We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Holiday” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Belmond Reid's Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Belmond Reid's Palace
Ranked #5 of 87 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Heathfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful Holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

We have just come back from Reid's Palace in Madeira. It is a fantastic hotel in every way. Nothing had been forgotten. The accommodation was very comfortable and clean and we had a wonderful view from our balcony. The staff couldn't have been more friendly and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble. The food was excellent.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
4 Thank jevansx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExperienceManager, General Manager at Belmond Reid's Palace, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thanks you very much for you feedback.

It has been a great pleasure to read that we have been able to provide you a delightful experience. On behalf of all the Belmond Reid's palace Team, I would like to pass all our appreciation for your words of vote, and all our gratitude for your preference.

We all hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you back to the Belmond Reid's Palace soon.

Many thanks and best regards,

Ciriaco Campus
General Manager
Belmond Reid's Palace
Madeira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,341 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,147
    136
    44
    6
    8
See reviews for
223
886
39
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

I have been coming to Reids for over 10 years now and I never tire of it. I come to relax for peace and calm in a place where I feel comfortable. Whilst Madeira is a beautiful place to visit at any time of the year it is to Reids that I travel. Why?

Firstly the staff - they are superb, all of them, always concerned to make you feel comfortable.
The Hotel itself - its like a country house hotel without being stuffy in the slightest - the only stuffiness I have ever experienced is from fellow guests who assume an air because they are staying at Reids. Totally unnecessary.
The Sunbeds are extremely comfortable with thick mattresses. Huge Towels to cover the mattress.
The beautiful gardens are are haven to walk or sit in.
The breakfast buffet is delicious and fresh (with bubbly or bloody mary's if you want!)
They have free in room wifi - excellent convenience.
Its home form home.

Room Tip: Rooms 728 and 730 have huge terraces and a nice view of the sea and the port of Funchal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank seanpmoran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExperienceManager, General Manager at Belmond Reid's Palace, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Valued Customer,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review.

On behalf of all Belmond Reid's Team, I would like to pass our appreciation for your very nice comments about your experience with us. We are extremely happy to understand that we have been able to meet your expectations, and that you went back home with great memories about your stay at the Belmond Reid's Palace.

We do hope to have the pleasure to welcoming back soon, and in the meanwhile we remain, with our kindest regards,

Ciriaco Campus
General Manager
Belmond Reid's Palace
Madeira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

Staff are amazing!!! And the best hotel in Madeira. I went for my birthday and because reception took a copy of my passport they knew my date of birth and sent me flowers, a bottle of bubbly and a present- so thoughtful and a lovely surprise- if you want quality service and atmosphere I would only recommend this place!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
4 Thank Monica G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExperienceManager, General Manager at Belmond Reid's Palace, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear Valued Customer,

Thank you very much for taking the time for sharing you feedback.

It is a great pleasure for us to understand that you went back home with good memories about your Reid's experience, and I would like to express my personal, along with all Belmond Reid's Palace team appreciation for your nice words.

Comments like yours are the spring that pushes us everyday to walk the extra miles when it comes to meet our customers' expectations.

I hope I will have the pleasure to welcoming you back to the Belmond Reid's Palace, and if in the meanwhile you think I might be of any help, please to not hesitate to contact me directly.

Wishing you all the best, I remain, with my kindest regards,

Ciriaco Campus
General Manager
Belmond Reid's Palace
Madeira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreux, Switzerland
Level Contributor
102 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

If you are dreaming of going at least once in the most superlative hotel, don't look any further...! You have got it right there ! And what a hotel...! Built in...1888 (don't miss the old pictures in the different drawing rooms !), fully restored a few years ago, built for the utmost of pleasures, for relaxing and quiet moments, for enjoying the most stunning view from the most stunning of locations ! The welcome is already so hearty at your arrival, and if you are familiar with the place, a "Welcome back home" from the most pleasant of staff is your due ! The rooms (over the years, we were able to enjoy quite a variety, and the best of suites you could dream of...) are all highly comfortable, with balconies or terraces, or a lawn, where you can enjoy the best possible breakfast ! Let us not talk about the breakfast down by the pool, well worth the trip !The room service is probably the best you can think of ! Excellence supremely mastered...! The gardens with their tropical flowers and trees are sumptuous ! Not to talk about the pools, sea water, and what a service again, thank you Antonio, Daniel an all the others ! The spa is a wonder ! And relaxing at sea level is an incredible way of forgetting any obligation ! The Les Faunes restaurant is first class, as far as food, wine or service. The Reid's hotel is probably the hotel we would choose if there were to be only one left...! Every minute there is worth hundreds elsewhere...! So...what else ? When are YOU planning to go there and see by yourself...?

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DrH704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExperienceManager, General Manager at Belmond Reid's Palace, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Valued Customer,

We have been flattered by your nice comments. Your words of vote besides being a reward for the effort we put to meet our customers needs, are a huge commitment to maintain our posture and attitude to deliver unique experiences to our valued clients.
We thank you for your comments, and we do hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you back here soon.
Best regards,

Ciriaco Campus
General Manager
Belmond Reid's Palace
Madeira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

We have just returned from 6 days at the iconic Reid's in Madeira. Our first trip. What a special place! This is old style charm with old style service and attention to detail like no other. Absolutely nothing is too much trouble for the staff here, day or night. The hotel is absolutely spotlessly kept, beautiful fresh flowers everywhere. Housekeeping is fautless too: clean sheets every single day, even on the day before our departure. We were blessed with wonderful weather which of course helps but this place can deliver even without sun. Ambience is one of total relaxation and peace.Food was wonderful too! We will return!

Room Tip: we had a sea facing with a small terrace and it was perfectly adequate to take the air and admire th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patsy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExperienceManager, General Manager at Belmond Reid's Palace, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Valued Customer,

Thank you very much for you review.
Receiving comments like yours is indeed a great pleasure and a huge honor. These type of feedback are for us the fuel for the passion in meeting our valued guests expectations.
We are so glad to understand that we have provided you a delightful experience, and that you went back home with nice memories about your experience with us.
We do thank you for your words of vote, and for your preference, and we hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you back soon.
Best regards,

Ciriaco Campus
General Manager
Belmond Reid's Palace
Madeira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felixstowe Uk
Level Contributor
37 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

We are regular visitors to this wonderful iconic hotel. The staff, location, facilities and overall ambiance of Reid's Palace is in our opinion second to none! It is so relaxing and peaceful in total although we love the gardens in particular! Tranquillity personified!! We very much look forward to our next visit

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank AllanFelixstoweUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExperienceManager, General Manager at Belmond Reid's Palace, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear valued Client,

Thank you very much for sharing your review about your experience at the Belmond Reid's Palace.

It is always a great pleasure receiving such lovely comments which make us proud, and at the same time give us huge motivation to continue to walk everyday the extra mile and do everything we can to please and satisfy our valued customers.

We do thank you for your continuous preference and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Belmond Reid's Palace.

Best regards,

Ciriaco Campus
General Manager
Belmond Reid's Palace
Madeira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

This is a true gem and a wonderful experience of pampering and history! The rooms and views are spectacular and unique and the fact of sleefing in real linnen sheets we truly enjoyed! The spa is very special, and the breakfast buffet is great. The kids club and teenagers club are also great. High Tea at the terrace is a must!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank Angelina J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExperienceManager, General Manager at Belmond Reid's Palace, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear Valued Customer,

Thank you for sharing you experience at the Belmond Reid's Palace.

It has been a great pleasure to read that you had a delightful experience with us, and we do thank you for your words of appreciation, which are for us the right reward for all the efforts we make in order to meet and exceed our valued clients needs.

We all hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you back to the Belmond Reid's Palace.

Many thanks and best regards,

Ciriaco Campus
General Manager
Belmond Reid's Palace
Madeira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,664 reviews
1.1 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
0.2 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#4 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
The Residence
The Residence
#6 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 774 reviews
0.6 mi away
Quintinha Sao Joao
Quintinha Sao Joao
#9 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,059 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Reid's Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Reid's Palace

Property: Belmond Reid's Palace
Address: Estrada Monumental 139, Funchal, Madeira 9000-098, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Funchal
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Funchal
#3 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#5 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#5 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#5 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Reid's Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on cliff tops overlooking the Bay of Funchal and the Atlantic Ocean, this legendary hotel has, for over a century, been a standard-bearer for excellence. The hotel is located on 10 acres of subtropical gardens, boasts enviable access to the sea and is within walking distance of Funchal's shops, restaurants and night-life. With its reputation for excellence and discreet service, Belmond Reid's Palace is the ideal place at which to relax and be pampered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Belmond, Hotels.com, Destinology, Odigeo, LoveHolidays and Agoda so you can book your Belmond Reid's Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reid`s Palace By Orient-Express Hotel Funchal
Reids Palace Funchal
Reids Palace Hotel Funchal
Belmond Reid's Palace Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing