We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best place, the best people”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Ranked #3 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 May 2011

The Cliff Bay is beautiful, very well maintained, has fantastic views of Funchal and the ocean (especially top floors), and the perfect combination of swimming pools, steam sauna, SPA and different restaurants and bars.
We have very high expectations for 5-star resorts, and are often disappointed, but we can tell you that the great reviews for Cliff Bay are not an exaggeration.
What new can we add?
Book a table at the Il Gallo D’Oro restaurant (Michelin star, Benoît Sinthon – the executive chef, Yves Michoux – the pastry chef). It worth it! If you check the site of the hotel you can find some information on special event, as Rota das Estrelas (The Star Route) – when chefs from different Michelin star restaurants all over the Europe come to the Il Gallo D’Oro restaurant and show really fantastic degustation menu. During our visit we had such experience, and we’ll never forget it.
Visit the site www.danielmadeirataxis.com and plan your transfers, trips and excursions in advance with the most friendly and high professional people – the Daniel Freitas family. The quality is perfect – the prices are low! You’ll see Madeira not from typical tourist viewpoint, but together with the people who do love their island and know it perfectly well (levadas, peaks, canyons, nice local restaurants and so on). We’ve known Daniel for several years and would be happy to have him our guide over and over again!

Room Tip: top floor Fuchal view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank everlastingtrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanRingertz, General Manager at Hotel The Cliff Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2011

Thank you for your feedback. It is nice to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us, the hotel and its facilities. The star’s Route was a great success this year with very positive feedback and a possibility to try exciting high quality cuisine.
Looking forward to welcome you back in a near future.

With kindest regards,
Jan E. Ringertz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,972)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,090 - 2,096 of 2,972 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2011

Just got back from a 5 night break at the Cliff Bay and once more the hotel was outstanding. As ever, the staff can't do enough for you and we felt more like friends returning than simply paying guests. When I booked the break I asked for a specific room as we like to view from the roo in question. Althoigh we understand that this sotrt of rquest takes some planning (by the hotel) we got exactly what we asked for. The treatments in the Spa were excellent (so my wofe says) and the food and service were fantastic as always. This time we had some rain on the trip so could not do all we wanted to - shame as we just found another excuse to go back again next spring. :-)

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GTSSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanRingertz, General Manager at Hotel The Cliff Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2011

Thank you for sharing your feedback at Tripadvisor. I am pleased to hear that we managed to correspond to your expectations and that you enjoyed our staff and the service.
Hoping to welcome you back in a near future.

With kindest regards,

Jan E. Ringertz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2011

My husband and I have just returned from a week at the Cliff Bay. It was absolutely wonderful and already we hope to return next Easter with our best friends.We were lucky too in that our stay coincided with the hotel's Michelin-star food festival, so we were able to go to several brilliant demonstrations by various chefs, and enjoy wine and Madeira-tasting.
In particular we would like to say how efficient and welcoming the staff were from chambermaid to General Manager. The chefs must be working incredibly hard round the clock, but Benoit and his team were unfailingly friendly and fascinating!
Thank you to all who work at the Cliff Bay!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BinksyNr_York_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanRingertz, General Manager at Hotel The Cliff Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2011

Thank you for sharing your feedback at Tripadvisor. I am delighted to learn that you enjoyed your recent holiday with us. We do our very best for our guests to have enjoyable stays.
We very much look forward to welcome you back in a near future.

With kindest regards,

Jan E. Ringertz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2011

I don't have much experience of five star hotels and have never paid so much money for a week's holiday but it did feel worth it. The Cliff Bay's location is good; amongst the restaurants and shops of the hotel zone and close to the lido but also just a pleasant 15-20 minute walk from town. Get a room with a sea view facing Funchal and I'd also argue it has the best views, with Reid's and the bluff it sits on handily blocking out a couple of big ugly buildings you can see from that hotel's terrace.

Our room was big, tastefully furnished and decorated in a fairly classical style, with sliding doors opening onto a balcony. The bathroom was fab -- roomy with lots of tiles and marble. We had everything we needed in the room, but the bed should have been better. It was massive, but essentially two small doubles/large singles pushed together. It looked good but most nights one of us would wake up sinking into the groove between the two or irritated by the additional foamy mattress topper. And it's a long way to the snooze button on the bedside table if you find yourself on the opposite side of the bed! The air con console was also a bit dated and the system a little noisy.

The facilities at the hotel we used were great, with a reasonably sized indoor to outdoor freshwater pool along with jacuzzi, loungers and bar at cliff top level and a bigger salt water pool a lift ride down to sea level. There's also good sea access via swimming pool style steps off a concrete jetty. The hotel's spa was high quality; we loved the paid for treatments and the free access areas like sauna, steam room and relaxation rooms. The gym is small but we had pretty much free run of it when we went there. We would also have joined one of the free lessons the hotel offered - like an introduction to scuba diving or beginner's Portuguese - if we'd had the time.

There was a massive selection of just about anything you could want for the buffet breakfasts, most of it of a good standard. The lunch we ate at the hotel's main bar was also good and there was always some kind of entertainment there in the evenings (targeted at a more mature audience!). We had one meal in the Michelin starred restaurant, which wasn't cheap, but some of the dishes were excellent, they were all beautifully presented and the service was faultless. Having said that, the decor there wasn't very inspired and they played some awful muzak!

The staff at the hotel were all very friendly and helpful and the place looks immaculate. As honeymooners we got a room upgrade from partial to full sea view and a basket of fruit and some sparkling wine in the room shortly after we arrived. Understandably, given the nature of tourism in Madeira, the Cliff Bay feels geared towards a slightly older clientele (with plenty to appeal to families too), but all in all we had a very enjoyable honeymoon week there.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank mrwanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanRingertz, General Manager at Hotel The Cliff Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2011

Thank you for your complete feedback regarding your recent holidays. I am pleased to learn that you enjoyed your holidays with us. We very much look forward to welcome you back in a near future. Madeira has many different seasons which all have its own characteristics.

With kindest regards,

Jan E. Ringertz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2011

This is a lovely hotel for a relaxing holiday. We felt spoiled from the moment of our arrival to being helped into our taxi on departure. The rooms are spacious (ours with a lovely view over to Funchal), the gardens, pools and all other facilities immaculate, and the food in the restaurant (Rose Garden buffet restaurant) is delicious. The staff are amazingly friendly and really make an effort to welcome you and look after your needs. My only reservation was the noise from the room(s) above us which woke me early on a couple of days. My teenage daughter was initially apprehensive at the lack of people of her own age (there were a few, but the average age of guests must have been at least 60). However, she was completely charmed by the place and, for a week at least, quite happy swimming, reading and using the gym, with occasional sight-seeing. We would definitely return for a similarly relaxing (albeit not cheap) holiday.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Totravelis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanRingertz, General Manager at Hotel The Cliff Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2011

Thank you for your feedback. I am pleased to learn that we managed to correspond to your expectations. I personally enjoy very much our Rose Garden restaurant. I am sorry to hear that you had disturbance from a fellow guest. This is not very common to happen. It was nice to hear that your daughter also had a pleasant holiday and we hope to be able to welcome you back in a near future.

With kindest regards,

Jan E. Ringertz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2011

Went for a relaxing holiday. Hotel was excellent. Clean, comfortable, well-appointed. Lots of outdoor space and plenty of seating. Staff polite and friendly. The only disappointment was the Michelin-starred restaurant, so won't go there again. Will certainly return to this hotel which is far nicer than its near-neighbour, the famous Reid's Palace Hotel, where we had tea.

Room Tip: Get a room with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank florajacobs01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanRingertz, General Manager at Hotel The Cliff Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2011

Thank you for your feedback. I am pleased to learn that you enjoyed your recent holiday at our hotel. I very much look forward to welcome you back for another memorable stay in Madeira.

With kindest regards,

Jan E. Ringertz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2011

Just returned with my wife from The Cliff Bay after spending a week at this fantastic hotel. The service was exceptional, the amenities were fabulous and we will definitely return in the future. It was worth spending a little extra for a full sea view room although the side facing rooms still gave a good view. Only down side was a 20 minute walk into Funchal, but this was a minor issue. Taxis are easily available and the walk, if you choose to is pleasant. Lots of good restaurants in easy reach. Real luxury, really recommend it.

Room Tip: Full sea view or side sea/garden view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Richard190459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanRingertz, General Manager at Hotel The Cliff Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2011

Thank you for your feedback. I am pleased that you felt that it was worth to get the full sea view. These are some of the best rooms of the hotel. I very much look forward to welcome you back to Madeira and The Cliff Bay.

With kindest regards,

Jan E. Ringertz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
1.3 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
0.5 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#2 of 88 in Funchal
920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
VidaMar Resort Hotel Madeira
0.4 mi away
Porto Mare Hotel
Porto Mare Hotel
#8 of 88 in Funchal
2,132 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Residence
The Residence
#6 of 88 in Funchal
847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel The Cliff Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel The Cliff Bay

Address: Estrada Monumental, 147, Funchal, Madeira 9004-532, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Funchal
#2 Family Hotel in Funchal
#2 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#3 Business Hotel in Funchal
#3 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#4 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range: £140 - £279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel The Cliff Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Atlantic Ocean stretches as far as the eye can see at the foot of The Cliff Bay which is perched on the top of a natural promontory. The hotel is surrounded by gardens with innumerable secluded corners and centenary palm trees extending to the very edge of the cliff face. The panorama is completed by a magnificent view over the bay of Funchal to the left of the hotel.The most influential restaurant guide in the world, the Michelin Guide, has awarded a star to Il Gallo d'Oro, The Cliff Bay's gourmet restaurant run by Chef Benoît Sinthon. This is Madeira's first and only star ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel The Cliff Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cliff Bay - Porto Bay Hotel Funchal
Cliff Bay Porto Funchal
Cliff Bay Hotel Funchal
Cliff Bay Hotel Madeira
Hotel The Cliff Bay Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing