We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location”
Review of Hotel Sirius

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Sirius
Ranked #21 of 35 Funchal B&B and Inns
London
Level Contributor
139 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Excellent Location”
Reviewed 31 March 2013

Very good location close to all amenities in central Funchal, this means not having to walk up some very steep hills in this city.
Reasonable size rooms with adequate storage space and balconies kept immaculately clean. The bed was a little hard for my taste and perhaps the room could have benefited from a fridge but these are minor points.
Good sun terrace on the top floor with a comfortable guest lounge ( we had to discover it ourselves they didn't tell us at check in ).
Typical Portugese breakfast, similar fare everyday but plenty of it, what more do you need.
This hotel is very good value for money, well up the 2 star ladder, We would definitely stay here again.

Ate in the attached but separately run restaurant a few times, "dish of the day" was particularly good value, and you can even get 1/2 portions for a smaller appetite

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SJB10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    41
    27
    5
    4
See reviews for
13
38
17
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2013

I stayed 5 nights at Sirius hotel. Although rated 2 stars, it would most definitely deserve at least another star. It is very good value for money; my room was squeaky-clean, spacious and bright, with a lovely balcony. All toiletries provided, hair-drier, phone, cable tv; computer in the lobby for guests (1 euro per hour). the only downside was the very limited choice for breakfast -- but this is really a minor point, considering how little I paid and the already great facilities.

Another great plus is the location. It's very central, in the old town. A large supermarket is at 5 mins on foot and all major bus stops on the avenida do mar and the cable car are at walking distance (about 10 mins).

Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Viola_Br
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2013

This is a simple 2 star hotel. I've just spent a 4 nights there and thought it was great value for money.
There is a restaurant attached but I only took breakfast there. As other reviews point out the breakfast is simple. You help yourself from a selection of orange juice, coffee, bread rolls, cheese, meat and yogurts.

There is a lounge up on the 5th floor that has free wifi, the sofa's and chairs are a little tired, some of them have plywood beneath the cushions because the springs are past it, so it's probably not an area where you're going to want to sit for hours, but to catch up with your emails for free, it's fine. There is also space on the roof with garden furniture, I took a look but the weather wasn't really good enough for sunbathing the week I was there.

The rooms are a decent size, basic but comfortable, they have a TV but no tea,coffee, radio etc. The bathroom was also a decent size, that even had a bidet. The shower was not particularly impressive to look at but the temperature was stable and the water pressure was strong, so functionally it exceeded my initial expectations.

But, the best bit - for me - was the balcony. I was in room 106 - and the balcony was circa 15Sq Metres. With a table and chairs an plenty of space. Looking up, the balconies on the higher floors we much smaller, say 4-5Sq Metres. From the edge of the balcony, I could pickup the free wifi from the lounge on the 5th floor - so that was convenient. This room is at the back of the hotel which backs onto other restaurants and you are in the heart of the town, so there can be some noise. It was Feb and I could keep the door shut, so it wasn't a problem for me. But at the height of summer, with no air conditioning, you may need the door open and it could be a problem for some people, so keep that in mind,.

If you also keep in mind that this is a simple hotel, that is very reasonably priced I think you can have a perfectly pleasant stay here. I did. If you're visiting Madeira and plan to get out each day and do things, then Hotel Sirius is a great base. But if the hotel forms part of your holiday experience and you want to lounge by a pool and have waiters fetch you G&Ts this is not the place for you.

Personally, if the price remains reasonable, I'd be hard pushed justifying ever staying anywhere else. ( I would give 10 stars for value)

Room Tip: 106 - Very large balcony - but looks onto the backs of other buildings, so not a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank StayAwayEr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 November 2012

OK, so the Sirius is not The Ritz BUT.....

It offers:-

1. Clean accommodation (the person who does the rooms does an excellent job EVERY day) AND is as seen in the photo.

2. The bed/mattress/bedding are spotless and was the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in...even better than my mattress at home!

3. The breakfast is reasonable for what you are paying (rolls/cheese/ham/Joghurt/cereal/coffee/jam/juice).

4. The location is good for the city and buses around the island.

5. Staff are friendly/helpful but not invasively so.

Negative (but these are so minor..really!)

1. Coffee at breakfast is dire (coffee/chocory blend)....shame as reasonable coffee is not that expensive in Maderia and its what people remember of breakfast.

2. Bathroom tiles need re-grouting (but as said above are really clean).

3. Rooms at the front suffer a little from street noise as balcony door is on single (not double) glazed.

SO, would I stay here again?..For sure...would I take my partner here for a holiday break?...For sure......A nice little budget hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank e b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LIVERPOOL
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2012

since i last stayed at this hotel in the heart of funchal, the rooms have had a make over slap of paint new curtains curtain poles even a fan in the room the bar and restarant which is part of the hotel but leased out to a local whom provides breakfast for guests then charges the hotel in turn it is in with the price you pay as a punter for bed breakfast, as given his bar and restuarant a coat of paint added a sort of games room in the celler for punters to his bar and even got a happy hour on certain small beers But alas what does matter this person whom provides the breakfast, as overlooked his his role no fruit plenty of bread and cheese plus some form of ham wake up im sure your allowance from the hotel will surfice more than this amigo

Room Tip: speak to the receptionist via phone after booking very very helpfull good staff at the hotel the cle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marvin17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2012 via mobile

Centrally located in Funchal. Very good value. Clean rooms which while a little dated
suited our needs well. The only downside was that our room was at the back of the hotel overlooking a cafe which opened early in the morning with a lot of noise, however this was minor. Would highly recommend to anyone looking a good value centrally located hotel in Funchal city centre.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pob34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
48 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2012

Admit, the rooms were dated. Furniture was dated. But...
1) Excellent and very friendly and helpful staff
2) Good beds
3) Well cleaned rooms
4) Simple but fair breakfast
5) Excellent roof terrace with a great view
6) Good restaurant with fair prices
7) Very centrally located down-town Funchal
Parking was small but very helpful staff to get your car in/out.
I did stay in many budget hotels during holidays but this was definitively the best of the budget hotels I ever stayed in.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AJdB_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel do Carmo
Hotel do Carmo
#31 of 86 in Funchal
417 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Madeira
Hotel Madeira
#26 of 86 in Funchal
467 reviews
0.2 mi away
Albergaria Catedral
Albergaria Catedral
#63 of 86 in Funchal
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Apartamentos Sao Paulo e Alegria
0.8 mi away
Pestana Casino Park Hotel
0.2 mi away
Castanheiro Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sirius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sirius

Property: Hotel Sirius
Address: Rua das Hortas 29 a, Funchal, Madeira 9050-024, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Sirius 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK) and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Sirius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sirius Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing