We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Ranked #3 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 July 2012

Every time you return to the same hotel, there is a risk to spoil your previous impression, also the life is short and there are so many interesting places in the world. But second time we chose Cliff bay in didn't regret. I won't comment about the property itself though it is very good. The things that really make difference are employees. They are very proffessional and have really personal approach. On check in we had an issue with a room that doesn't correspond to our expectations - we are mad about sea views - and the room was on the second floor looking into the garden. Though the hotel was almost full we received another room (higher category) with fantastic views on the next day when it was available. Personal thanks to Carla - Front Office manager - who took care about us. She showed a perfect example of how issue can be reverted to positive experience and make guests more loyal to the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Alexander P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanRingertz, General Manager at Hotel The Cliff Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2012

Thank you for your feedback here at Tripadvisor. I am pleased that we managed to correspond to your expectations and to “steal” you away from many other exciting destinations. I am glad that Carla Bacanhim – Front Office Manager managed to solve the situation with the room. She is a most valued employee with much experience in our hotel.
I hope to be able to welcome you back many more times in Madeira and The Cliff Bay.

With kindest regards,

Jan E. Ringertz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,031)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,908 - 1,914 of 3,031 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2012

Hans & Elise,

I will not describe all the outstanding facilities that Cliff Bay offers. For this just refer to the website.
I want to talk to you about the feeling that a stay at the Cliff Bay gives us.

We have both demanding and sometimes stressful jobs.
That’s why we mostly need a few days to acclimatize before we are used to the idea of having holidays.

However, not when we visit the Cliff Bay.

From the first minute of arrival you got the perfect holiday experience.
The extremely helpful and kind Staff does anything to make your holiday succeed.
Combine this with the perfect seaside location, excellent food and beverages, top wellness and all the other stuff that makes this a perfect hotel and you will understand that we met guests that told us that this was there twentieth visit already.

Room Tip: Seaside or garden side is a pre.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Hans R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanRingertz, General Manager at Hotel The Cliff Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2012

Thank you for your feedback. It is funny how one sometimes recognise the words of holiday expectations. Many times we have busy professional people staying at our hotel and we are delighted to see them arrive stressed and leave relaxed. Isn’t that just what holiday is supposed to be..?
It is correct that we have many guests returning to our hotel (almost fourty percent) and many guests have actually stayed with us more than twenty times. I hope that you will be one of them.

Hoping to see you soon in Madeira.

With kindest regards,

Jan E. Ringertz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2012

This was our fourth visit and it most certainly did not disappoint. The hotel is superb in every aspect. As soon as you arrive you are made to feel welcome. The service, facilities, food and staff are all excellent. We can't wait to visit again!!!!!

Room Tip: If you select an upper floor you are guaranteed wonderful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Pamela E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanRingertz, General Manager at Hotel The Cliff Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2012

Thank you for your feedback. It is great to hear that we managed to correspond to your expectations and that you would like to return again.

Hoping to see you soon in Madeira.

With kindest regards,

Jan E. Ringertz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2012

We went to Cliff Bay in the middle of a hectic work schedule. The purpose of our trip was just to relax, but also tour around Madeira.

It's really hard to think of any flaws concerning Cliff Bay's service, the rooms, breakfast and the property itself. The views from the pool area towards the city centre are nice, especially in the evening. There are lot's of restaurants in the vicinity, with varying quality. Remember to check tripadvisor for the good ones.

The location is ok, just a mile from Funchal city centre. There's a free bus service to the center, if you don't feel like walking there every day.

We're not the kind of people who go to the same hotel every vacation, but with a hotel like Cliff Bay, I'm absolutely certain we will make an exception to that rule!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Travel_10237
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

We loved every minute of our honeymoon and would like to thank the Cliff Bay Hotel and its staff!! The hotel was fantastic, our room (superior, 7th floor) was spacious, clean, well equipped and the view from the extensive, corner, balcony breathtaking! The staff team from the reception, cleaning, and restuarant made the whole stay simply the best! Everything we wanted, requsted, or asked for was supplied simply, efficiently, and quickly. We had pre-booked the romantic meal package and would definately recommend this to any couple staying at the Cliff Bay as being a wonderful romantic night with great food and well choosen wine, while the setting was stunning and private. We even had our own waiter for the whole of the evening. The Spa and swimming facilities are also fantastic. We had pre-booked a couples outdoor back, neck and scalp massage, with views over the bay - the sound of the ocean made this even more relaxing. We would also highly recommend this and wished we had booked a few more treatments. We stayed for seven nights and now wish we had booked for ten. We will definately go back for an anniversary stay. We also really loved that the hotel made special efforts to welcome back couples who had been before and several couples we meet had stayed there many times! The food was great for the whole of our stay and we particullary enjoyed breakfast in the Il Gal D'oro restaurant.

Room Tip: Superior top floor rooms are the best with a bigger room and free water and soft drinks and with acc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012

This is our 19th visit to Madeira - 18 to the Cliff Bay which is probably one of the best hotels at which we have stayed. The location is superb, the hotel is maintained in an excellent condition, the food is good and the staff - many of whom have been there for years, are brilliant. We are going back again in September and will undoubtedly book for 2013. If you want a totally relaxing break I cannot recommend the Cliff Bay too highly - it is fantastic.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Barry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012

This was our second stay at the Cliff Bay and once again we found it to be top notch. 5 out of 5 for everything all the way down the line. We stayed here for 3 nights and then it wasn't available for the next 4 nights so we went to The Vine in town. Both are great hotels and Cliff Bay is half as much money again but for a wonderfully relaxing holiday we thought it was worth it. Although you could try what we did and split the week up - it is nice to be close to the action at The Vine and the rooms are amazing but for the outside areas and general laid back outdoor areas it is Cliff Bay every time.

Room Tip: We have had sea views over Funchal and sea views over the pool and both were great. Not sure it is w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jean-s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.2 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#2 of 88 in Funchal
942 reviews
1.3 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
0.5 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
0.1 mi away
VidaMar Resort Hotel Madeira
0.4 mi away
Porto Mare Hotel
Porto Mare Hotel
#7 of 88 in Funchal
2,164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel The Cliff Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel The Cliff Bay

Address: Estrada Monumental, 147, Funchal, Madeira 9004-532, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Funchal
#2 Family Hotel in Funchal
#2 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#3 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#3 Business Hotel in Funchal
#4 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range: £138 - £322 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel The Cliff Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Atlantic Ocean stretches as far as the eye can see at the foot of The Cliff Bay which is perched on the top of a natural promontory. The hotel is surrounded by gardens with innumerable secluded corners and centenary palm trees extending to the very edge of the cliff face. The panorama is completed by a magnificent view over the bay of Funchal to the left of the hotel.The most influential restaurant guide in the world, the Michelin Guide, has awarded a star to Il Gallo d'Oro, The Cliff Bay's gourmet restaurant run by Chef Benoît Sinthon. This is Madeira's first and only star ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Alpha Holidays Limited, Booking.com, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel The Cliff Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cliff Bay - Porto Bay Hotel Funchal
Cliff Bay Porto Funchal
Cliff Bay Hotel Funchal
Cliff Bay Hotel Madeira
Hotel The Cliff Bay Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing