We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to try sushi”
Review of Shu.aka

Shu.aka
Reserve with
Shu.aka is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #171 of 628 Restaurants in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$14 - US$43
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Aalborg, Denmark
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Perfect place to try sushi”
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Me and my boyfriend have just visited Shu.aka lovely sushi restaurant placed in the middle of Funchal. We truly have experienced a great atmosphere with cozy design and delicious food. The personnel was extremely friendly and we have really enjoyed our lunch there. I would definitely recommend this place to everyone visiting Funchal !

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elesku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    170
    52
    13
    12
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxfordshire, England
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic Japanese food”
Reviewed 7 January 2014 via mobile

We ate here twice - dinner and returned for a lunch. What a find. I can only echo what others have said. Beautifully inventive and delicious food. It is worth booking. First floor is great for a couple. Ask for a table near the window - away from the draft in the stairwell.. Cannot fault this. Great experience and we will definitely go back the next time we visit Madeira. Highly recommended.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank davidlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Funchal, Portugal
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Best japanese restaurant in Funchal”
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Very innovative and delicious japanese food. We loved the blend of japanese cooking techniques and local produce ingredients. Is is highly recommended to make a reservation. For couples the first floor tables are fantastic. Wine list is short although good matching offer. Excellent service and very friendly staff.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank G5P5S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing food”
Reviewed 15 November 2013 via mobile

The sushi at shu.aka is one of the top 3 sushiplaces i have been.

The food was fantastic, the service was good, but if they could tell what they served it will have a michelin recomadation.

Location is perfect and price is verry cheap.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Danielbergen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Absolutely amazing experience!!”
Reviewed 10 October 2013 via mobile

We phoned for a reservation on recommendation. We couldn't have imagined how good it would be!

We ate at 2030 on a Wednesday and there were only a couple of covers... So there was absolutely no issues with the service.... But all the staff were really friendly and attentive.

I was expecting to maybe be a bit hungry but can honestly say that we had the most amazing meal with several delicious courses, all different and beautifully presented( as a reasonably priced set meal). What made the evening was the fantastic chef who explained everything about the food and preparation.

We are reasonably experienced sushi eaters and would recommend that anyone new to sushi should eat some before coming to this restaurant to appreciate just how good it is. The squid and fusion dish is some of the best food that we've ever tasted.

We will definitely eat here again next year.

Andy & Nikki (UK)

Helpful?
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shu.aka also viewed

Funchal, Madeira
 
Funchal, Madeira
Funchal, Madeira
 

Been to Shu.aka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing