We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Not as stated”
other travellers have booked this property
Absolutely fantastic,  just for our guest´s use
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Absolutely fantastic,  just for our guest´s use
Enjoying a cool beer by the pool, great ....
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
67 reviews
Absolutely fantastic,  just for our guest´s use
Enjoying a cool beer by the pool, great ....
Jasmim, cozy living room with comfort and taste...
Spacey and tastefully decorated this place....
All you need at Jasmim apartment ...
A whole sight of the place at Jasmim...you will love it...
How nice this small detail at Jasmim bedroom...
You will love to sleep here, so calm and quiet...
Your meals at Jasmim dinning area...smells good....
The place for you to prepare your own meals...
Entrance of Jasmim,  among fruit trees and vine yards...
In front of Jasmim apartment, a nice detail...
Beautiful and typical banana tree by the pool...
Blooming flowers in front of the apartments...
Smells good in this kitchen (Magnolia)
Magnolia´s modern bathroom
After a long day, enjoy your rest in front of the apartments
Fantastic place with a unique view ....from the terrace...
Orchid´s comfortable sitting room for your leisure
Enjoy your meals in this dining place (Orquid) ...
So calm and quiet at Orchid´s bedroom...
The best Orchid´s dreams in this place .....
A global look of the Orchid´s apartment...
Private modern WC inside the apartment Orchid
The private balcony just for the Orchid apartment...
Enjoy the view while having your meals at the Orchid...
Brethtaking view over the city and harbour...
So private and nice staying here...
Uau, fantastic ocean view from your balcony...
What to say about this...??Unique...
You will never get tired of watching this view...
Pitangas and the Orchid´s archades on the top of the house...
Such a traditional entrance from the Quinta Esperança...
The view from the gardens...sea all around...
So nice, what´s this ??
Let me introduce you Lavender apartment...!!
Bright, beautiful, comfortable, what else??
A single bed that can turn into a double one...
Soft colors makes your rest even deeper...
Uau, it is looking gorgeous...
What to say, absolutely gorgeous...
Details and ...
Details...
Hummmm....
Missing words...
Everything matches here....
Brightness everywhere...
So nice and colorful...
Simple but comfortable sitting room...
Another nice details...
Sitting room and kitchen, all you need is here...
Totally equipped kitchen for your meals...
The door connecting directly to the gardens...
Very well organized this Lavender apartment...
So nice...
Lavender´s bathroom..
Another detail from there...
Outside Lavender´s apartment for your meals and rest...
A tipical details from Madeira houses...banana tree..
The main entrance of the mannor house...
There it is, so nice this area outside ...
The whole house, with Lavender on the ground floor and the Orchid apartment on the top floor...
The Quinta seen from outside and the main gate
Lavender apartment prepared with a double bed
Airy and bright apartment with double bed
The outside area private to Lavender apartment
Great view from Lavender apartment
So nice this exterior area....
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Funchal, Madeira, Madeira Islands

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 67 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Ellesmere...
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not as stated”
Reviewed 3 June 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Lovely spacious apartment with terrific views. But to get views you have to climb! There are 40 steps up an outside fire escape to get to Orchid apartment., which is advertised as "up some steps". Roberto was most helpful and I think a little concerned when he saw my husbands age and frailty but the fact remained that it was a tough climb. Also much further out of town than stated, ten minutes on the bus. No welcome parcel so straight out to the small supermarket, not very close, then the big supermarket in town, taxi back with every item including toilet rolls then hoick them up the fire escape.
Health and safety wise I do t think a fire escape passes.muster as the only access! I'm not anal about h and s but I was worried.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suzsheff
sheffield
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Relaxing base to explore Madeira”
Reviewed 29 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We finally arrived after having been dropped off by Easy Jet at Porto Santo (lovely beaches) and were welcomed by Robeto. We stayed in the Orchid as we wanted to have a private balcony and the accommodation was spectacular. Beautifully fiurnished, well equipped, fab shower and the massive bed was very comfortable and always we enjoyed a good nights sleep.

The pool and outside areas were immaculate and we enjoyed lazy afternoons, reading and enjoying a swim.

The bakery nearby is indeed fantastic and so cheap. A bus passes by and you can also catch other buses on the road leading to the bakery. A taxi into Funchal is about 5 euro.

As others have said the only downside is the barking dogs but as soon as it gets hot in the daytime they go to sleep and never were a problem at night.

Helena had arranged transport to/from the airport with Mr Alves and even when we had to make an unexpected arrival at the ferry port Mr Alves was there to collect us. If you need a taxi while at the apartment just give him a ring and he'll be there in 5 minutes.

We loved our stay and plan to return during 2016!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location with a lovely view of Funchal
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimForTra...
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A special place”
Reviewed 11 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

I enjoyed a special week long stay in the Rose apartment at Quinta Esperanca. The attractive apartment was immaculately presented and the Quinta building and gardens quite magnificent! A truly beautiful and peaceful place with a well maintained pool, colourful exotic scented gardens and a chorus of birdsong.

In the mornings we visited the best bakery in Funchal 2 streets away for the best coffee and cakes. In the evening we barbecued fresh fish from Funchal market and relaxed on the elevated veranda with wine to watch the sun go down over the harbour.

Downsides? Very few. You *can* walk into Funchal but realistically you won't do this more than once due to the hills. There's a bus service nearby but I recommend a hire car to get the most out of your stay in Funchal and enjoy the rest of Madeira. The roads are steep and narrow and some of the driving "enthusiastic" but if you can live with this then you will reap the rewards. There are modern and relatively cheap car parks in Funchal and safe on-street parking across the road from the Quinta is plentiful.

Helena and Roberto were brilliant caring hosts and most concerned to ensure all guests had a rejuvenating stay. We will return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Being surrounded by beauty
Liked least: Very hard to think of anything
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andypanda...
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just Perfect”
Reviewed 29 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

When we arrived at the Lavender Apartment for our stay we were very happy to find that it exceeded all our expectations. The room was beautifully decorated and while it was only a studio it contained everything you could need to ensure you had an enjoyable holiday.

We loved the terrace outside our room and were happy that we could find sunshine at any time during the day but when the sun got too hot there was always shade to be found in the garden. We enjoyed lying by and swimming in the pool to cool us off. We liked that the pool area was not overlooked and as there are only 5 apartments in the Quinta and it was never very busy.

We were only sorry that we were only staying for 3 nights and wished that we had booked for longer but we are making plans to return again next year. We were particularly pleased at how welcome we were made to feel by the owners and can’t wait to enjoy their hospitality again next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Tranquility and peace
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Oct 2014
Dear friends,
We are so honored with your kind words.
Thank you so much for all your kindness and detailed description about our place.
We are really happy that next year you may join us again at Quinta Esperança, can´t wait to see you again and show you all our improvements at the Quinta.
Wish you both the very best and
see you soon!!
Helena and Roberto.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Reviewed 14 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
16 Oct 2014
Dear Rebecca,
Thank you for all you kind words and good description about our place.
Sincerely hope your "come back day" will be really soon and meanwhile wish you all the best.
From your friends in MAdeira,
Helena and Roberto.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Cleo02
scotland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Highly recommend”
Reviewed 24 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Had a lovely relaxing week in the Lavender apartment. Everything you could ask for and total peace and quiet (well except for the dogs.... Madeira has a lot of them!)

The owners were very helpful and they have done a great job restoring this fabulous old building which is full of character. Situated in a nice residential area but within easy walking distance to some very good restaurants. Would highly recommend.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Sep 2014
Thank you so much for these kind words...
Was great having you at the Quinta and hope to welcome you agai in the future.
All the best for you two,
Helena and Roberto.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graham K
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“New world charm in 'old town' Funchal”
Reviewed 15 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Orchid is one of Quinta Esperanca's
five apartments that all offer individual accommodation, themed furnishings and a trademark picture postcard view over Funchal harbour.

Of the five, Orchid probably has the most traditional, mature feel. Dark wood. Chandelier lighting. A fashionably retro fabric screen dividing the bed area from the circular dining table, glass display cabinet and writing desk.

It's just one of the themes that the owners - Helena and Roberto - have created as their labour of love continues to restore, refurbish and reinvent this 1930's building. It looks out over Funchal old town's resurgence as an antidote to the flashy hotel complexes and designer retainers out west beyond the harbour.

And Orchid is the quinta's only apartment to have its own private balcony - separated from the beautiful communal balcony by a pair of latched louvre doors.

That's why we chose it. And yes, in my most antisocial 'breakfast' moments, it gave me the same magnificent view without the risk of having to meet or talk to anyone. I need moments like that ... my wife is far better and chattier in the mornings.

But did the offer of total privacy stop us from taking our dinner through to the communal balcony? Oh no! We made good use of both.

They gave us the chance to watch the skies darken and the town lights flicker on over bottles of wine with meat, cheese and sweet cakes from the local shops.

From there you can watch the world go by - or Funchal at any rate. See the Porto Santo ferry pull out in the morning as the church bells ring out, the streets warm up, and the fresh croissants go down.

Look down and you will see the quinta's mango, banana, citrus fruit trees trees and the bougainvillea arbour that screen the swimming pool in the beautifully manicured gardens.

And if you're not hooked by then, maybe you never will be.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing