We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$99
View deal
Priceline
US$99
View deal
Agoda.com
US$85
View deal
Expedia.comUS$90
Hotels.comUS$90
eDreamsUS$99
View all 14 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,033)
Filter reviews
1,033 results
Traveller rating
506
388
98
26
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
506
388
98
26
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews joe's bar sister hotel older part traditional hotel manor house sea front sea view swimming pool charming hotel the ground floor good size cocktail bar building work cold meats nice pool few minutes walk lounge area
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
426 - 431 of 1,033 reviews
Reviewed 11 November 2014

I've been only one night in this hotel while i was waiting for the flight to Milan the following day. We had booked to another hotel (Madeira Bright Star) but due to an overbooking we have been redirected to this hotel.
The hotel is very beautiful and charming. Good position. Very beautiful swimming pool!
I advice the hotel

Date of stay: August 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank judith_83_milano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2014

We had a great one week family vacation thanks to the attractive total picture offered by Quinta Da Penha de França :

- very friendly and helpful staff,
- several buildings in the typical style of the quinta in Portugal in the setting of a subtropical garden with sea view,
- nice restaurant with good quality dishes (not very complex, but good price/quality ratio) with fresh fish or meat, and nice wines.
(Note: we had half board and were very pleased. Folks who are picky when it comes to food may want to go for breakfast only. HB only includes choices between 2 dishes for starters, main, desert. The full menu choice is wider and can be enjoyed when booking breakfast only, but then the price will be higher of course...)
- good breakfast with fresh fruit, bacon & eggs, a variety of bread and cake, diary products, flakes etc...,
- free wifi in lounge, restaurant and bar,
- Rooms are large enough, quiet, with good quality beds and pillows, and with clean and large enough bath rooms.
- 2 swimming pools with salt water of which one in the garden and one at the seaside (to be reached by connecting bridge between Quinta and 2nd part of the hotel (França Mar)),
- direct access from seaside swimming pool to the sea for snorkling/diving,
- diving courses organized in-house,
- on-site parking space. We had a car for the entire week and always had sufficent space for it.
- only a few minutes walk to the harbor where boat trips can be booked, sailing boats and huge cruise ships can be admired, or the sea-side view of Funchal can be enjoyed :-)
- equally close to the lovely old city center with its fortress and churches, narrow car-free streets with cosy shops, bars and restaurants, wide sunny lanes with palm trees, flowers and bands playing a variety of good music.

If we ever return to Madeira, no doubt we will book rooms here again !

Room tip: If you want quick access to the sea, the modern building of França Mar is the better part of the hotel. Folks prefering the quiet of a tropical garden, making it a experience as relaxing as being at the country side even though being in the city centre, should book a room in the Quinta da Penha de França. We had rooms 70/71, but there is not much difference between any of the rooms in the main building.
Date of stay: November 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Paul-Bazel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2014

Lovely staff, good food and service in an excellent location a short walk from the centre of Funchal.

This was a return visit from us after a very enjoyable visit last year, and this year certainly didn't disappoint.

We will certainly be staying at this hotel again next year.

Room tip: Tell,the hotel what you need and they will advise the best accommodation that they have for you.
Date of stay: November 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2014

Visited end of October and really enjoyed the stay. Arrived at the main entrance and then showed to the Mar part of the hotel. This is through the garden across a side road then over a bridge into the lift down to our room. We were in room 102 with a sea view terrace overlooking the pool area and next to the restaurant. Staff were very friendly and room had everything we needed large bathroom ect. Eat in their restaurant first night and it was very good and the staff, we had a good laugh with learning a foreign language. All in all could not fault it.

Room tip: If you stay in the Mar part rooms with 1 are on the ground floor. 2nd floor probably have better views.
Date of stay: October 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2014

Main part is centered on a 150yo sugar planters house. Extensive gardens with cottages and other types of accommodation added, all in the same architecture. Heated FW pool. Rest for breakfast lunch and dinner. The Franca Mar side is modern all with v good rooms and balconies.
SW v large pool and kids pool almost in the sea. Bathing mole with ladder. Rest for breakfast lunch. Dinner Fri/Sat only. both parts are connected by a lift and bridge with a 50mtr uphill walk up a quiet side street which is one way from door to door. This did not cause a problem, and we are anything but fit. 100 yards to Italian/indian/local/ restaurants (10+) and 3 pubs. Staff were v good. Nearest bus stop 4-500yards either up the hill or along the front. 1000yards to the town all on the flat but no shelter from the sun for the first 500.

Room tip: Free wi fi in reception. Room 101 in Franca Mar has no sun or view. The 100 numbered rooms have concrete sides and front at pool level, and tend to be a heat boxes. The rooms on the first and second floors have railing fronts and look down on the pools and sea. The 100 rooms are fronted by poolside bathers umbrellas, over your balcony front wall. All rooms are seaview except one and have sun all day
Date of stay: October 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews