We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Week Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Ranked #4 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 November 2013 via mobile

We are just back from a week in Madeira staying at this hotel. The hotel was excellent. The room, breakfast, facilities and staff were all great. Special mention to the staff who were all helpful and friendly. We had two rooms over looking Funchal Bay, what a view!

Stayed: November 2013
3  Thank AberdeenChiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanRingertz, General Manager at Hotel The Cliff Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Thank you for your feedback. I am pleased to hear that you had a pleasant stay in Madeira and The Cliff Bay.
I hope to be able to welcome you back in a near future.
Yours Sincerely,

Jan E. Ringertz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,032)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,535 - 1,541 of 3,032 reviews

Reviewed 25 November 2013

The "Il Gallo d'Oro" restaurant is one of the best we've ever eaten at, and reasonably priced. The hotel overall is excellent, with a superb position - the best in Funchal if you're after sun and warmth (it is adjacent to Reid's), much warmer and sunnier than on the hills - and excellent facilities.

Room Tip: Junior suite very comfy, though we had twin beds pushed together rather than a double, which we'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alex T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanRingertz, General Manager at Hotel The Cliff Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Thank you for your kind feedback regarding your recent stay in Madeira. I am delighted to hear that you had a pleasant experience and that Il Gallo d’Oro corresponded to your expectations. Our Michelin star was recently renewed for 2014.
I hope to be able to welcome you back in a near future.
Yours Sincerely,

Jan E. Ringertz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We're just back after a week in this outstanding hotel.Everything from breakfast to bed time was wonderful,staff were great especially the maître d in the rose garden restaurant,he really knows his job! We will be recommending this hotel to all our friends and will certainly be going back. Well done to everyone in the cliff bay!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 0646637787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanRingertz, General Manager at Hotel The Cliff Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at The Cliff Bay. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and your positive feedback about our Maître at The Rose Garden will be forwarded accordingly.
Great to hear that you are planning to return soon again,
Yours Sincerely,

Jan E. Ringertz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

I have recently returned from a week in Madeira, staying at The Cliff Bay hotel in Funchal. It was our first trip to Madeira, but it certainly won't be our last and we shall definitely stay at this wonderful hotel again. It is not hard to see why so many people choose to return.
The hotel itself, sits in a very good location, it is worth having a sea view room. We had a room on the 2nd floor and it was very quiet, we were never disturbed by noises from the hotel entertainment. The rooms are a good size, spotlessly clean, with a good size bathroom and a massive bed. It was nice having tea and coffee making facilities in the room, as this is unusual in European hotels.
On arrival, our room was not quite ready, so we were given a voucher to get a free drink from the bar while we waited.
The staff are all extremely helpful and friendly. I could not believe the reviewer who said that they needed to smile more often, as they were always smiling and friendly. Perhaps it helps if you smile and are friendly to them too!
Having never been to the hotel before, we decided to do the hotel tour on the first morning, which was very helpful as it informed us that there is an office on the third floor with two additional computers and a printer which can be used by guests at any time. We found this useful to be able to catch up on emails etc. Although the computer at reception was often in use, we never found anyone using the ones in this office. I wonder if most people were aware that they were there.
We decided to go B&B, as we like to try out local restaurants while we are away. So we only had breakfasts at the hotel. The variety and quality of food at the breakfasts was very good. More fresh fruit than we have seen at any hotel before. The staff in the restaurant were very efficient and friendly. We were always given a choice of table and our tea or coffee was always on the table by the time we had collected our juice. If you wanted an outside table there was occasionally a wait at busy times as there was limited availability of these tables.
The pool areas were very well maintained. We only swam in the pool by the spa, which is partly inside and partly outside and heated, which is a bonus in November,
The hotel bus into the centre of Funchal is useful, we only used it twice as it is a pleasant walk, which we enjoyed most evenings as the temperature in the evenings was still about 18°C. We loved the old part of Funchal with its many restaurants and its painted doors. The harbour district has a lot of construction work going on at the moment, as they are renewing flood defenses and making new beaches at the same time. The gardens in Funchal are beautiful and it is nice to stroll through the gardens on the way back to the hotel.
The cable car up to Monte, followed by the toboggan trip down is a must, Great fun, but beware of the taxi drivers waiting at the end of the toboggan ride as they will try to charge you more than the normal fare. We decided to wait for the bus and the drivers kept giving us lower fares until we negotiated a fare to take us plus four others at 2 Euros each which was a similar price to the bus fare.
This is a wonderful hotel, definitely worth its 5*s and we hope to return before too long.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Midge55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanRingertz, General Manager at Hotel The Cliff Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Thank you for your large and complete review of your recent stay at The Cliff Bay. I am delighted to hear that we managed to correspond to your expectations and that you are planning to return.
Madeira is a beautiful destination with much to offer.
With kindest regards,

Jan E. Ringertz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

A clean, perfectly situated, 5* spa hotel.
I think, on top of everything else, the staff make this hotel so perfect. Try it to believe it is all I will say! From Spa to Reception and Bar to Restaurants, impecable in every degree.
Thank you all

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pj m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanRingertz, General Manager at Hotel The Cliff Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Thank you for your review. In short terms… I agree… The staff is very special doing their best for unique holiday experiences.
Hoping to welcome you back in a near future.
With kindest regards,

Jan E. Ringertz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

This was our 1st visit to Funchal and this hotel. We can now see why so many people return (already booked again for 2014).
The reviews on this hotel helped us to make our minds up - the positive far out-weighing the negative and we were very impressed with everything.
The management team of this hotel should feel very, very proud of their employees as it is THEM that make this exceptional hotel a delightful place to come and relax.
We could not find fault at all - from the large rooms and beds, views, gardens, pool areas, reception, restaurants - service was provided with a smile.
This hotel deserves its 5 star status.
Go on book at this hotel, you will not be disappointed.
P.S. Did not rate the Spa as we did not use it.
On observation though, we would have preferred the Spa pool and area to have been adults only (as experienced at other hotels), therefore making the whole spa expanse conducive to a more tranquil, relaxing experience.

Room Tip: Book a room if possible overlooking Funchal, just for the views and twinkling lights at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Myra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanRingertz, General Manager at Hotel The Cliff Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay at The Cliff Bay. I am delighted to hear that we managed to correspond to your expectations and that you appreciated our staff. We are very proud of our staff members that have been with us for many years. Personally, despite all fantastic facilities, I think that the staff is one of the reasons for the uniqueness of The Cliff Bay.
Hoping to welcome you back in a near future.
With kindest regards,

Jan E. Ringertz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Returned to my usual hotel again for 15th time or so.This wonderful hotel is setting the standard for for similar hotels in Madeira and what a standard.Staff excellent friendly cant do enough for you food a very high standard indeed rooms and facilities are excellent. Weather sunny and warm not to hot i had a great holiday which this hotel is part off. It is hard to pick out members of staff to praise the ladies in reception the porters the bar staff the waiters and waitress in the eating places and also the chamber maids.However i will single out 2 the Majordomo in the Rosegarden runs a fine eating place and also Isobel who helps in guest relations.All going well return to this fine hotel many times in the future.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bobbarclay44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.2 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#3 of 88 in Funchal
943 reviews
1.3 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
0.5 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
0.1 mi away
VidaMar Resort Hotel Madeira
0.4 mi away
Porto Mare Hotel
Porto Mare Hotel
#7 of 88 in Funchal
2,166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel The Cliff Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel The Cliff Bay

Address: Estrada Monumental, 147, Funchal, Madeira 9004-532, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Funchal
#2 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#3 Business Hotel in Funchal
#4 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#4 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range: £138 - £339 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel The Cliff Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Atlantic Ocean stretches as far as the eye can see at the foot of The Cliff Bay which is perched on the top of a natural promontory. The hotel is surrounded by gardens with innumerable secluded corners and centenary palm trees extending to the very edge of the cliff face. The panorama is completed by a magnificent view over the bay of Funchal to the left of the hotel.The most influential restaurant guide in the world, the Michelin Guide, has awarded a star to Il Gallo d'Oro, The Cliff Bay's gourmet restaurant run by Chef Benoît Sinthon. This is Madeira's first and only star ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Alpha Holidays Limited, TravelUp, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel The Cliff Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cliff Bay - Porto Bay Hotel Funchal
Cliff Bay Porto Funchal
Cliff Bay Hotel Funchal
Cliff Bay Hotel Madeira
Hotel The Cliff Bay Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing