We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel needs serious work and maintenance done urgent!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aparthotel Imperatriz
Ranked #55 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Stayed in this aparthotel in Feb. and it was a big desapointment! The place needs to close for refurbishing and lots of other work...,bathrooms are in terrible condition, bathtubs full of rust, room completly outdated, very unconfortable and very depressing! While prices look reasonable, its still too expensive for what they offer. For a litlle more money we could have stayed in a much better place and same good location.
Staff nice and even the main entrance still acceptable, for a simple hotel, but the rooms are ready to be completly demolished. A very unpleasant accommodation and in some way ruined my trip!

Room Tip: There could be rooms with better views but probably will be just as old and runned down.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fornalha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duarte_Sousa, Manager at Aparthotel Imperatriz, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your contribution. At ApartHotel Imperatriz, we really appreciate all the feed back from our guests, as it enable us to continuously striving for more and better.

Let us start but apologizing for not having received our feed back until now. However, we were very sorry to know that we were not able to exceed your expectations generally speaking.

Allow us to say that the ApartHotel was refurbished some years ago, improving our facilities, keeping in mind periodic maintenances in order to preserve and maintain general conditions.

If ​​this remark and observations were made at the time of your stay at the reception, we would have made everything to change you to another room and provide you an enjoyable stay.

Due to this and in order to avoid that "bad taste in your mouth", we hope to have the opportunity to personally welcome you back in the near future and make up for your previous visit.

Kindest regards,

ApartHotel Imperatriz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (160)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

76 - 82 of 160 reviews

Reviewed 24 December 2013

Stayed for a week before Xmas. Just what we wanted. Very clean. Large room big enough for fishing gear as well as usual stuff. Large bathroom with hair dryer and lots of hot water and clean towels. TV had news and English entertainment but we didnot go to watch TV! Xmas decorations amazing. Great atmosphere. Breakfast fine for us - lots of bread ham cheese yoghurt fruit and lashings of coffee. Staff very friendly and helpful. Room was dark as it was at the back of the hotel but the roof terrace was great. Sun all day and just us to enjoy it. Pool was too cold to enjoy but it is December. Would not hesitate to go there again - perhaps for the wonderful fireworks on New Years Eve. Fantastic value for money.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Irene G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duarte_Sousa, Manager at Aparthotel Imperatriz, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Dear TripAdvisor member,

First of all, please accept our kindest regards and our appreciation towards your review.
It's very nice to know our guest's oppinions and sugestions in order to keep getting better.

However, we were very sorry to know that the room didn't exceed your expectations in terms of being dark and at the back of the hotel, however and being in consideration that at this time of year we were fully booked, the occupation didn't allowed us to move you to another lighter room.

In order to avoid that “bad taste in your mouth”, we hope to have the opportunity to personally welcome you back to Imperatriz in the near future and make up for your previous visit.

We are looking forward to welcome you once again and we will certainly do our utmost to continue to meet and preferably exceed your expectations.

Warmest regards,

ApartHotel Imperatriz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

80's hotel needing big renovations!
Good spot in downtown Funchal. You are close to all the turistic places.
If you need to pick the ferry to Porto Santo this is the perfect spot to stay. It's all way down to the harbour (500m).
The rooms are too old and quite basic but clean.
The hotel staff is very very helpful and quite friendly.
The parking lot is dreadful. A complete nightmare in the high season.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PaLSoft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

We have recently been back from Madeira, where we stayed at Imperatriz as part of package holidays. I have been in doubt if it should be a 3 or 4 stars but decided for 4 stars because of value for money. I think the place is hard to beat on that. But there was also some negatives.

So for the positive:
1) value for money
2) location is excellent for those wanting to be near funchal, but not right in the middle of it. 15 mins walk to the centre, 20 min walk to Lido, basically on main bus route to several places of interest. No need to go to the center for eating, plenty of restaurants and bars around.
3) Staff: they were very friendly, polite and very helpful with information. That is worth a lot on a holiday
4) Nice size room, with a little balcony where 2 people could easily sit at a table
5) Very clean, even the balcony furniture was cleaned often as far as we could see
6) V. small kitchen unit. We didn't but if one wanted to save some money, it would be possible to cook simple meals.

On to the negatives
1) Fittings quite worn out, taps that had clearly not been meant for the wash baisins etc. We do not care so much about this, but others might.
2) Noise level. We chose a back room, so it would be quieter, but still there were some street noises waking us up occasionally in the night (animals and people, mostly). Not so bad as to ruin the holidays though!
3) Do NOT buy the breakfast, which is served in the neighbour restaurant. It really was not worth it. Furthermore, we mostly bought it to secure coffee (which did not taste good, had to buy extra expresso on all days), and on three days we were given a packed breakfast the day before instead (with no coffee obviously). To be fair, the restaurant as a restaurant is probably fine judging from number of customers (we were put off and did not try it), but best to avoid the 'inclusive' with the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Leila L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Very good value for money, in a fantastic location near the city centre. The staff are lovely, polite, helpful and welcoming. Its very clean. It may be a little basic but for the price you can't beat it. I would recommend it. Its close to good places to eat and near to the buses. We stayed for 8 days and it was a return visit for us, looking forward to the next time.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sisterjane57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2013 via mobile

Excellent for a budget hotel staff were brilliant there was a bottle of wine left in my room for my birthday thank you all only. Downside is it would be great if there was free wifi Marjorie /tania we stayed 15/22april and wouldn't hesitate on recommending it to others. We will be back in the near future

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank maryziv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2012

I stayed at the Imperatriz from August 2 to August 15th with my husband and twin daughters. The hotel is close to every thing. Places to eat and drink close by. Buses not far away as well. The hotel was very clean. The staff were all awesome from the front reception to the cleaning staff. Duarte and Victor were the best and were always on hand to answer any questions we might have. They were always their with a great smile to great you. My girls (who are 4) enjoyed it every much. I had contacted the resort prior to arriving asking for a quite room away from the restaurants and that is what I got. There is so much more to say so if you have any questions please contact me.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lucycabral2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.4 mi away
Apartamentos Sao Paulo e Alegria
1.1 mi away
Residencial Parque
Residencial Parque
#62 of 88 in Funchal
89 reviews
5.3 mi away
Eira do Serrado Hotel & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Monte Carlo
Hotel Monte Carlo
#65 of 88 in Funchal
237 reviews
0.4 mi away
Residencial Colombo
Residencial Colombo
#85 of 88 in Funchal
95 reviews
0.7 mi away
Dorisol Buganvilia
Dorisol Buganvilia
#73 of 88 in Funchal
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aparthotel Imperatriz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aparthotel Imperatriz

Address: Rua Imperatriz Dona Amelia 72, Funchal, Madeira 9000-018, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Funchal
Price Range: £33 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aparthotel Imperatriz 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aparthotel Imperatriz is a small family-run establishment conveniently situated in the most upmarket district of Funchal, adjacent to the famous Madeira Casino and Congress Centre, close to some of the city's finest restaurants and bars, about 5 minutes walk from Funchal's harbour and CR7 (Cristiano Ronaldo) museum. The hotel has 27 comfortable studios, each with free wireless internet, private bathroom, hair dryer, balcony, kitchenette, mini-bar, cable TV, direct-dial telephone and a safe-deposit box. Facilities include a snack bar, restaurant, games room, business centre, small library, winter garden, freshwater swimming pool with a sun terrace affording breathtaking views over the ocean, private garage, 24-hour reception and a rent-a-car service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Aparthotel Imperatriz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aparthotel Imperatriz Funchal
Aparthotel Imperatriz Hotel Funchal
Aparthotel Imperatriz Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing