We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Belmond Reid's Palace
Ranked #5 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 December 2008

After a lot of traveling, both for business and pleasure, we finally found a hotel, where we always would like to come back.
The Reid's Palace distinguishes itself by a superb location, a beautiful view, quietness, cleanness and is filled with atmosphere.
One must not forget to mention the extraordinary service, which begins at the reception and ends with the maid. The kitchen is also outstanding.
Next time we are going to bring some of our friends!

Thank you very much, Ellis & Kurt Wittenhagen, Denmark.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank wittenhagen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,561)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,182 - 1,188 of 1,561 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2008

Cannot fault a thing. Not the cheapest place to stay but worth every £. Great ambiance, service, food, drinks and afternoon tea. Clean, spacious and slick. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank DocP127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2008

There are many good hotels, some hotels are exceptionally good but there is only one Reid’s.
Reid’s offer unashamed luxury.
Staff at Reid’s are, without doubt the friendliest and the most efficient we have ever come into contact with, that is not to say that staff at other hotels we have visited are anything other than superb, but Reid’s people are perfect.
The public areas are opulent, tranquil and absolutely faultless.
We usually stay in the same room when we visit Reid’s but we’re sure all rooms have the same luxurious facilities maintained to the same impeccable standard.
Dining at Reid’s is a most pleasurable experience in the hotel’s elegant restaurants and dining rooms.
The leisure facilities are excellent with splendid swimming pools and relaxing “basking areas”. The gardens are magnificent, they are well manicured and extensive and strolling through reminds one of the halcyon days of yesteryear.
Reid’s is not inexpensive but it is exceptional value for money.


Gloucestershire UK.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank brian_stimson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2008

We desperately needed a week break from business and Madeira ticked all the boxes, short haul, some sunshine and an aversion to young "lagerlouts".
Reids palace was actually our second choice, the Cliff Bay Hotel being fully booked. However, this turned out to be a bonus as we were extremely impressed from the moment we entered. We prefer hotels with individuality and character, which Reids has heaps of.
On arrival we received a free room upgrade to room 918, top floor, with the most stunning views over Funchal and the harbour.
Every staff member was impeccably presented and the service was outstanding. Nothing was an effort and they obviously took pride in their work which was a joy and is a credit to the management.
The breakfast buffet was impressive, plenty of choice and all very fresh. As we prefer to sample restaurants outside hotels, we only dined once, in Les Faunes. Sadly, although the restaurant was only half full, for some unknown reason we were seated in the furthermost corner, with limited view over Funchal. We also were rather disappointed with the food which we thought overpriced, but as we are rather spoilt in Jersey with an abundance of good quality restaurants and seafood, we put this down to our fussiness. As for the dress code, we do enjoy the opportunity to dress for dinner in this day and age and I think there is enough information throughout the hotel advising on the expected attire, so there can be little excuse for complaint.
The hotel gardens and pools were wonderful and the hotel provided us with exactly the desired relaxing break expected and we will certainly return.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mercedesJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2008

We stayed at Reids Palace Hotel for three days in October. We took advantage of their free room upgrade offer. We stayed in a magnificient suite with three balconies, all with great sea views.
The hotel were aware of the reason for our visit: a honeymoon combined with a special birthday.
From the moment we arrived until when we left, the hotel service was perfect. A common souce of irritation when staying in hotels where the main language is not English is when one speaks to staff in the native tongue, the reply comes back in English. Our Portuguese is reasonably fluent. Never once did the staff respond in anything other than the language we used, even when it was obvious that their English was almost accentless and superb.
The breakfast, part served and part buffet was good quality and variety. There was vodka for Bloody Marys and champagne if that was your want. ( Not mine ! ) Again the staff were totally professional.
The grounds of the hotel were lush and well maintained. They were a very pleasant location for a post prandial stroll.
For the birthday dinner, we booked the hotel's Cipriani restaurant. We were given a table on the terrace overlooking the ocean. It was perfect. Once again, as in the hotel, the staff were charming and efficient without being obsequious or intrusive. The food was well prepared and the prices very reasonable. At the end of the meal a surprise birthday cake appeared which was delicious. It was just the right size for two.
My wife and I have been fortunate enough to travel extensively over most of the world. We have stayed in some great hotels in wonderful locations. We have our own little competition for the best hotel that we have stayed at. The Dusit Thani in Langawi, the Waldorf Astoria in New York have figured on the list which until this trip was led by Raffles Hotel in Singapore.
We now see Reids as the number one hotel that we have visited in our years of travel.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank JOHNDERIS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2008

after spending a holiday at the mount nelson hotel in south africa, we were expecting real comfort and it proved to be a
totally stress free, relaxing holiday at a wonderful place.
the location of the hotel is perfect for people who want to see funchal but still like to be at a quiet, elegant place.
it is very difficult to say, what we enjoyed most, as the whole package was perfect.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank middelaged
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2008

A week's stay at Reids was the final destination in a trip that encompassed Lisbon, Porto Santo and Madeira. We chose Reids because of it's reputation and were not disappointed. All the facilities were of the highest standard and the service some of the best we have experienced anywhere in the world.

We ate in all the restaurants and enjoyed them all, however we don't feel the hotel is making the most of the excellent reputation and facilities by employing a renowned, (michelin starred?), chef to attract a wider clientele.

Reids is definitely somewhere we wish to return to and are already planning a visit next Easter. We would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YorkshireWeasel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#4 of 88 in Funchal
3,103 reviews
1.1 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
0.2 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#3 of 88 in Funchal
966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
The Residence
The Residence
#6 of 88 in Funchal
870 reviews
1.3 mi away
Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Reid's Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Reid's Palace

Address: Estrada Monumental 139, Funchal, Madeira 9000-098, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Funchal
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Funchal
#2 Family Hotel in Funchal
#3 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#5 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#5 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range: £262 - £468 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Reid's Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on cliff tops overlooking the Bay of Funchal and the Atlantic Ocean, this legendary hotel has, for over a century, been a standard-bearer for excellence. The hotel is located on 10 acres of subtropical gardens, boasts enviable access to the sea and is within walking distance of Funchal's shops, restaurants and night-life. With its reputation for excellence and discreet service, Belmond Reid's Palace is the ideal place at which to relax and be pampered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Belmond Reid's Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reid`s Palace By Orient-Express Hotel Funchal
Reids Palace Funchal
Reids Palace Hotel Funchal
Belmond Reid's Palace Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing