We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Second visit just as good as the first.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Ranked #3 of 87 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
242 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
“Second visit just as good as the first.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2011

We did wonder if we had been a bit hasty in booking a trip back to the Cliff Bay so soon but we needn't have worried as it was fabulous. Last time we had a sea view room on the 6th floor and this time we had a sea view room on 3rd floor and they were both excellent and overlooked Funchal and the view is just stunning. The rooms are large, clean and fresh with large balconies and good sized bathrooms. There are tea and coffee making facilities in the room. All the things that are important to make a comfortable holiday have been thought of such as plenty of wooden coat hangers, dressing gowns, slippers, mending kits, toiletries and one thing I really love is the fact that the mirror in the bathroom demists quickly after a shower, along with a good make up/shaving mirror.

This a good hotel with excellent facilities supported by staff that are professional but unobtrusive it is an elegant and relaxing hotel. The reception staff are exceptionally good they are helpful, knowledgeable and friendly. Also the girls on the Spa reception are lovely they always smile as you pass and are friendly when they hand out the pool towels. I had an excellent facial and can recommend the spa. There are usually three daily special offers for treatments. The Espa products are lovely.

We always enjoyed breakfast and the variety of food on offer was very good. This time in particular there was a great variety of fresh fruit including strawberries and fresh pineapple. There are the usual cereals, great selection of bread and rolls and jam along with cheeses, meat, salmon etc and also a good selection of hot food.

We were booked for bed and breakfast but ate in the Rose Garden in the evening five times during our fourteen night stay with the special food and wine packages that they offer. Again there is a good selection of food.

We often had a drink in Le Cliff Bar after our meal and found the entertainment generally good. We particularly liked the strolling Saxophone player.

The pools are very good they have one at ground level which is part indoor and part outdoor, there is also a jacuzzi at this level. Plenty of sunbeds with good views. Then there is a large pool down at sea level with even more sunbeds. The pool staff are very helpful with beds and umbrellas, particularly the young girl she cannot do enough for you.

This is an excellent hotel and we had a thoroughly enjoyable holiday and will be back in the near future. We are missing the view already.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TwigsOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,719 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,342
    295
    66
    10
    6
See reviews for
318
2,019
80
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,018)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wales
Level Contributor
46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2011

We stayed at this hotel in July 2011. The hotel is very nice, in good surroundings with excellent views over the bay. We found the whole hotel to be very clean. The sea view room that we were provided was exceptional. The pool staff were also very pleasant. However, as this is a 5 star hotel we were surprised to note that complimentary mineral water is not provided in the room as a matter of course. This is now commonplace in most 5 star hotels throughout the world. After a delayed arrival at the hotel the last thing you want to do is find a shop to purchase water, unless pay the extortionate mini bar prices for a very small bottle. Another concern was the quality of the food at breakfast, more so that the bacon, fried eggs and beans were luke warm to cold on each day of our holiday. The turins that these items of food were kept in obviously did not keep the food sufficiently warm, not really acceptable in a 5 star hotel. The Rose Garden eating area also felt like any other hotel eatery area, and certainly was not luxurious. Apart from one female member of staff who only asked my wife if coffee or tea was required( totally ignoring me) the staff were very good.

Another frustrating point was the daily "reserving" of sun loungers with towels and books at the ground floor level pool area. Staff did not appear to deal with this poor practice during the whole week.

That said, the hotel is very nice, clean, peaceful with outstanding views. Generally the staff are attentive.

We enjoyed our holiday.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RAMCYMRU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2011

This hotel ticks all the boxes - excellent location, fabulous setting, comfortable luxurious rooms, attentive staff, delightful food ............... the list goes on. Discovered this jewel last year and decided to return again this year. Everything was just as good as the memories. Another fantastic holiday.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ladypurley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2011

Just returned from 2 weeks at the Cliff Bay. It was our first trip to Madeira and i picked the Cliff Bay after reading the TA reviews. I can only agree with all the rave reviews that this hotel gets. From start to end we were made to feel so welcome by all the staff. The hotel facilites are lovely and the rooms are spacious and comfortable with the most amazing views.The pool areas are gorgeous. Loads of beds and umbrellas and gtreat pool staff. We went on a bed and breakfast basis as we like to eat out and try different restaurants. The breakfasts were great, in fact by the end of the first week I was even getting bored of smoked salmon and lovely creamy scrambled eggs! But there is loads of choice and enough variety for you to change your breakfast every day. We used the Cliff Bar daily and the guys in there were lovely. Great service with a smile. The entertainment in there was not really to our taste, but it does suit the hotel and the majority of guests, so they have got the balance right. We only got home yesterday, and I was on the internet last night looking to book again. That says everything.Thanks Cliff Bay, you gave us a wonderful holiday.

Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank windy3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2011

This hotel is first class, a retreat with good food and first class service. A great place to relax, enjoy the tranquility and chill out.
The staff are very good and do what they can to make your staff enjoyable. I will use this hotel again and look forward to the relaxation and fine service it offers.

Room Tip: A sea view looking over Funchal Bay is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank outandabout99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2011

The Cliff Bay is a really lovely hotel. We always stay in 5* hotels, and this was very much up to 5* standard. The staff are great, and speak very good english. They are attentive at all times and can't do enough for you. The pool areas and beds are spotlessly clean, with staff running over to help if they think you're going to attempt to move your bed or your umbrella! There are two pool areas, one is located next to the spa, so you are able to sit and relax round the heated indoor/outdoor pool. (My only reservation about this one, is staff moving food trolleys to the restaurant, which can be a little noisy.) The lower pool (closer to the ocean) is accessed via a lift, with beds in abundance...no need to be up at the crack of dawn to bag one!! This hotel is essentially a British contingent. Rooms are spacious, although we did upgrade to a sea view on a higher floor, so not sure what standard rooms are like, I suspect they are pretty much the same. The higher floors give you a spectacular view over Funchal Bay. Also look into the suites, they look fabulous. Plenty of eating places, although it took us our first week to finally find a couple of restaurants we were totally happy with. Two restaurants right at the back of the hotel, one madeiran, the other italian (same owners) are lovely. The Hole in One pub, turn left at the top of the road, is great. Good entertainment some nights, and great staff with reasonable prices. Wouldn't advise the restaurant attached, it's always very busy but unfortunately we had a bad experience there! We won't. however, be returning to Madeira even though it is very pretty. They seem to have a small minority of youths who quite obviously do not like tourists.
We were verbally abused on three separate occasions by three different groups of young boys. They also threw plastic bottles at us, we assume to attract our attention. Once gained, they leered at me, and even tried to grab at my breasts, and shouted obscenities at us, funnily enough these were spoken very clearly in English!!!
We were extremely disappointed to have to deal with this abuse in a foreign country and on what should have been a relaxing holiday for us all.

Room Tip: Higher rooms with a sea view, well worth the extra. Never had a problem with noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SooC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2011

We stayed at the Cliff Bay hotel for 2 weeks returning on the 4th of July.
This was our first visit to Madeira and we absolutely loved the island and our hotel.
On arrival at the hotel, as with all guests, we were met by one of the managers at reception, given a glass of wine and greeted as if we were old friends, really welcoming. What became obvious during the whole of our stay was that the emphasis of all the team at the hotel was one of customer first and a real focus on customer satisfaction.
Our room was very large and fitted to a high standard very clean and with a very welcome bottle of local wine ( which was very nice) . The lay out of the hotel is very easy with the main bars and resturants easy to locate and very well laid out with plenty of seating so unlike many hotels there was never a sense of over crowding in any areas of the hotel.
Food is either buffet or menu to choose from ,and with a one week turnround in the buffet,you may be led to believe that you could be bored with the buffet choice but I certainly was not, the food is of a very high standard with a massive selection to choose from and by varying between the buffet , and the menu selections which were also of a very high standard even the most picky diner will be very happy with their selection.
I would also mention the waiters who were just superb. We sat in various areas of the restaurant and in each one the standard of service was top class, I was even told off, in a very nice way, by one of the waiters for filling my water glass, as he explained, " I was on holiday and it was his job to do everthing for me" what a great attitude.
We sat in the lower poolside area for the two weeks and again just fantastic they have an umbrella for every sun bed!!! what a treat ,and the staff at poolside again are just excellent especialy the lady who works there as part of the pool team, what a worker, she was a real example of how the personal efforts of the staff there are focused on your having the maximum level of enjoyment from your holdiay. From laying out your towels to adjusting the angle of the umbrella to your requirements for sun or shade, nothing was too much trouble.
There is a mitchelin starred resturant on site which had rave reviews from the guests who ate there and was obviously used by many non hotel guests as it is recognised as one of the best restuarants on the island.
This is a 5 star hotel and this rating is fully justified.
This is a hotel where the focus is on you the customer and on making your holiday a truely memorable experience.
So my thanks to all the staff at the hotel and the managers who lead this group for giving us a really wonderful holiday. We are definately returning.

Room Tip: I do not bother with sea views etc as the amount of time we spend in the room does not justify the c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Donpet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
1.3 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
0.5 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#4 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Porto Mare Hotel
Porto Mare Hotel
#7 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,956 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Residence
The Residence
#6 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 785 reviews
1.1 mi away
Lti Pestana Grand
Lti Pestana Grand
#16 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel The Cliff Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel The Cliff Bay

Property: Hotel The Cliff Bay
Address: Estrada Monumental, 147, Funchal, Madeira 9004-532, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Funchal
#2 Family Hotel in Funchal
#3 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#3 Business Hotel in Funchal
#4 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel The Cliff Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Atlantic Ocean stretches as far as the eye can see at the foot of The Cliff Bay which is perched on the top of a natural promontory. The hotel is surrounded by gardens with innumerable secluded corners and centenary palm trees extending to the very edge of the cliff face. The panorama is completed by a magnificent view over the bay of Funchal to the left of the hotel.The most influential restaurant guide in the world, the Michelin Guide, has awarded a star to Il Gallo d'Oro, The Cliff Bay's gourmet restaurant run by Chef Benoît Sinthon. This is Madeira's first and only star ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TravelUp, Odigeo, Expedia, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel The Cliff Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cliff Bay - Porto Bay Hotel Funchal
Cliff Bay Porto Funchal
Cliff Bay Hotel Funchal
Cliff Bay Hotel Madeira
Hotel The Cliff Bay Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing