We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Belmond Reid's Palace
Ranked #5 of 87 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very good”
Reviewed 31 August 2014

Red's Palace has been welcoming my family since the the first aircraft landed in madeira. The kids club was great and so was the food + the room. (ours lead onto the gardens). i can say that this hotel and the rest of madeira is a very relaxing place where if you have a very hard busy life where nothing stops, well then when you go there everything about life stops and calms down and all you do is happily gain weight without caring about you 'summer body', you sleep and swim your stresses away. i give Reids 4 starts because there isn't much to do apart from sleep and eat (there are tours to do things like diving with wales, tours around the extinct volcanos ect.) but if your an teenager then what you want to do is YOLO your summer holidays.

Room Tip: always try and get a room on the 3rd floor up... the first and second i felt squashed by the rest of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fireflyed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExperienceManager, General Manager at Belmond Reid's Palace, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
Dear Valued Client,

Thank you for choosing the Belmond Reid's Palace.

We are glad to understand that you had a delightful experience with us, and we would like to take the opportunity to thank you very much your preference and for the nice words you reserved to us.

We hope t have the pleasure to welcoming you back to the Belmond Reid's Palace.

Many thanks and best regards,


Ciriaco Campus
General Manager
Belmond Reid's Palace
Madeira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,361 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,159
    144
    44
    6
    8
See reviews for
228
899
40
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
west Midlands
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2014

What an experience, this is a "must do" when visiting Funchal. the setting out on the terrace is superb, try to get a table on the outside for a wonderful sea view. The choice of teas and the selection of sandwiches and cakes are very good with refills available when requested. The staff are a credit to the hotel, a glimpse of the golden era of holidaying in style!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marion h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExperienceManager, General Manager at Belmond Reid's Palace, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Dear Valued Customer,

Thank you very much for choosing the Belmond Reid's Palace for your High Afternoon Tea.

With much of our pleasure we understand that you had a delightful experience with us, indeed receiving comments like yours is the right payback for all the efforts we make when it come to meet our clients wishes.

We would like to thank you very for your nice words and for your preference, and we do hope to welcoming you back to the Belmond Reid's Palace soon.

Best regards,

Ciriaco Campus
General Manager
Belmond Reid's Palace
Madeira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
158 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Our second holiday at Reid's and it feels as if nothing has changed. The place has a certain aura. As you pass through the gates, bustling Funchal falls away and Reid's Palace takes over. Willing staff appear to collect your cases and welcome you. The building is iconic but I think that it is the staff who make it what it is. It seems that few ever leave, many have been there all of their working lives and they are proud of their hotel. Any interaction is met will a broad smile, no request is too much and it is often difficult to persuade them to let you do anything for yourself. Their skill, enthusiasm and professionalism make Reid's what is. A previous reviewer called it 'Magical' and I agree. Waiting for a hotel courtesy car in to town, one of our fellow guests called it a" proper grown-up hotel" - a good description.

The practicalities: there are four restaurants each serving their own style of food and all
Of the highest standard. The Barman in the cocktail bar remembers you by name after the first night - and that isn't a reflection of the time we spent in the bar! There are many grades of room but all are comfortable, roomy and have glorious views over the sea. Rooms are serviced twice a day. Breakfast is a hot and cold buffet that makes you want to sit at breakfast all day and lunch by the pool, with a chilled bottle of local Rose, is heaven.

I'm sure that there are things that the hotel could do better, I just can't think what they are.

We will be returning for a third bite at the cherry!

Room Tip: Just book into the hotel - you won't regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Devon_Laddo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExperienceManager, General Manager at Belmond Reid's Palace, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear valuable Client,

Thanks for having chosen the Belmond Reid's Palace once again.

Indeed a great pleasure to understand that you had a delightful time with us, and it is even a greater one to read that you would like to visit us again.

On behalf of all the Belmond Reid's Palace team, I would like to pass you all our appreciation for your nice words, and all our gratitude for your renewed preference.

We all look forward to welcoming you back.

Many thanks and best regards,


Ciriaco Campus
General Manager
Belmond Reid's Palace
Madeira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014

From the moment I arrived I felt welcome and cared for. The staff is solicitous without being overly present. As a New Yorker, I lament the fact that there are very few if any at all of this type of lodging and staff with this type of training. The location with the cliff-side sunbathing is spectacular. The head concierge whose name I have unfortunately forgotten knows everything and is well connected. He was able to get us on an outbound flight on the day of a TAP pilots' strike. I hope that this place never changes and that manages to keep its charm. Muito obrigado por tudo!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SamNYC1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExperienceManager, General Manager at Belmond Reid's Palace, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Valuable Customer,

Thanks a lot for sharing your feedback.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your experience at the Belmond Reid's Palace.

Indeed delivering experiences is our core business, and is from comments like yours that we find the motivation to work harder in order to exceed our valued customers’ expectations.

Once again, thank you very much for your nice words, which for us are the right payback for all our efforts.

We all look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Ciriaco Campus
General Manager
Belmond Reid’s Palace
Madeira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

A truly special week at Reids... A beautiful and relaxing place to stay- friendly and attentive service; attention to detail in every way. The restaurants and afternoon tea on the terrace are a must! A place to return to-

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MuirTaysideScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExperienceManager, General Manager at Belmond Reid's Palace, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear Valuable Customer,

Thank you very much for taking the time for sharing your feedback about your experience at the Belmond Reid's Palace.

We have all been flattered by your kind words. Is indeed a great pleasure to receive these words of vote, and without any doubt they are the spring that pushes us all to do our utmost to please our valuable customers.

We all hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you back here to the Belmond Reid’s Palace, in a not too far future.



Ciriaco Campus
General Manager
Belmond Reid’s Palace
Madeira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haynes
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Reid's Palace is excellent. Beautiful grounds, friendly and helpful staff, great food - you should just see the breakfasts - and fine views over the Bay. Madeira has a crazy Hotel Star system, with many hotels being graded 5 stars which in the UK might manage 2 stars. You only have to be by the pool and look out at other hotels with their vast concrete areas to realise how green and verdant Reid's is.

We always hire a car, from Rodavente, just along the road, we have never had any problems with them trying to add extra charges, which so many car hire companies do. There is lots to see around the island, with many festivals and feasts taking place.

The Hotel may not look much from the main road, but go inside and you will see what a gem it is. We will be back their in October, and are counting the days.

The hotel has 3 swimming pools. There are virtually no natural sandy beaches on Madeira, there are some beaches made from golden sand imported from Africa. There are though so many things to see on the island that the lack of beaches is not a problem.

There is Air Conditioning in all of the hotel, and it available all day (almost unbelievably, one of the nearby hotels turns the air con off during part of the day. Madeira isn't as hot as Tenerife, but is all the better for it.

Room Tip: The garden rooms have a good view over Funchal and the harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BigTedHaynes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExperienceManager, General Manager at Belmond Reid's Palace, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Valued Customer,

Thank you for choosing the Belmond Reid's Palace.

We have been really pleased to read that we managed to provide you a delightful stay with us, and I would like to pass all our appreciation for the nice comments with which you describe your experience at the Belmond Reid's Palace.

We all hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you back to the Belmond Reid's Palace in a not too distant future.

Best regards,

Ciriaco Campus
General Manager
Belmond Reid's Palace
Madeira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MADEIRA
Level Contributor
64 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We have just spent the weekend at Reid's for my wife's birthday.
As ever, completely faultless.
Flowers and champagne in our room on her birthday!
We had dinner at the pool on Saturday and it was great.
As ever, the staff are outstanding.
This is the only place to stay in Madeira.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PARADISEMadeira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExperienceManager, General Manager at Belmond Reid's Palace, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Valued Client,

Thank you very much for taking the time for writing your review.

We have been flattered by your comments, and we have been more than pleased to understand that we have been able to provide you an unforgettable experience.

Thank you very much for having chosen the Belmond Reid's Palace for your weekend break, we all hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you back soon to the Belmond Reid's Palace.


Ciriaco Campus
General Manager
Belmond Reid's Palace
Madeira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 87 in Funchal
2,709 reviews
1.1 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
0.2 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#4 of 87 in Funchal
815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
The Residence
The Residence
#6 of 87 in Funchal
784 reviews
0.6 mi away
Porto Mare Hotel
Porto Mare Hotel
#7 of 87 in Funchal
1,952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Reid's Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Reid's Palace

Property: Belmond Reid's Palace
Address: Estrada Monumental 139, Funchal, Madeira 9000-098, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Funchal
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Funchal
#3 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#5 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#5 Family Hotel in Funchal
#5 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Reid's Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on cliff tops overlooking the Bay of Funchal and the Atlantic Ocean, this legendary hotel has, for over a century, been a standard-bearer for excellence. The hotel is located on 10 acres of subtropical gardens, boasts enviable access to the sea and is within walking distance of Funchal's shops, restaurants and night-life. With its reputation for excellence and discreet service, Belmond Reid's Palace is the ideal place at which to relax and be pampered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Belmond, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Belmond Reid's Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reid`s Palace By Orient-Express Hotel Funchal
Reids Palace Funchal
Reids Palace Hotel Funchal
Belmond Reid's Palace Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing