We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Belmond Reid's Palace
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$231
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel The Cliff Bay(Funchal)
US$402
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$352
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$149
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$131
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$170
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$154
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Pestana Palms(Funchal)
US$190
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$162
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$198
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$164
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$351
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$124
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$116
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$236
Elvoline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Suite Hotel Eden Mar(Funchal)
US$180
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$160
Elvoline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (1,602)
Filter reviews
1,603 results
Traveller rating
1,369
162
54
9
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,369
162
54
9
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvilla ciprianiafternoon tea on the terracechampagne buffetcharming roomcocktail barbest hotels in the worlddinner dancefree soft drinksjacket and tiewinston churchilldeluxe roomcliff toptennis courtsdress codebreakfast roomluxury hotelthe general manager
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
823 - 828 of 1,603 reviews
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Every time we go to Madeira a drink on the terrace at Reids means we are really in Madeira on holiday
The service and old world charm are unlike any other place on the island
Don't let the place intimidate you just enjoy the views and the company you are there with
(I do think some people let the place get to them and act how they think others think they should act) but be yourself the staff are very friendly and not at all superior (which I have experienced in some very upmarket hotels in London)

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Diveguide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExperienceManager, General Manager at Belmond Reid's Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear Valued Customer,

Thank you very much for taking the time for writing your feedback.

We do thank you for having visited our Terrace, we are glad to understand that we have been able to meet your expectations.

Receiving comments like yours is the right payback for what we do, and motivates us to do our utmost to satisfy our valued customers.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Belmond Reid's Palace, possibly soon.

Kindest regards,


Ciriaco Campus
General Manager
Belmond Reid's Palace
Madeira

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We have been to a madeira a couple of times but never Reid's - we though it might be a bit formal for us. We were wrong this hotel is perfect
The service at all levels was personable and professional. The facilities are excellent, particularly the pool area, the buffet breakfast, the cocktail bar, the spa and the gym.
Our room a superior double, had everything we could have expected including a great view. the décor was charming and the servicing of the room that best we have experienced.
the Italian restaurant in the grounds, Villa Cipriani was also of the highest quality
The grounds of the hotel is well worth exploring

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank neilalexander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExperienceManager, General Manager at Belmond Reid's Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear Valued Client,

We have been flattered by your lovely comments. On behalf of the entire team of the Belmond Reid's palace, I would like to thank you very much for having chosen our property, and above for the nice words you reserved to us. These type of comments make us walk the extra mile to satisfy our valued customers.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you back soon to the Belmond Reid's Palace.

Best regards,



Ciriaco Campus
General Manager
Belmond Reid's Palace
Madeira

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Visited Reid's on 24th June for Afternoon Tea and what a pleasurable experience.
The staff were wonderful and the offerings were very enjoyable.
A lovely way to enjoy an afternoon.
We enjoyed so much we will consider staying there on our next visit.
A place of charm and quality.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MalTeas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExperienceManager, General Manager at Belmond Reid's Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear Valued Client,

It is a pleasure to understand that we have been able to provide you a delightful experience.

On behalf of the Belmond Reid's team, I would like to thank you very much for your words of vote, and to express our gratitude and appreciation for your preference.

We all hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you back to the Belmond Reid's Palace.

Best regards,

Ciriaco Campus
General Manager
Belmond Reid's Palace
Madeira

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We booked afternoon tea on-line about 4 weeks before and explained that it was my 50th birthday.
I received an email confirming our booking and that they had made a note that it was a very special occasion.

We arrived on Thursday 26th June, and was shown to our table.

All in all, the staff were courteous and polite and the tea and sandwiches were very nice, and we paid the bill and left.....feeling really miffed that today was my big birthday and there was absolutely no acknowledgment of it, ....... As indicated in theiir email.!!

I guess they forgot,and with hindsight,I didn't really need a cake and a piano rendition of "Happy Birthday", but maybe, just maybe it would have been nice.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank pecanedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExperienceManager, General Manager at Belmond Reid's Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear Valued Customer,

Thank you very much for taking the time for writing your review about our High Afternoon Tea, Restaurant.

Sadly, when reading your feedback, I have been dismayed as I understood that we have not been able to exceed your expectation.

Here at the Belmond Reid’s Palace we do take our clients’ comments into the highest consideration as they are a great tool to improve our service, and as we do not like to live out of our reputation, I have immediately shared your review with the deemed heads of department, so that the needed corrective actions will be taken.

I hope that, in case of another trip to Madeira, you will give us another opportunity to prove our hospitality, and please do not hesitate to contact me directly if you think that my intervention necessary.


With my best regards,


Ciriaco Campus
General Manager
Belmond Reid’s Palace
Madeira

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

My wife and I have just returned from a weeks stay at the Reid's Palace.
This hotel delivers the five star treatment in bucket loads.
The two things that spring to mind are the ambience which is a very relaxed, peaceful and unhurried approach as you walk around the hotel or sit by the pool. Secondly is the professionalism of the staff. From reception, concierge, breakfast and room service they are always polite, courteous, smiling and so helpful.
It goes without saying that the rooms in the old hotel are very generous in size and are extremely comfortable.
Hotels of this calibre are few and far around the and should be enjoyed for what they are.


Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Coastman2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExperienceManager, General Manager at Belmond Reid's Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear Valued Client,

Thanks you very much for your review.

On behalf of all Belmond Reid's team, I would like to take the opportunity to pass you our gratitude and appreciation for having chosen our hotel.

We would also like to thank you for your nice words, which have filled us of joy for having been able to made you experience with us a memorable one.

We all hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you back to the Belmond Reid's Palace.

Best regards,

Ciriaco Campus
General Manager
Belmond Reid's Palace
Madeira

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews