We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel , good value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Quinta Da Penha De Franca
Ranked #1 of 31 Funchal B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
St Helier, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Decent hotel , good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

We stayed a week in the sea front extension of this hotel. Our room overlooked the pool and the sea and was clean and functional. The main bonus was that it was extremely quiet as it was below road level.
Breakfast was typical continental and certainly would satisfy most people.
For us the location was ideal , 15mns walk to the center of Funchal.
Staff were friendly and helpful.
It was a shame that the heated swimming pool was out of service,undergoing repairs for the whole week..

Room Tip: All rooms in the seafront part of the hotel are poolside .
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank marylene-jersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

700 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    335
    275
    66
    16
    8
See reviews for
90
451
36
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

This hotel along the busy waterfront of Funchal manages to exhude a wonderful 'old world' charm and still have the modern touch. We found the hotel cafe to have friendly and attentive service and enjoyed the atmosphere there. Location is excellent for walking to restaurants, historic sites and enjoying the dreamy views out to sea.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Sharon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed at this Quinta some 10 years ago and you know they say you should never return... The hotel was in need of some TLC and the room we had in the old house would have benefitted from renovation but the gardens were wonderful and breakfast on the terrace each morning was a great start to the day. We had only one evening meal in the hotel which was alright but nothing special however lunches in the old hotel and by poolside were very good.
Staff were friendly and helpful. Although there is a steep hill out of Funchal to the hotel, if you walked by the port and used the lift up from the sea side part of the hotel it was much easier on the knees!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MargaretA998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberystwyth
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

A very conveniently positioned hotel for the "beach" and city center without being too noisy. We stayed before the busy season and throughout our stay preparations were being made to clean up and tidy the hotel. We were promised a room overlooking the gardens, but it was more "under looking" as our room was below the garden terrace, but in fairness we could just about see another part of the gardens if you strained to see out of the window. Our room though quaint could be modernised without ruining the character, e.g. the chrome on the taps was well worn (at least they were clean) Although not disabled there were several guest who were and this hotel is not disabled friendly - too many steps to get to rooms and the restaurant and bar. On the plus side, the staff were very friendly and mostly professional with us. Our one complaint here is that we decided to book a trip and asked a member of reception to phone them as I could not seem to get through. I was then informed of a price for 2 people which we accepted as it seemed reasonable for a 1/2 day tour. however the following day we were told that the price was actually 20 euros more and we had to pay the difference. We would not have gone on the trip at this price but they insisted we pay the full price even though this was not our fault. We felt this was very "underhanded " and an unfair approach to get guest to go on a trip. Their explanation was - the member of staff misheard the price quoted by the company - yeah right!
On another day we were going to sit by the pool only to find a professional photo-shoot taking place with a male model and about 20 teenagers looking on. On asking at reception if the pool was closed no one seemed to know then a member of staff came with me to the pool to inquire what was going on. He was told the owner had given permission but the owner had not informed anyone else. As my partner and I felt uncomfortable sitting by the pool with an "audience" I asked them if they would move as we were paying guests and they were not, the reply was we were free to use the pool but I explained our reluctance, but we would move somewhere else at a price or with some compensation for our inconvenience. The situation was resolved with the photographer and his ensemble moving top the pool in the sister hotel.
The noise and smell from the port when the ferny arrives and leaves was a bit of a disturbance but tolerable and the drains in the road by the pool were a bit smelly but this is no fault of the hotel
Apart from this we had an enjoyable stay, friendly staff good food and cocktails. The clientele was mainly middle age and older, - very few youngsters which added to the quiet surroundings.

Room Tip: Try and get a room in the modern block not the farmhouse, but the farmhouse in closer to the pool a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

We went to Funchal in December 2013. I booked this hotel based on the reviews here on Tripadvisor which was clearly a mistake. The room that we were led to was in a very old building that desperately needed renovating. The bed had worn out covers on it and there was an unpleasant stain on the chair beside it. The dressing table looked very unstable and old fashioned.
We peered into the bathroom and noticed that there was a small door at the back which was actually open! It could easily fit a person through if you crawled. The ceiling was very low. To get into the shower cubicle you would have to step up and also be very slim.
Immediately we requested for an upgrade (not free of course). This room was a lot better but still not 4 star standard.
Generally restaurant service is poor and on one occasion we waited more than 15 mins for a menu and almost got late for our planned tour. The swimming pool is dirty and cold.
Basically every aspect of this hotel is disappointing. Do avoid at all costs. I dont know how some people could say good things about it.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank themostwantedgu... .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East coast
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

We stayed in the sea side portion of the hotel and I agree with another review that said other than that there was nothing to recommend this facility. We arrived early evening after a full day of travel and the taxi dropped at the front door of the hotel. As we pulled our luggage up the stairs at the entrance we could see desk clerk watching us. Upon reaching the front desk he advised us we were at the wrong reception area and we needed to go there to check in. When we ask how far it is and explain that the taxi he has left, he says “yes you can walk,” and reluctantly agrees to escort us there.

My SO and I commented on the behavior, and dismissed it as one poorly behaved employee. Later that night we heard the bartender tell one customer to sit down, “I’ll get to you”. Although the bar was crowded, his tone was unacceptable. The next morning’s customer service was no better as we made inquiries about the availability of wi-fi and things to see in the vicinity. He pointed to some brochures on the table and handed us a map. Gee, thanks!

The room was rather Spartan; I venture to say it felt like a very low-budget motel. The carpet in the corridors is worn and old. We looked into the dining room and decided against eating onsite. Perhaps this would work if you had a large family and kids, but it was one of the least romantic places we've ever stayed. On the positive side, the hotel is walking distance to the center of town and the view from the room was stunning – great sunset, however two nights was more than enough. Beware if you use the laundry service, it was very expensive.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wideeyedandtraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Penha de Franca de Mer and found it a brilliant base for a chilled out week in the sunshine. We booked a sea view so each morning it as a short walk around the pool to have a breakfast overlooking the sea.
Poolside service is good and there are sufficient sun beds to mean that everyone can find their own area, whether they arrive mid morning or late afternoon after a days adventures.
In the evening the main hotel has a friendly bar and has a very pretty terrace restaurant. The menu in the hotel restaurant is relatively constrained so we ate out on all but one evening.
Penha de Franca's charm is a charming hotel in a great location and was extremely good value for money (compared with the other local hotels).

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Juliet Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,718 reviews
1.0 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Pestana Casino Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Quintinha Sao Joao
Quintinha Sao Joao
#9 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,076 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#4 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
0.9 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quinta Da Penha De Franca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta Da Penha De Franca

Property: Quinta Da Penha De Franca
Address: Rua Imperatriz Dona Amelia 85-87, Funchal, Madeira 9000-018, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Quinta Da Penha De Franca 4*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Quinta da Penha de França is situated in the best area of Funchal, with access tp the sea, 76 rooms , beautiful gardens, restaurants and bars. We wish you a very pleasant stay in one of the most traditional Madeira houses. Come visit us.... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotelopia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quinta Da Penha De Franca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quinta Da Penha De Franca Hotel Funchal
Quinta Penha Franca
Quinta Da Penha Franca
Quinta Da Penha De Franca Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing