We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Hotel-Superb Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Ranked #4 of 86 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Gloucestershire
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Superb Hotel-Superb Holiday”
Reviewed 5 August 2012

We had a brilliant week at the Cliff Bay from July 27 to Aug 3 2012. From the moment we arrrived to when we left it was superb quality. Our room was on the fourth floor with a great view over the sea and the gardens of the hotel. The pool area and the restaurants were stunning and breakfast was fantastic from the ultra healthy to the full English whatever your taste. We used the gym and swam every day and the facilities were superb. Funchal is now a very smart sophisticated town with a new shopping mall as well as bars and eating places of great variety. We did two half day Levada walks of around 2-3 hours and 6KM that we arranged via the tour rep but the hotel could have also done this for us. I would recommend this as you get to see rural madeira in "action" and the views and scenary are amazing.
The service in the hotel was fantastic and the staff could not have worked harder for us. All in all this was a terrific holiday and we could not be more positive about our stay.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the ocean are beautiful but you will get the bar and cabaret noise until around 1130pm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank SuperKav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanRingertz, General Manager at Hotel The Cliff Bay, responded to this review, 22 August 2012
Thank you for your feedback. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and the services and facilities offered. I am also pleased that you took the opportunity to visit the island. Madeira has much to offer including the fantastic Levada walks and nature trails.
We value our staff very much and are so pleased that they manage to offer so many exceptional holidays experiences.
Hope to see you again in Madeira in a near future.
With kindest regards,
Jan E. Ringertz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,857 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,454
    316
    71
    10
    6
See reviews for
331
2,132
82
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,074)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2012

Although I have visited Madeira often, my stay in July this year was my first at Cliff Bay and I was most impressed.

I had a large comfortable room which was well serviced every day - copious supply of towels provided as well as other touches such as bathrobe, slippers, toiletries. A tray of fresh fruit was delivered to the room on day of arrival. The spacious balcony overlooking the gardens at the main entrance received the sun in the evening so it was nice to relax there whilst enjoying a pre dinner drink.

As I stayed on a bed and breakfast basis, I cannot comment on the food; however, the buffet breakfast in the Rose Garden Restaurant was most impressive and contained a huge selection of hot and cold foods. I don't think I have seen such a comprehensive and attractive display of fresh fruit anywhere else. Bucks Fizz was also available on the breakfast buffet for anyone who felt so inclined. The seating in Rose Garden Restaurant extends out to the gardens making al fresco dining possible.

There are indoor and outdoor pools as well as a jacuzzi. Further facilities include gymnasium, spa and children's playroom. There is also a courtesy bus service several times a day to and from Funchal old town.

The staff throughout the hotel were very much focused on the guests and nothing was too much trouble for them.

On departing 'Paradise Lost' sprang to mind but I shall hopefully return in the not too distant future for 'Paradise Regained'

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Jamieboy769
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanRingertz, General Manager at Hotel The Cliff Bay, responded to this review, 22 August 2012
Thank you for your feedback. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel especially since you have had many other experiences to compare with. During the summer months it is very inviting to dine outside where the hotel offer both garden and sea views. I hope that we will see you soon again at The Cliff Bay.
With kindest regards,
Jan E. Ringertz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pembroke, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2012

We first stayed at the Cliff Bay four years ago and had a fantastic holiday. We were a little worried that perhaps this time it might not live up to our previous experience.
Once again Cliff Bay has surpassed our expectations.
Wonderful hotel, excellent staff, food to die for
Can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Go for a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Geoffrey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanRingertz, General Manager at Hotel The Cliff Bay, responded to this review, 22 August 2012
Thank you for your feedback. I am pleased that we corresponded to your expectations again after four years. I hope to see you back many more times again.
With kindest regards,
Jan E. Ringertz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2012

Just returned from staying at The Cliff Bay. Loved the hotel - felt thoroughly pampered especially around the pool area where the staff were most attentive. The accommodation, service and food were exceptional. Very good ratio of staff to visitors even at this busy time of the year.

Room Tip: Worth paying extra for room with sea view on upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MarjDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanRingertz, General Manager at Hotel The Cliff Bay, responded to this review, 22 August 2012
Thank you for your feedback here at Tripadvisor. I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We offer many facilities and therefore have staff in many different functions. Great that you enjoyed the service that they offered.
I hope to see you back soon again.
With kindest regards,
Jan E. Ringertz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leicestershire
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2012

This was our first visit not only to the Cliff Bay but also to Madeira, we booked through Thomas cooks ultimate style, after we had been recomended this hotel by friends, We did have issues with Thomas Cook as they gaurantee 25kg of lugage in the broucher, but when we got our tickets we were only aloud 20kg because they were using Thomsons as the airline and they only allow 20kg on their flights unless you pay extra, which we thought was a bit much. Anyway the flight was ok and on time, the landing was a little scarey as Madeiras airport is right on the edge of the sea, you stop very quick when you land due to a short runway, but we were expecting this as we had been warned. The taxi transfer was a little to fast for my liking, but the driver was freindly enough. On arrival at the hotel we were greeted with polite and helpful staff, and taken up to our room on the 7th foor, it was clean and well kept and the view was fantastic, with large patio doors and a small balcony with two chairs and a table, the room had a safe and fridge which came with unlimted bottled water and soft drinks, as part of the room upgrade we had paid for, we paid for B&B and as part of the room up grade, the top floor guest eat in a different place for breakfast, than the rest of the hotel, the choice was good with all the usual things that you expect from a 5 star hotel, the only coment I would make is that the hot food needs to be kept hotter as it was only luke warm, and if you ate out on the sun terrace, it went cold very quickley. We did feel the evening meals were expensive.

We were also there the week of the renovation of one of the hotel restaruants, it was noisy at times, but our room was far enough away for it not to be a problem to us.

The hotel spa was nice and I had a full body massarge which was a little pricey, but I wanted a treat, which was very relaxing, The pools were very clear and well kept and the pool staff were very help full with parasols and the like.

The hotel runs a courtesy bus in to Funchal every day, but make sure you book yourself a place on it the night before as it can get fully booked. Make sure you either go on a day trip around the island or as we did hire a car, the roads are very steep and narrow but it's well worth the effort to get away from Funchal and see the rest of the island, it has some dramatic scenary. It's also worth pointing out that nearly all the people on Madeira speek english very well and are very keen to please.

While we were there they had some large fires on the island which on one night you could see burning from the hotel, we were later informed that these were arson. As with all countries with the euro Madeira is suffering, but all in all it was a very enjoyable weeks holiday, and the Cliff bay was worth the money we paid, the old saying" you get what you pay for comes to mind".

Room Tip: rooms on the upper floors have the wonderful sea views and are bigger so foors 7 and above
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank tech201154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanRingertz, General Manager at Hotel The Cliff Bay, responded to this review, 22 August 2012
Thank you for your feedback here at Tripadvisor. I am glad that you enjoyed Madeira and The Cliff Bay for your holidays. Thank you for your complete description of the facilities. I would however like to mention that the runway in Funchal has now been extended up to 3200 meters that is not very short as it can even receive wide body aircrafts. Madeira like many destination in southern Europe suffered wild fires but this is fortunately in the past and the destination offer greatest facilities for a visit of the island.
I hope to see you back soon again.
With kindest regards,
Jan E. Ringertz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westerham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2012

After reading so many top reviews, we were a bit sceptical if this hotel could live up to its reputation but we should not have worried as it was every bit, if not better, than we anticipated. All the staff, and in particular pool attendants, were very friendlly and helpful, without being over-bearing. The facilities were excellent, as was the food and there was always plenty of sun loungers available, no matter what time you arrived at the pool. It was ideally situated just outside Funchal and the courtsey bus was useful to get into town, although it could have run a bit later into the evening. The walk to town though was only about 20 mins. There were lots of good restaurants within close proximity to the hotel which were a lot cheaper but the food in the Rose Garden restaurant was very good and definately worth dining there at least once. Complete chill holiday. We will be back!

Room Tip: Loved our top floor room with large balcony. Got sun for most of day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 04Julie04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanRingertz, General Manager at Hotel The Cliff Bay, responded to this review, 22 August 2012
Thank you for your feedback here at Tripadvisor. I am glad that we managed to correspond to the reviews here at Tripadvisor. The basic concept of our hotel is to dedicate our staff towards the guests and making memorable holiday experiences. Our generous reviews are all most genuine and give us an increased responsibility to correspond. We do however strive that all our guests feel comfortable in a hotel with harmony among clientele, staff and population.
I am proud that we seem to have managed regarding your stay.
I hope to see you back soon again.
With kindest regards,
Jan E. Ringertz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2012

We have just enjoyed another fantastic stay at the Cliff Bay. If there is a hotel anywhere with better facilities and staff I have yet to find it. It's the small extra touches that make the difference - fresh towels in the evening if required, turn down service, a la carte breeakfast etc. Il Gallo D'Oro was refurbished whilst we were there and is now very modern in style - the wine store where the bar used to be is very stylish.

Everything about the hotel says quality and we wouldn't hesitate to return.

Room Tip: The top floor room upgrade is worth the extra cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kittys64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanRingertz, General Manager at Hotel The Cliff Bay, responded to this review, 22 August 2012
Thank you for your feedback. I am very pleased that your return visit corresponded to your expectations. The newly renovated Il Gallo d’Oro was an important step of upkeep of our hotel, preparing for the future including the new wine cellar.
It is our commitment to maintain and keep and further improve the facilities and services offered at The Cliff Bay.
I hope to see you back soon again.
With kindest regards,
Jan E. Ringertz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
1.3 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
0.5 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#3 of 86 in Funchal
875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Porto Mare Hotel
Porto Mare Hotel
#7 of 86 in Funchal
2,040 reviews
0.1 mi away
VidaMar Resort Hotel Madeira
0.3 mi away
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
#6 of 86 in Funchal
1,364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel The Cliff Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel The Cliff Bay

Property: Hotel The Cliff Bay
Address: Estrada Monumental, 147, Funchal, Madeira 9004-532, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Funchal
#2 Family Hotel in Funchal
#2 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#3 Business Hotel in Funchal
#4 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#4 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel The Cliff Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Atlantic Ocean stretches as far as the eye can see at the foot of The Cliff Bay which is perched on the top of a natural promontory. The hotel is surrounded by gardens with innumerable secluded corners and centenary palm trees extending to the very edge of the cliff face. The panorama is completed by a magnificent view over the bay of Funchal to the left of the hotel.The most influential restaurant guide in the world, the Michelin Guide, has awarded a star to Il Gallo d'Oro, The Cliff Bay's gourmet restaurant run by Chef Benoît Sinthon. This is Madeira's first and only star ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Ebookers, TravelUp, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel The Cliff Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cliff Bay - Porto Bay Hotel Funchal
Cliff Bay Porto Funchal
Cliff Bay Hotel Funchal
Cliff Bay Hotel Madeira
Hotel The Cliff Bay Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing