We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Von Trapp family of fados”
Review of Sabor a Fado

Sabor a Fado
Ranked #246 of 638 Restaurants in Funchal
Price range: US$9 - US$29
Cuisines: Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: We are a family that sings Fado do a little of everything cook, serve the table and played instruments and sang fado come visit us we will be open arms for allso if you come to drink consumer pays minimum of 7€.5 per person with a right to drink
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The Von Trapp family of fados”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

The music in this place is simply beautiful. We had at least 7 members of the family sing on our visit and the whole night was magical. The high point was a 16 year old boy whose voice pierced right through one's soul. Unbelievable experience - could've made our holiday worthwhile all on its own.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hekate P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    190
    75
    45
    21
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Devon
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A very special night”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

This restaurant is family run and every member of the family sings or plays a musical instrument. The restaurant is small, (approx. 30 seats) and you sit very close to your neighbour...but it is well worth it. When you come here, you feel as if it is "your restaurant". The family are extremely friendly and gracious and the Fado music is fantastic. We came to the restaurant to celebrate our 40th wedding anniversary and it was the perfect setting for very special memories. It was our favourite evening in Madeira!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RogerDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Fabulous Fado”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Don't visit this restaurant for an especially good meal - it is just adequate - come here for the Fado. Susana Andrade, her family and friends sing the real thing from their hearts and do so to fabulous guitar accompaniment. This will be your best night out in Funchal. Booking essential! And buy Susana's CD before you leave as a memory.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pisocuarto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vantaa, Finland
Level 6 Contributor
77 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“markku/marjukka”
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Real FADO, good food. the best fado in funchal. Remember table reservation. Thank you for good memories for my 50 year day.
See you next time.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Markku21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A must go”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

This place is a great evening out and would advise not to miss on a trip to Funchal. Go for the music, humour and atmosphere. The food is fine at a reasonable cost.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ray k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sabor a Fado also viewed

 
Funchal, Madeira
 

Been to Sabor a Fado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing