We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel we've ever stayed in - it made up for cloudy weather!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Ranked #4 of 86 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Nr. York, UK
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Best hotel we've ever stayed in - it made up for cloudy weather!”
Reviewed 2 May 2011

My husband and I have just returned from a week at the Cliff Bay. It was absolutely wonderful and already we hope to return next Easter with our best friends.We were lucky too in that our stay coincided with the hotel's Michelin-star food festival, so we were able to go to several brilliant demonstrations by various chefs, and enjoy wine and Madeira-tasting.
In particular we would like to say how efficient and welcoming the staff were from chambermaid to General Manager. The chefs must be working incredibly hard round the clock, but Benoit and his team were unfailingly friendly and fascinating!
Thank you to all who work at the Cliff Bay!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BinksyNr_York_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanRingertz, General Manager at Hotel The Cliff Bay, responded to this review, 22 May 2011
Thank you for sharing your feedback at Tripadvisor. I am delighted to learn that you enjoyed your recent holiday with us. We do our very best for our guests to have enjoyable stays.
We very much look forward to welcome you back in a near future.

With kindest regards,

Jan E. Ringertz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,857 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,454
    316
    71
    10
    6
See reviews for
331
2,132
82
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,074)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2011

I don't have much experience of five star hotels and have never paid so much money for a week's holiday but it did feel worth it. The Cliff Bay's location is good; amongst the restaurants and shops of the hotel zone and close to the lido but also just a pleasant 15-20 minute walk from town. Get a room with a sea view facing Funchal and I'd also argue it has the best views, with Reid's and the bluff it sits on handily blocking out a couple of big ugly buildings you can see from that hotel's terrace.

Our room was big, tastefully furnished and decorated in a fairly classical style, with sliding doors opening onto a balcony. The bathroom was fab -- roomy with lots of tiles and marble. We had everything we needed in the room, but the bed should have been better. It was massive, but essentially two small doubles/large singles pushed together. It looked good but most nights one of us would wake up sinking into the groove between the two or irritated by the additional foamy mattress topper. And it's a long way to the snooze button on the bedside table if you find yourself on the opposite side of the bed! The air con console was also a bit dated and the system a little noisy.

The facilities at the hotel we used were great, with a reasonably sized indoor to outdoor freshwater pool along with jacuzzi, loungers and bar at cliff top level and a bigger salt water pool a lift ride down to sea level. There's also good sea access via swimming pool style steps off a concrete jetty. The hotel's spa was high quality; we loved the paid for treatments and the free access areas like sauna, steam room and relaxation rooms. The gym is small but we had pretty much free run of it when we went there. We would also have joined one of the free lessons the hotel offered - like an introduction to scuba diving or beginner's Portuguese - if we'd had the time.

There was a massive selection of just about anything you could want for the buffet breakfasts, most of it of a good standard. The lunch we ate at the hotel's main bar was also good and there was always some kind of entertainment there in the evenings (targeted at a more mature audience!). We had one meal in the Michelin starred restaurant, which wasn't cheap, but some of the dishes were excellent, they were all beautifully presented and the service was faultless. Having said that, the decor there wasn't very inspired and they played some awful muzak!

The staff at the hotel were all very friendly and helpful and the place looks immaculate. As honeymooners we got a room upgrade from partial to full sea view and a basket of fruit and some sparkling wine in the room shortly after we arrived. Understandably, given the nature of tourism in Madeira, the Cliff Bay feels geared towards a slightly older clientele (with plenty to appeal to families too), but all in all we had a very enjoyable honeymoon week there.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank mrwanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanRingertz, General Manager at Hotel The Cliff Bay, responded to this review, 15 May 2011
Thank you for your complete feedback regarding your recent holidays. I am pleased to learn that you enjoyed your holidays with us. We very much look forward to welcome you back in a near future. Madeira has many different seasons which all have its own characteristics.

With kindest regards,

Jan E. Ringertz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2011

This is a lovely hotel for a relaxing holiday. We felt spoiled from the moment of our arrival to being helped into our taxi on departure. The rooms are spacious (ours with a lovely view over to Funchal), the gardens, pools and all other facilities immaculate, and the food in the restaurant (Rose Garden buffet restaurant) is delicious. The staff are amazingly friendly and really make an effort to welcome you and look after your needs. My only reservation was the noise from the room(s) above us which woke me early on a couple of days. My teenage daughter was initially apprehensive at the lack of people of her own age (there were a few, but the average age of guests must have been at least 60). However, she was completely charmed by the place and, for a week at least, quite happy swimming, reading and using the gym, with occasional sight-seeing. We would definitely return for a similarly relaxing (albeit not cheap) holiday.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Totravelis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanRingertz, General Manager at Hotel The Cliff Bay, responded to this review, 15 May 2011
Thank you for your feedback. I am pleased to learn that we managed to correspond to your expectations. I personally enjoy very much our Rose Garden restaurant. I am sorry to hear that you had disturbance from a fellow guest. This is not very common to happen. It was nice to hear that your daughter also had a pleasant holiday and we hope to be able to welcome you back in a near future.

With kindest regards,

Jan E. Ringertz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2011

Went for a relaxing holiday. Hotel was excellent. Clean, comfortable, well-appointed. Lots of outdoor space and plenty of seating. Staff polite and friendly. The only disappointment was the Michelin-starred restaurant, so won't go there again. Will certainly return to this hotel which is far nicer than its near-neighbour, the famous Reid's Palace Hotel, where we had tea.

Room Tip: Get a room with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank florajacobs01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanRingertz, General Manager at Hotel The Cliff Bay, responded to this review, 15 May 2011
Thank you for your feedback. I am pleased to learn that you enjoyed your recent holiday at our hotel. I very much look forward to welcome you back for another memorable stay in Madeira.

With kindest regards,

Jan E. Ringertz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2011

Just returned with my wife from The Cliff Bay after spending a week at this fantastic hotel. The service was exceptional, the amenities were fabulous and we will definitely return in the future. It was worth spending a little extra for a full sea view room although the side facing rooms still gave a good view. Only down side was a 20 minute walk into Funchal, but this was a minor issue. Taxis are easily available and the walk, if you choose to is pleasant. Lots of good restaurants in easy reach. Real luxury, really recommend it.

Room Tip: Full sea view or side sea/garden view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Richard190459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanRingertz, General Manager at Hotel The Cliff Bay, responded to this review, 15 May 2011
Thank you for your feedback. I am pleased that you felt that it was worth to get the full sea view. These are some of the best rooms of the hotel. I very much look forward to welcome you back to Madeira and The Cliff Bay.

With kindest regards,

Jan E. Ringertz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2011

Friendly, spotlessly clean hotel set in beautiful gardens. I think this possibly had the most comfortable bed I have ever had in a hotel. We only booked a room and breakfast as we like to try the local restaurants, but the hotel menus did look good! Most mornings we were able to enjoy breakfast sitting outside in the garden overlooking the sea - a great start to the day. We had a good sea view from our room and were able to watch cruise liners arrive at the port. At night we could see the lights glittering on the ships and in Funchal town. The hotel provide a towelling bathrobe which is handy for going to/from the swimming pools. We often walked to Funchal town centre (about 20mins) but did use the local bus a couple of times - bus stops are quite close to the hotel. I celebrated my birthday during my stay and was surprised to arrive back after a day out to find the hotel had placed a birthday cake and card in my room - thank you Cliff Bay!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank karenphil2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanRingertz, General Manager at Hotel The Cliff Bay, responded to this review, 15 May 2011
Thank you for your feedback. Sleeping is actually a very important part of your holidays so we give extra attention to details of our beds. I am pleased to learn that you enjoyed our facilities and services and I hope that we managed to make your birthday a special one. I very much look forward to welcome you back in a near future.

With kindest regards,

Jan E. Ringertz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2011

Just returned from the fabulous Cliff Bay, our first time to Madeira, but, definitely not our last. We fell in love with the hotel and the island. The Cliff Bay certainly deserves it's 5* rating - awesome views, lovely rooms, superb facilities and friendly and very helpful staff. We were very lucky and had super weather all week. Can highly recommend Restaurant Tokos (just turn left outside the hotel) super little restaurant, excellent food and highly entertaining banter from the owner/chef and his staff. Lots of good places to eat in Funchal, and everywhere the Maderian people are so friendly and have a wicked sense of humour. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tomlinson_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanRingertz, General Manager at Hotel The Cliff Bay, responded to this review, 15 May 2011
Thank you for your kind feedback. I am delighted to learn that you enjoyed your recent holidays at our hotel and that we managed to correspond to your expectations. Madeira is such a beautiful island with very friendly people. I very much look forward to welcome you back in a near future.

With kindest regards,

Jan E. Ringertz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
1.3 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
0.5 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#3 of 86 in Funchal
874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Porto Mare Hotel
Porto Mare Hotel
#7 of 86 in Funchal
2,038 reviews
0.1 mi away
VidaMar Resort Hotel Madeira
0.3 mi away
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
#6 of 86 in Funchal
1,364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel The Cliff Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel The Cliff Bay

Property: Hotel The Cliff Bay
Address: Estrada Monumental, 147, Funchal, Madeira 9004-532, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Funchal
#2 Family Hotel in Funchal
#2 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#3 Business Hotel in Funchal
#4 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#4 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel The Cliff Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Atlantic Ocean stretches as far as the eye can see at the foot of The Cliff Bay which is perched on the top of a natural promontory. The hotel is surrounded by gardens with innumerable secluded corners and centenary palm trees extending to the very edge of the cliff face. The panorama is completed by a magnificent view over the bay of Funchal to the left of the hotel.The most influential restaurant guide in the world, the Michelin Guide, has awarded a star to Il Gallo d'Oro, The Cliff Bay's gourmet restaurant run by Chef Benoît Sinthon. This is Madeira's first and only star ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Priceline, TravelUp, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel The Cliff Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cliff Bay - Porto Bay Hotel Funchal
Cliff Bay Porto Funchal
Cliff Bay Hotel Funchal
Cliff Bay Hotel Madeira
Hotel The Cliff Bay Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing