We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wonderful place”
Review of Quinta Freitas

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Funchal
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Quinta Freitas
Ranked #24 of 32 Funchal B&B and Inns
wiltshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“wonderful place”
Reviewed 26 October 2012

Quinta Freitas, is a great place to stay if you like to be away from the hub of Funchal. It is a bus ride away from Funchal. Bus ticket for the week is 21 euros on a GIRO card. You can also use this card many times a day hopping on and off buses around the city of Funchal. The Quinta meaning Mansion is full of lovely old antique furniture and chandellieres. The host is an amazing and funny person who is very helpful. We loved restaurants like do forte in the old part of Funchal it is an old Forte. 5 courses including lots of wine from the al a carte menu is 39 euros each. The Londres in Funchal is amazing value, share a meal as the meals are huge 18 euros we paid that was also with a drink. My favorite place in the evenings was Camara da lobos, watch the sun go down from here with a Makito from one of the local bars.

Room Tip: The two rooms at the front of the house are lovely and bright however, in the height of the summer m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nursey007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    3
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
7
2
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
wiltshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2012

What can I say. The only holiday where I did not want to go home. Quinta Freitas is owned by Nelson who is the best host ever. He is very generous with his time, my friend and myself enjoyed every minute in his company. Our room was very clean, big and with very comfortable beds. We sat most evenings on the balcony and watched the sun go down. We did not hire a car as the bus service is extremely good it is also very cheap and always on time. You can buy from one of the many kiosks in Funchal a bus ticket for the week called a Giro ticket this costs about £12 for the week. We went on several excursions where we were picked up at Quinta Freitas. I will definitely stay at quinta freitas again.

Room Tip: front of house
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nursey007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2012

We rented the whole house for 10 days (I think you can also rent only 1 bedroom as a Bed & Breakfast). The house is very nice and spacious, though some parts are a bit dated. It's very close to the expressway, which is convenient to go around the island but a bit noisy. The garden is beautiful. It's better to have a car when you stay there, although there is a bus stop nearby (we never tried it). It's close to Camara de Lobos where you can find a a supermarket and several restaurants.
The best of all is Nelson, the host, who was extraordinary nice and helpful. Ou 4 kids absolutely loved him, and he went out of his way to make our stay enjoyable.
Madeira is a fantastic island, with many things to see on such a small area. You have to try some hikes, even the easy ones are fantastic. 10 days there were not enough, we want to go back.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nathj92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Genova
Level Contributor
88 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2011

The place is very nice, both rooms and garden, a charming atmosphere that reminded us old colonial houses. The owner is very kind and helpful, he made everything to make us feel at home! a very good breakfast completed our stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Enrico M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2011

We stayed at the Quinta for one night with our baby daughter, aged 4 months. The Quinta is very nice, cosy, and the room/ bathroom spoteless clean. The host is extremely welcoming and generous, and would do anything to make you feel at home. He has many stories to tell you: my husband and I enjoyed the conversation, as our main purpose in staying in B&Bs is to get the chance to speak to local people, get their advises on where to go, their opinion on the country, etc...
The breakfast is good and generous , cooked in front of you in the large kitchen.
You definitely need a car if you stay there. The area is not the nicest in Funchal, however the quinta is very conveniently located close to the main highway, allowing you to reach the differnt sites of the island very quickly.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MinUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Funchal
2.8 mi away
Quinta da Fonte
Quinta da Fonte
#22 of 32 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
3.4 mi away
Casa Caseiro
Casa Caseiro
#7 of 32 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
0.9 mi away
Casa do Papagaio
Casa do Papagaio
#6 of 32 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Belvedere Boutique
Belvedere Boutique
#11 of 32 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
2.2 mi away
Quinta Mar & Sol
Quinta Mar & Sol
#2 of 32 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
5.1 mi away
Dazkarizeh 73
Dazkarizeh 73
#1 of 2 in Ribeira Brava
5.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quinta Freitas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta Freitas

Property: Quinta Freitas
Address: Vereda Pico Lombada nr. 1 | Sao Martinho, Funchal, Madeira 9000-668, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Funchal
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Quinta Freitas Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing