We all look forward to welcoming you back to the Reid's Palace soon.

Many thanks and best regards,

Ciriaco Campus
General Manager
Reid's Palace
Madeira

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Perfection. The perception is sometimes that Reid's is somewhat "stuffy" old fashioned, "snooty". Nothing could be further from the truth. The location is the best in Funchal, the decor is delightful and the staff are the best you will find anywhere.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
13  Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ciricam, General Manager at Belmond Reid's Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2014

Dear Valuable Customer,

Thank you very much for taking the time for writing your review.

With much of our pleasure we understand that following your visit to the Reid's your perceptions have turned to be a delightful experience. it is indeed true that our hotel still has an stuffy and sooty image, but after reading your comment, we are more than glad to learn that all our efforts to project a less conservative and inaccessible image are getting some results.

On behalf of all the Reid's team I take the opportunity to thank you very much for visiting us, and we all hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you back to the Reid's soon.

Many thanks and best regards,

Ciriaco Campus
General Manager
Reid's Palace
Madeira

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

We stayed at Reid's for 4 nights in January and it was delightful. Had an ocean/garden executive room, and from start to finish the staff were professional and caring. Everything about Reid's has an 'old world glamour' feeling, and the breakfast buffet is amazing - it even includes Bloody Mary's for those of us a bit under the weather from too much fun the night before! The afternoon tea was fabulous and highly recommended, and the Penhaligon's bathroom toiletries were a nice touch. The gardens are lovely for an evening stroll, and the spa has excellent quality products. If you go to Madeira, stay at Reid's, it is one of the greatest hotels in the world.

Room Tip: get an ocean and garden view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank nwmouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ciricam, General Manager at Belmond Reid's Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Dear Valuable Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback.

It has been a great pleasure to read that you left the Reid's Palace, with great memories about your stay. Your nice words have been shared with all Reid's Team, as they represent the right payback for the commitment and passion, that on a daily basis accompany our job.

We all hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you back soon, to the Reid's Palace.

Many thanks and best regards,

Ciriaco Campus
General Manager
Reid's Palace
Madeira

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

Used to stay at Reids but not been for 6 years. Whilst in madeira this year we decided to book their champagne buffet dinner. Although - in terms of numbers of diners - it was a shadow of the pomp of previous visits, it remains a very enjoyable evening for visitors to madeira liking a sense of occasion - with a truly superb spread, a live band & service second to none in madeira. Perhaps most impressive of all was that incredibly - after 6 years - we were remembered by both the concierge & the waiter who served us for much of the evening.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank XS-Baggage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ciricam, General Manager at Belmond Reid's Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Dear Valuable Customer,

Thank you very much for sharing your comments.

We have been more than pleased to understand that you have enjoyed your dining experience with us, and on behalf of all the Reid's Team I would like to take the opportunity to express our appreciation and gratitude for your renewed preference.

We all hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you back soon to the Reid's Palace.

Many thanks and best regards,

Ciriaco Campus
General Manager
Reid's Palace
Madeira

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

As we were staying in our hotel on half board, we knew couldn't manage the traditional Reid's afternoon tea. We compromised on coffee & the selection of 6 mini cakes which we shared in the bar. The view was lovely & the cakes were too. We arrived by tuktuk which was a fun way to approach such a venerable institution!
We were so pleased we returned the next day (our last in Madeira) for a light lunch in the pretty pool side restaurant - also very enjoyable with more lovely cakes for desert.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank WinstonSophie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ciricam, Manager at Belmond Reid's Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Dear Valuable Customer,

Thank you very much for taking the time for writing your review.

It has been a pleasure to understand that you have enjoyed your Reid's experience, and that despite it has been a short one, you left with good memories.

We would like to thank you very much for your nice words, and we all hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Reid's Palace.

Many thanks and best regards,

Ciriaco Campus
Hotel Manager
Reid's Palace
Madeira

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We have just returned from a fantastic 5 day break at Reid's Palace and thoroughly enjoyed every minute. Our room on the 5th floor had a wonderful view of the sea, garden, pool area with the marina in the distance, the hotel is marvellous, absolutely spotlessly clean and every member of staff so polite and friendly. The breakfast was delicious - so much to choose from and beautifully served.

Reid's Palace has an old fashioned charm about it but most definitely with an up to date attitude to excellent and faultless service. Well done Reid's!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BaileyL40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ciricam, Manager at Belmond Reid's Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Dear Valuable Customer,

Thanks a lot for sharing your feedback, and above all thank you very much for the nice words with which you described your delightful Reid's experience.

I would like to express my personal, along with all Reid's Team gratitude for your votes of appreciation, and we all hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you back soon to the Reid's Palace.

Many thanks and best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 88 in Funchal
3,035 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#2 of 88 in Funchal
944 reviews
1.1 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
VidaMar Resort Hotel Madeira
1.3 mi away
Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Reid's Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Reid's Palace

Address: Estrada Monumental 139, Funchal, Madeira 9000-098, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Funchal
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Funchal
#2 Family Hotel in Funchal
#3 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#5 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#5 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range: £237 - £535 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Reid's Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on cliff tops overlooking the Bay of Funchal and the Atlantic Ocean, this legendary hotel has, for over a century, been a standard-bearer for excellence. The hotel is located on 10 acres of subtropical gardens, boasts enviable access to the sea and is within walking distance of Funchal's shops, restaurants and night-life. With its reputation for excellence and discreet service, Belmond Reid's Palace is the ideal place at which to relax and be pampered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Belmond Reid's Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reid`s Palace By Orient-Express Hotel Funchal
Reids Palace Funchal
Reids Palace Hotel Funchal
Belmond Reid's Palace Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing