We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great hotel, quirky, clean, convienient and full of charm”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Quinta Da Penha De Franca
Ranked #1 of 31 Funchal B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
York
Level Contributor
67 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“A great hotel, quirky, clean, convienient and full of charm”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

We have just returned from yet another stay at this hotel. It is a lovely oasis amongst the concrete high risers. The breakfast is the typical mix of fruit, rolls, meat and cheese as well as cooked food. There is also yoghurts, jams, breads, cake, juices etc. Choose an upgrade room with partial sea view, you get a large room with a balcony overlooking the garden, pool and out to the ocean. The staff are friendly and helpful, ignore other comments, and do have a meal at Bernini's but remember to book.

Room Tip: Choose a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Doeplayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

700 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    335
    275
    66
    16
    8
See reviews for
90
451
36
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

I stayed in the Franca Mar section of the hotel as I wanted to be closer to the ocean. I had a ground floor room with a spacious patio but the view was obscured due the wall separating the patio from the pool area. I could only hear the ocean when sitting outside instead of seeing it... But the views from the pool made up for that. The rooms are clean and of a good size but the decor is a little dated. The best part of the hotel is the location. It is an easy 10-15 minute walk to the center of Funchal so supermarkets, restaurants, and sights are at your fingertips. If I ever make it back to Madeira, I'd certainly stay here again - as long as I could get a room on a higher floor.

Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Veggie78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north yorks
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014

What a superb hotel, well-placed between town and Reid's Hotel. Lovely quirky nooks and corners, each set of rooms looking out on either gardens, pool or panoramic atlantic vistas. Rooms are large and comfortable with well-stocked minibars- (sensibly-priced too), decent size balcony or terrace, generous bathrooms with torrents of hot water, and of course fantastic views. Breakfast was a bonus with really good range of breads, cheeses, fresh fruits plus eggs etc. if you want. The staff were helpful and friendly- everything sparkling-clean and fresh, unobtrusive extras if you want- evening turn-down service for example. Bar staff in particular very good. We'll be back, thank you

Room Tip: We stayed in the old house, superior double with sea view- no 61. Rooms with lower numbers are close...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stella19NorthYorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Wales
Level Contributor
87 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

An agreeable hotel, very well situated, but sadly lacking any cheer. Many of the staff are attentive and friendly but others ignore even a greeting, and would clearly prefer you weren't there. It's possible to walk through the hotel and be completely ignored. If this is likely to bother you, it'll get to you after a few days. Rooms and public spaces are light and airy, though Wi-Fi not available in rooms and intermittent anyway. (Unavailable three of our seven days stay). Breakfast only so-so, but lunch and dinner fine. Rooms in the main building have lovely sea and garden views, go for high-numbered rooms in the seventy and eighty range.

Room Tip: Rooms in the main building have lovely sea and garden views, go for high-numbered rooms in the seven...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heraldic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

Stayed here for 2 weeks over Xmas and New Year. We were on the first floor. All rooms had a sea view set amongst the gardens. The large patio area had a table and 2 chairs and is washed every day. The room is serviced every day and bed turned down at night. All very clean. There is a well stocked fridge in room. A table and 2 arm chairs a desk area and a chair. The tv is small and outdated with no dvd facilities.The room was large with a good size bathroom with 2 hand bowls and a low level bath with shower over. The toilet is in a separate area.
The Quinta menu never changes for breakfast or evening meal and becomed boring.Breakfast has a large choice of breads fruits meats cheese and cooked food but it never changes. There is a lift to all floors. To get to the restaurant you have to walk outside of reception and up a flight of steps.Restaurant has tablecloths on the tables and service is quick. Large reception area with very helpful staff. This is the only area with wi fi and a computer. Afternoon tea is 10 euros a head. The hotel is located up a steep climb with plenty of surrounding resaurants. Prince Albert pub does English grub with free wi fi. Do not eat at Italian Bernins on the righthand side..food lacks taste and poor service. They pretend to be Italian. Joeys bar has a good selection of cocktails but lacks entertainment a piano player plays some of the time. So visit other hotels for dancing or live bands. Casino is a waste of time full of smoke and men. swimming pool is open every day until 5.30. Has lovely harbour views. Either side of the path out of the hotel are Spar supermarkets open until late selling everything you need including individual milk satchets. No tea making facilities int he room take a kettle. Hotel in lovely area but a hike to get up to the main road. Safe costs 8 euros for 2 weeks. Our only evening meal of soup omlette chips came to 23 euros with drinks. Meals are cheap locally so eat out. Turkish restaurant on left side is excellent.
Funchal is a 5 euro taxi drive or use the local buses at the top of the hill. We went all around the villages by bus for a few euros each. The hotel is linked to the harbour by a bridge which you access through the gardens then walk through Penha da Mar.

Room Tip: rooms 50s and 60s have views over garden and sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sunshiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oswaldtwistle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

We chose this hotel through booking.com. We were looking for a good 4 star hotel with a sea view for 3 nights to add to our 7 nights time-share stay at Royal Savoy Vacation Club. We have made similar arrangements in the past in different locations on Madeira island to extend our holiday from 7-10 days and those previous hotels were very good indeed.
That said, Quinta da Penha de Franca is one of the best 4 star hotels we have ever stayed in. We stayed on bed & breakfast basis in a twin room with sea view and balcony overlooking the pool (£221 total). Our room was 306 (upper floor), one floor above reception desk. The views from our room were stunning and our follow-on hotel (Royal Savoy) was close by, about five minutes walk away!
Our room was exceptionally clean and well managed by the room servicing staff. There was a well stocked mini-bar fridge in the room and complimentary soaps/shower gels in the en-suite bathroom and our room had a 32" wall mounted flat screen TV with BBC World News/CNN & several other english-speaking channels including history and film/drama channels.
The hotel is quite small in comparison to most 4 star hotels which perhaps contributes to the palpably intimacy and warmth one feels from the hotel ambience and the friendliness and helpfulness of all the staff.
Indeed, during our short stay my wife was in some considerable discomfort and needed to see a dentist for emergency treatment. The kind, professional young man on reception duty (remiss of me not to ask his name), was most helpful in arranging a dental appointment for her within a few minutes including the adders and location. The buffet breakfast in the pool side buffet bar was a varied menu to suit all tastes, e.g. Fresh fruit, cold meats, cheeses, salad, various breads, cooked breakfast items, fruit juices, tea, coffee etc. The catering/bar staff were courteous and always helpful and the pool and pool side area was constantly maintained and kept clean.
We would certainly recommend this hotel and would happily stay here again without hesitation!

Room Tip: Lower section of hotel for rooms with breath-taking ocean views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank denjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandhurst, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

This was my fourth stay at QPF and it was just as enjoyable as the previous occasions. The staff are always very friendly and happy to help. The hotel location is ideal for the centre of Funchal, whilst being very quiet. This will be my first choice for my next trip to Madeira.

Room Tip: Having booked the lateral sea view rooms on 3 out of the 4 occasions that I have stayed at QPF, I wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,718 reviews
1.0 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Pestana Casino Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Quintinha Sao Joao
Quintinha Sao Joao
#9 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,077 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#4 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
0.9 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quinta Da Penha De Franca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta Da Penha De Franca

Property: Quinta Da Penha De Franca
Address: Rua Imperatriz Dona Amelia 85-87, Funchal, Madeira 9000-018, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Quinta Da Penha De Franca 4*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Quinta da Penha de França is situated in the best area of Funchal, with access tp the sea, 76 rooms , beautiful gardens, restaurants and bars. We wish you a very pleasant stay in one of the most traditional Madeira houses. Come visit us.... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Hotelopia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quinta Da Penha De Franca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quinta Da Penha De Franca Hotel Funchal
Quinta Penha Franca
Quinta Da Penha Franca
Quinta Da Penha De Franca Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing