We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quinta Da Penha De Franca
Ranked #1 of 36 Funchal B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Duncan, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Lovely Visit”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

My wife and I picked this hotel from the others nearby as I reckoned from the reviews that it would suit us best, and it was the right choice. It has a charm the others hotels (even the neighbouring and connected Quita da Penha de Mar) lack. I can't give it 5 stars only because I know that those reading the reviews would expect a 5 star resort to have more facilities. Our room was clean, quiet and decently decorated although the carpets were a bit worn. We paid a brief visit to the neighbouring Quinta's 2 big seaside pools with all the typical resort facilities and then used the smaller pool in our sections garden from then on. It was lovely. Breakfast was great: all we could wish for, although the cooked choices were limited, and I was happy with that. The atmosphere in the large public rooms was lovely and the hotel is the closest of all of the hotels in this area to the centre of Funchal, maybe a 10 or 15 minute stroll, and if you want to avoid the hill on the way back, you can walk to the neighbouring Quita and take the lift up before walking across a small bridge into de Franca. I agree with an earlier review about the charge for a safety deposit box being mean. Oh well...Oh, and the staff, including in the dining area where we had breakfast, were very friendly and efficient. This remains my first choice for a resort style hotel in Funchal- no question.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

751 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    360
    292
    73
    18
    8
See reviews for
95
486
38
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

I had mixed feelings about what to expect as when i read these reviews they went from one extreme to the other. I think the trick is to leave valuable feedback, not petty comments.
As a young/small family we stayed in a room on a small terrace in the old part and loved that our room was oldie-woldie...the bedroom and reception area felt like you were staying at your grandparents house which we liked! (None of this modern furniture each room the same where you could be anywhere!) The bathroom was modern and we had ample space for us.
Staff were so very polite and helpful at all times. Hotel was clean and the gardens beautifully kept...a lovely little oasis amongst the high rise modern hotels. We will be returning for sure!

Room Tip: If you want to enjoy the true ambiance...stay in the "older" part of the Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank J R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northumberland, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

As you may notice we go here a lot. The standard of service is always extremely high. The hotel is dated but l truly believe that you will be hard pushed to receive such service anywhere else. They cannot do anything more for you. There are changes one being they have a new chef who is making great changes with the menu. These look good. One thing at this hotel, when you open your curtains in the morning you know you are in Madeira! The gardens pool etc are kept to a high standard. If you like traditional service etc, this is the place for you.

Room Tip: The new wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Christine28may
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Helier, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We stayed a week in the sea front extension of this hotel. Our room overlooked the pool and the sea and was clean and functional. The main bonus was that it was extremely quiet as it was below road level.
Breakfast was typical continental and certainly would satisfy most people.
For us the location was ideal , 15mns walk to the center of Funchal.
Staff were friendly and helpful.
It was a shame that the heated swimming pool was out of service,undergoing repairs for the whole week..

Room Tip: All rooms in the seafront part of the hotel are poolside .
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank marylene-jersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

This hotel along the busy waterfront of Funchal manages to exhude a wonderful 'old world' charm and still have the modern touch. We found the hotel cafe to have friendly and attentive service and enjoyed the atmosphere there. Location is excellent for walking to restaurants, historic sites and enjoying the dreamy views out to sea.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Sharon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed at this Quinta some 10 years ago and you know they say you should never return... The hotel was in need of some TLC and the room we had in the old house would have benefitted from renovation but the gardens were wonderful and breakfast on the terrace each morning was a great start to the day. We had only one evening meal in the hotel which was alright but nothing special however lunches in the old hotel and by poolside were very good.
Staff were friendly and helpful. Although there is a steep hill out of Funchal to the hotel, if you walked by the port and used the lift up from the sea side part of the hotel it was much easier on the knees!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MargaretA998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberystwyth
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

A very conveniently positioned hotel for the "beach" and city center without being too noisy. We stayed before the busy season and throughout our stay preparations were being made to clean up and tidy the hotel. We were promised a room overlooking the gardens, but it was more "under looking" as our room was below the garden terrace, but in fairness we could just about see another part of the gardens if you strained to see out of the window. Our room though quaint could be modernised without ruining the character, e.g. the chrome on the taps was well worn (at least they were clean) Although not disabled there were several guest who were and this hotel is not disabled friendly - too many steps to get to rooms and the restaurant and bar. On the plus side, the staff were very friendly and mostly professional with us. Our one complaint here is that we decided to book a trip and asked a member of reception to phone them as I could not seem to get through. I was then informed of a price for 2 people which we accepted as it seemed reasonable for a 1/2 day tour. however the following day we were told that the price was actually 20 euros more and we had to pay the difference. We would not have gone on the trip at this price but they insisted we pay the full price even though this was not our fault. We felt this was very "underhanded " and an unfair approach to get guest to go on a trip. Their explanation was - the member of staff misheard the price quoted by the company - yeah right!
On another day we were going to sit by the pool only to find a professional photo-shoot taking place with a male model and about 20 teenagers looking on. On asking at reception if the pool was closed no one seemed to know then a member of staff came with me to the pool to inquire what was going on. He was told the owner had given permission but the owner had not informed anyone else. As my partner and I felt uncomfortable sitting by the pool with an "audience" I asked them if they would move as we were paying guests and they were not, the reply was we were free to use the pool but I explained our reluctance, but we would move somewhere else at a price or with some compensation for our inconvenience. The situation was resolved with the photographer and his ensemble moving top the pool in the sister hotel.
The noise and smell from the port when the ferny arrives and leaves was a bit of a disturbance but tolerable and the drains in the road by the pool were a bit smelly but this is no fault of the hotel
Apart from this we had an enjoyable stay, friendly staff good food and cocktails. The clientele was mainly middle age and older, - very few youngsters which added to the quiet surroundings.

Room Tip: Try and get a room in the modern block not the farmhouse, but the farmhouse in closer to the pool a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#4 of 86 in Funchal
2,887 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pestana Carlton Madeira
Pestana Carlton Madeira
#30 of 86 in Funchal
2,278 reviews
1.0 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Madeira
Hotel Madeira
#26 of 86 in Funchal
484 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pestana Casino Park Hotel
0.5 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#3 of 86 in Funchal
887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quinta Da Penha De Franca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta Da Penha De Franca

Property: Quinta Da Penha De Franca
Address: Rua Imperatriz Dona Amelia 85-87, Funchal, Madeira 9000-018, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Quinta Da Penha De Franca 4*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Quinta da Penha de França is situated in the best area of Funchal, with access tp the sea, 76 rooms , beautiful gardens, restaurants and bars. We wish you a very pleasant stay in one of the most traditional Madeira houses. Come visit us.... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Quinta Da Penha De Franca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quinta Da Penha De Franca Hotel Funchal
Quinta Penha Franca
Quinta Da Penha Franca
Quinta Da Penha De Franca Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing