We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel The Cliff Bay
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$158
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$117
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Madeira(Funchal)
US$109
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$164
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$159
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Pestana Palms(Funchal)
US$189
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$129
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$256
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$242
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$521
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$505
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$349
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$121
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$115
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$91
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$79
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Suite Hotel Eden Mar(Funchal)
US$178
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$160
Elvoline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (3,169)
Filter reviews
3,169 results
Traveller rating
2,721
355
76
10
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,721
355
76
10
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrose gardenmichelin star restaurantil gallopollofunchal viewle cliff barsea levellower poolpool stafftop floorwonderful hotelreturning guestssea waternothing is too much troublespa areadress codespa treatments
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,884 - 1,889 of 3,169 reviews
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Quiet and relaxing hotel with very attentive staff. 25 mins walk to Funchal (centre) although the return walk is mostly uphill and takes about 30 mins (walk through the park to make it more pleasant).
No shortage of sun-beds at this time of year, even though the weather was surprisingly good.
Food in the hotel can be expensive depending on where you eat, and drink is about 17% more expensive than the nice bar just across the road from the hotel.
A couple of decent restaurants nearby but the choice and value in Funchal are much better, with attractive deals in very nice restaurants - and I don't mean the tourist traps!
Spa is average to good, but expensive. Use the discount offers that change daily: wait for the treatment you want to be advertised with the discount and get down early to book it.

Room Tip: Side view of sea quite good. Room 436 recommended for view and all-day sunshine without the added expense of the upper floors.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank J_C348_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2013

This was the first visit to this hotel although we stayed at the Porto Mare last year. Thought that hotel was excellent, but the Cliff Bay was even better. Stayed on the 6th floor with a full sea view so had sunshine on the balcony all day. The service throughout the hotel cannot be faulted - all the staff are cheerful and helpful and nothing is too much trouble. Room kept beautifully clean, appreciated the fresh fruit and water delivered to the room every day. Loved the pools and the abundance of sunbeds and umbrellas. Good choice of food, both at breakfast and throughout the day. Thoroughly enjoyed taking part in the carnival and would recommend the experience to future guests. Will never forget going down to the cactus spa pool at seven in the morning and swimming in the warm infinity pool with the sun rising on the horizon - magical! We will be back!

Room Tip: Rooms with full sea view and higher floors better. They are also quiet.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank suzieq766
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2013

First time here, and so far the hotel has delivered on its promises. The room (a sea view) on the 6th floor) is spacious and well designed.
If the mark of a good organization is how well it deals with problems, then The Cliff Bay gets a gold star; the plumbing in our bathroom had a slight leak yesterday, but this was fixed immediately and efficiently. Not only was it speedily repaired, but someone from maintenance checked with us later to make sure the repair was satisfactory.
The hotel staff are constantly working to keep up the high standard - fresh flowers on arrival, orchids planted in our window box, windows are cleaned and paintwork refreshed. The general impression is of a well-run establishment.
My only request would be for a more reliable Internet connection in the room ... It's a bit hit and miss.
Lovely warm pool (29 degrees) on the ground floor with views over Funchal.
Would definitely come back.

Room Tip: We had a sea view room on the 6th floor. No view of Funchal, but plenty of afternoon sun and good views over the Atlantic. Could hear music from the Cliff Bar at night, but this was faint, the balcony doors are quite well sound proofed, and it never continued very late.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank suebudd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2013

This was our first stay at the Cliff Bay Hotel, though we have stayed in the Portobay sister hotels in Maderia.
They staff are most helpful, and kind. Northing is too much trouble for them. The personal service from all staff is excellent. The bedrooms are spacious and most comfortable. The views from the room over Funchal are stunning, though our room lost the sun from midday onwards. There is plenty of space outside in the gardens and in the areas around both pools. As people with mobility issues we found the pool attendants were extremely kind. One small but important point: We were surprised to find it difficult to have to collect pool towels from the indoor spa reception before having to negotiate steps down to the pool and outside area, otherwise all areas were accessible without any problems. Likewise the buffet area required having to use steps which can prove difficult. The selection of food was on the whole very good, except for the common gripe that breakfast bacon seems to be limited to fatty, streaky bacon and there was no back bacon available. WiFi is good in main lobby, less so in downstairs bar area. Would we return? Certainly!! We are already planning our next visit.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank HWBIOM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2013

A lovely hotel in a fantastic position. All aspects of the hotel were top quality and the staff were all really friendly and welcoming. The room was spacious and the bed very comfortable - one of the quietest and most relaxing hotels I have stayed in.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank MartyFLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews