We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cliff bay hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Ranked #3 of 85 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Cliff bay hotel”
Reviewed 27 November 2013

I adored the cliff bay Wonderful friendly staff great rooms and the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in . The one fly in the ointment was the Gallo Doro restaurant the food was fine for a one star Michelin restaurant but the service was appalling we nearly walked out . They did not come near us for half an hour we felt we were a nuisance . So avoid that but go to the Cliff Bay it is lovely.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
6 Thank Elizabeth V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanRingertz, General Manager at Hotel The Cliff Bay, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Thank you for your feedback. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Your comments of Il Gallo d’Oro will be forwarded to the team and we will do our very best to further improve our services. The general comments regarding the restaurant is normally very good and our Michelin star was recently renewed for 2014.
I hope to welcome you back in a near future.

Yours Sincerely,
Jan E. Ringertz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,771 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,386
    303
    66
    10
    6
See reviews for
322
2,061
81
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,040)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Would like to give top marks but just not possible due to poor experience both at check-in and check-out! The staff at reception were offhand and distant, we were not made to feel at all welcome or special. In addition, we were asked for a credit card at check-in and charged for the whole amount of the stay (5 nights) there and then . We felt we were not trusted. To make matters worse, we were charged at the wrong (higher) rate and had to request a substantial refund. Not a good start. Then at check out, we were advised that although there were no extras to pay, they wanted our credit card to pay for the 5 nights ! We explained that we had already been charged the entire amount on arrival - and then left, there were no apologies, no notion of 'customer care' !. Other than this, the hotel was excellent , room, breakfast, facilities, location etc. Staff everywhere else in the hotel were excellent. But Cliff Bay - you need to make a good FIRST AND LAST IMPRESSION - train your reception staff please !

Room Tip: worth paying extra for top floor upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank teevee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanRingertz, General Manager at Hotel The Cliff Bay, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Thank you for your feedback. I am pleased to hear that your overall experience was very positive. I do apologize for any misunderstanding in our reception service. It is our policy to charge credit cards upon arrival for direct reservations.
I hope to get the pleasure of welcoming you back to Madeira and The Cliff Bay for us to show that this situation occurred is not our regular service, as our front office is normally much appreciated.
With kindest regards,

Jan E. Ringertz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013 via mobile

We are just back from a week in Madeira staying at this hotel. The hotel was excellent. The room, breakfast, facilities and staff were all great. Special mention to the staff who were all helpful and friendly. We had two rooms over looking Funchal Bay, what a view!

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank AberdeenChiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanRingertz, General Manager at Hotel The Cliff Bay, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Thank you for your feedback. I am pleased to hear that you had a pleasant stay in Madeira and The Cliff Bay.
I hope to be able to welcome you back in a near future.
Yours Sincerely,

Jan E. Ringertz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

The "Il Gallo d'Oro" restaurant is one of the best we've ever eaten at, and reasonably priced. The hotel overall is excellent, with a superb position - the best in Funchal if you're after sun and warmth (it is adjacent to Reid's), much warmer and sunnier than on the hills - and excellent facilities.

Room Tip: Junior suite very comfy, though we had twin beds pushed together rather than a double, which we'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alex T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanRingertz, General Manager at Hotel The Cliff Bay, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Thank you for your kind feedback regarding your recent stay in Madeira. I am delighted to hear that you had a pleasant experience and that Il Gallo d’Oro corresponded to your expectations. Our Michelin star was recently renewed for 2014.
I hope to be able to welcome you back in a near future.
Yours Sincerely,

Jan E. Ringertz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We're just back after a week in this outstanding hotel.Everything from breakfast to bed time was wonderful,staff were great especially the maître d in the rose garden restaurant,he really knows his job! We will be recommending this hotel to all our friends and will certainly be going back. Well done to everyone in the cliff bay!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 0646637787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanRingertz, General Manager at Hotel The Cliff Bay, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at The Cliff Bay. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and your positive feedback about our Maître at The Rose Garden will be forwarded accordingly.
Great to hear that you are planning to return soon again,
Yours Sincerely,

Jan E. Ringertz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

I have recently returned from a week in Madeira, staying at The Cliff Bay hotel in Funchal. It was our first trip to Madeira, but it certainly won't be our last and we shall definitely stay at this wonderful hotel again. It is not hard to see why so many people choose to return.
The hotel itself, sits in a very good location, it is worth having a sea view room. We had a room on the 2nd floor and it was very quiet, we were never disturbed by noises from the hotel entertainment. The rooms are a good size, spotlessly clean, with a good size bathroom and a massive bed. It was nice having tea and coffee making facilities in the room, as this is unusual in European hotels.
On arrival, our room was not quite ready, so we were given a voucher to get a free drink from the bar while we waited.
The staff are all extremely helpful and friendly. I could not believe the reviewer who said that they needed to smile more often, as they were always smiling and friendly. Perhaps it helps if you smile and are friendly to them too!
Having never been to the hotel before, we decided to do the hotel tour on the first morning, which was very helpful as it informed us that there is an office on the third floor with two additional computers and a printer which can be used by guests at any time. We found this useful to be able to catch up on emails etc. Although the computer at reception was often in use, we never found anyone using the ones in this office. I wonder if most people were aware that they were there.
We decided to go B&B, as we like to try out local restaurants while we are away. So we only had breakfasts at the hotel. The variety and quality of food at the breakfasts was very good. More fresh fruit than we have seen at any hotel before. The staff in the restaurant were very efficient and friendly. We were always given a choice of table and our tea or coffee was always on the table by the time we had collected our juice. If you wanted an outside table there was occasionally a wait at busy times as there was limited availability of these tables.
The pool areas were very well maintained. We only swam in the pool by the spa, which is partly inside and partly outside and heated, which is a bonus in November,
The hotel bus into the centre of Funchal is useful, we only used it twice as it is a pleasant walk, which we enjoyed most evenings as the temperature in the evenings was still about 18°C. We loved the old part of Funchal with its many restaurants and its painted doors. The harbour district has a lot of construction work going on at the moment, as they are renewing flood defenses and making new beaches at the same time. The gardens in Funchal are beautiful and it is nice to stroll through the gardens on the way back to the hotel.
The cable car up to Monte, followed by the toboggan trip down is a must, Great fun, but beware of the taxi drivers waiting at the end of the toboggan ride as they will try to charge you more than the normal fare. We decided to wait for the bus and the drivers kept giving us lower fares until we negotiated a fare to take us plus four others at 2 Euros each which was a similar price to the bus fare.
This is a wonderful hotel, definitely worth its 5*s and we hope to return before too long.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Midge55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanRingertz, General Manager at Hotel The Cliff Bay, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Thank you for your large and complete review of your recent stay at The Cliff Bay. I am delighted to hear that we managed to correspond to your expectations and that you are planning to return.
Madeira is a beautiful destination with much to offer.
With kindest regards,

Jan E. Ringertz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

A clean, perfectly situated, 5* spa hotel.
I think, on top of everything else, the staff make this hotel so perfect. Try it to believe it is all I will say! From Spa to Reception and Bar to Restaurants, impecable in every degree.
Thank you all

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pj m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanRingertz, General Manager at Hotel The Cliff Bay, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Thank you for your review. In short terms… I agree… The staff is very special doing their best for unique holiday experiences.
Hoping to welcome you back in a near future.
With kindest regards,

Jan E. Ringertz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
1.3 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
0.5 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#4 of 85 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Porto Mare Hotel
Porto Mare Hotel
#7 of 85 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,977 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Residence
The Residence
#6 of 85 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
1.1 mi away
Lti Pestana Grand
Lti Pestana Grand
#16 of 85 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel The Cliff Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel The Cliff Bay

Property: Hotel The Cliff Bay
Address: Estrada Monumental, 147, Funchal, Madeira 9004-532, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Funchal
#1 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#2 Family Hotel in Funchal
#3 Business Hotel in Funchal
#3 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#4 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel The Cliff Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Atlantic Ocean stretches as far as the eye can see at the foot of The Cliff Bay which is perched on the top of a natural promontory. The hotel is surrounded by gardens with innumerable secluded corners and centenary palm trees extending to the very edge of the cliff face. The panorama is completed by a magnificent view over the bay of Funchal to the left of the hotel.The most influential restaurant guide in the world, the Michelin Guide, has awarded a star to Il Gallo d'Oro, The Cliff Bay's gourmet restaurant run by Chef Benoît Sinthon. This is Madeira's first and only star ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, TravelUp, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Hotel.de and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel The Cliff Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cliff Bay - Porto Bay Hotel Funchal
Cliff Bay Porto Funchal
Cliff Bay Hotel Funchal
Cliff Bay Hotel Madeira
Hotel The Cliff Bay Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing