We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Belmond Reid's Palace
Ranked #5 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 June 2014

My wife and I have just returned from a weeks stay at the Reid's Palace.
This hotel delivers the five star treatment in bucket loads.
The two things that spring to mind are the ambience which is a very relaxed, peaceful and unhurried approach as you walk around the hotel or sit by the pool. Secondly is the professionalism of the staff. From reception, concierge, breakfast and room service they are always polite, courteous, smiling and so helpful.
It goes without saying that the rooms in the old hotel are very generous in size and are extremely comfortable.
Hotels of this calibre are few and far around the and should be enjoyed for what they are.


Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Coastman2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExperienceManager, General Manager at Belmond Reid's Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear Valued Client,

Thanks you very much for your review.

On behalf of all Belmond Reid's team, I would like to take the opportunity to pass you our gratitude and appreciation for having chosen our hotel.

We would also like to thank you for your nice words, which have filled us of joy for having been able to made you experience with us a memorable one.

We all hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you back to the Belmond Reid's Palace.

Best regards,

Ciriaco Campus
General Manager
Belmond Reid's Palace
Madeira

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,492)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

743 - 749 of 1,492 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2014

I took my Mum for afternoon tea for her Birthday. What a lovely afternoon.

The sandwiches were lovely, the scones are freshly baked and the patisseries are plentiful and a good choice.

You are asked of you would like extra but there is certainly sufficient.

The views on the terrace are stunning and you feel like you have stepped back in time with how grand the hotel and surrounding are.

The staff were very friendly and attentive. They even brought Mum a Birthday cake - Not that we could eat any more cake!! Sadly for 'security' reasons we couldnt take it with us.

They also played Happy Birthday on the piano.

If you fancy doing something a little different on your holiday and dont mind splashing out then visit for Afternoon tea,

Thank you Reids for making Mums Birthday so special and one for her to remember!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank 719Kate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExperienceManager, General Manager at Belmond Reid's Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Dear Valued Customer,

We have been extremely pleased to understand that we have been able to contribute to make your mom's birthday an unforgettable one.

We would like to thank you very much for your lovely comments and above all for your preference.

We would be more than pleased to welcoming yo back to the Belmond Reid's Palace.

Best regards,



Ciriaco Campus
General Manager
Belmond Reid's Palace
Madeira

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Lovely old hotel with a beautiful view from the terrace,staff very attentive,quality of afternoon tea very ordinary for the price of 33.50euros each.Much better value and quality for 10.95euros at our hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank ROY C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExperienceManager, General Manager at Belmond Reid's Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Dear Valued Customer,

Thank you very much for taking the time for writing your review about our High Afternoon Tea.

Sadly, when reading your feedback, I have been dismayed as I understood that we have not been able to exceed your expectation.

Here at Reid’s Palace we do take our clients’ comments into the highest consideration as they are a great tool to improve our service, and as we do not like to live out of our reputation, I have immediately shared your review with the deemed heads of department, so that the needed corrective actions will be taken.

I hope that, in case of another trip to Madeira, you will give us another opportunity to prove our hospitality.

With my best regards,

Ciriaco Campus
General Manager
Belmond Reid's Palace
Madeira

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed a taste of Reids today when we chose to visit for lunch in the informal poolside restaurant. We are staying at Palheiro village as we find self catering easier with out toddler but were keen to visit Reids. Unsure as to whether out toddler would be welcome, we phoned ahead and were assured he would be. The setting is beautiful and a high chair and extensive children's menu provided as soon as we arrived. We decided to indulge in the fabulous cold buffet which was extensive and incredibly tempting - shellfish, griddled vegetables, fresh fish, rare roast beef, salads and dressings galore, Portuguese cheeses and a fantastic selection of desserts and fresh fruits. We were recommended an excellent Chardonnay from Douro. The staff were all extremely courteous and helpful - nothing was too much trouble and our toddler was thrilled to be given his own plate of mini biscuits alongside those which accompanied our coffees! All in all, a lovely treat and super that we didn't feel out of place with our son as we might have done in other smart establishment. We hope to return!

Room Tip: We did not stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank Antonia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExperienceManager, General Manager at Belmond Reid's Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Dear Valued Customer,

Thank you very much for having visited our Pool Restaurant, it is a pleasure to understand that you had a delightful experience with us.

We all hope to welcoming you back to the Belmond Reid's Palace, and possibly experience also the other services we provide to our valued customers.

Many thanks and best regards,



Ciriaco Campus
General Manager
Belmond Reid's Palace
Madeira

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

This hotel is incredible! The service was from a bygone age with careful attention to detail. We went for our anniversary and were pleasantly surprised with a bottle of bubbly, flowers and lotion from the spa. Peace and tranquility made our stay very relaxing. The food was great and the location was fine. Some nights there was live music which was a treat. We will definately stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RIW2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExperienceManager, General Manager at Belmond Reid's Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Dear Valued Customer,

With much of our pleasure we understand that we have been able to provide you a delightful experience at the Belmond Reid's Palace.

We would like to thank you very much for your nice words and for you preference, and we all hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you back the the Belmond Reid's Palace.

Best regards,


Ciriaco Campus
General Manager
Belmond Reid's Palace
Madeira

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Just returned from five days at Reids Palace over looking Funchal Bay. We had a suite on the top floor of the old building. Two bathrooms, three balconies, sitting room, mini bar, large comfortable double bed.
Weather was cool and windy with rain for the whole of one day. Service was impecable but a little stuffy. Food was excellent with free soft drinks from mini bar but no tea/coffee making facility. Large public rooms, three dining areas, only one of which demanded a jacket and tie.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stephen m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExperienceManager, General Manager at Belmond Reid's Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Dear Valued Client,

Thanks a lo for your review.

We would like to take the opportunity to pass our appreciation and gratitude for having chosen the Belmond Reid's Palace, and for the nice words you used to describe you experience with us. It is always a great pleasure to see that we have been able to delight our customers, and we take each one of these comments as a call to action to always do our best to satisfy our clients.

We hope to welcoming you back soon to the Belmond Reid's Palace.

Best regards,

Ciriaco Campus
General Manager
Belmond Reid's Palace
Madeira

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Magical Madeira (15 photos)
Madeira is one of the most magical places on earth. Since we set foot on this beautiful island we have been overwhelmed by magical wines, warm hospitality and have been amazed at how beautiful, clean and well maintained the environment is. And to make it all even more special we are staying in one of the world's "Grande Dames" of hotels -The Reid's Palace... and she is living up to all our expectations and has the most spectacular ocean views - especially when you have High Tea on the veranda or dine at Villa Cipriani. This is a very special place....

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChefCMosaic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExperienceManager, General Manager at Belmond Reid's Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Dear Valued Client,

Thanks you very much for your words of vote, we have been extremely pleased to understand that your Madeiran Experience have been completed by a delightful stay with us.

We would like to thank you very much for your having chosen the Belmond Reid's Palace, and we hope to welcoming you back here soon.

Best regards,



Ciriaco Campus
General Manager
Belmond Reid's Palace
Madeira

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 88 in Funchal
2,972 reviews
0.7 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#2 of 88 in Funchal
920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
0.3 mi away
VidaMar Resort Hotel Madeira
0.2 mi away
Pestana Carlton Madeira
Pestana Carlton Madeira
#31 of 88 in Funchal
2,357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Reid's Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Reid's Palace

Address: Estrada Monumental 139, Funchal, Madeira 9000-098, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Funchal
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Funchal
#3 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#5 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#5 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#5 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range: £259 - £532 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Reid's Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on cliff tops overlooking the Bay of Funchal and the Atlantic Ocean, this legendary hotel has, for over a century, been a standard-bearer for excellence. The hotel is located on 10 acres of subtropical gardens, boasts enviable access to the sea and is within walking distance of Funchal's shops, restaurants and night-life. With its reputation for excellence and discreet service, Belmond Reid's Palace is the ideal place at which to relax and be pampered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Belmond Reid's Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reid`s Palace By Orient-Express Hotel Funchal
Reids Palace Funchal
Reids Palace Hotel Funchal
Belmond Reid's Palace Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing