We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class throughout!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Ranked #3 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Our first visit to the Cliff Bay but definitely not our last.The attention to detail throughout all areas of the hotel is second to none.
First class room ,very spacious with splendid views over to Funchal and the harbour.
Food of the highest quality in all the restaurants.
A 1st class break for my wife and I.
We can't wait to return, hopefully in November.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
7  Thank djhDerbyUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanRingertz, General Manager at Hotel The Cliff Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Thank you for your kind feedback. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope to see you again in November.
With kindest regards,

Jan E. Ringertz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,010)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,485 - 1,491 of 3,010 reviews

Reviewed 11 February 2014

Excellent facilities, good quality food, & spacious well equipped rooms. Suitable for the older generation - lots of lifts & ramps etc and very understanding staff. Music in the evening suited the more mature taste. Excellent spa.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Brenda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanRingertz, General Manager at Hotel The Cliff Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Thank you for your feedback. I am delighted that you enjoyed your January stay. We try to offer services and facilities that fit for everyone.
I hope of the pleasure of welcoming you back.
With kindest regards,

Jan E. Ringertz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

A bit late in posting this review but I have just booked the hotel again for this year but for 2 weeks not just one
The hotel is superb with outstanding staff, restaurants and rooms
The outdoor facilities are excellent with pool side,sea side and hill side lounging areas
The Michelin star restaurant is worth a visit with each plate being a work of art
The hotel is short walk into Funchal but a regular free shuttle bus is provided, handy for the return trip!
I have to say that this is the best holiday hotel I have ever stayed in and can thoroughly recommend it for a perfect relaxing holiday

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Rob21257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanRingertz, General Manager at Hotel The Cliff Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Thank you for your feedback. I delighted to hear that you enjoy our hotel and are already booked to return. Il Gallo d’Oro is a special restaurant and I am pleased that it corresponds to your expectations.
I am looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back.
With kindest regards,

Jan E. Ringertz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

We wouldn't normally choose a large hotel - in fact last time in Madeira we stayed in a boutique 5-star - but the Cliff Bay proved to be a great choice. There was nothing about it that didn't impress us. The staff, the service and the facilities were all excellent. Reception staff in particular were most helpful with restaurant and hire car bookings. Our second floor, sea view room was delightful.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank PresidentSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanRingertz, General Manager at Hotel The Cliff Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Thank you for your feedback. I am pleased to hear that you felt that you made a good choice. The Cliff Bay has 200 rooms but still you many times feel like you are in a smaller hotel. It is actually a very good size to allow services and facilities of excellence.
I hope that we will get the pleasure of welcoming you back in a near future.
With kindest regards,

Jan E. Ringertz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

Fantastic hotel, staff and food! Amazing breakfast buffet. We've eaten a few times in the various hotel bars etc, a bit expensive but well deserving of 5 stars.
We will be back, we've been completely impressed with Madeira.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank kiwimaxwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanRingertz, General Manager at Hotel The Cliff Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Thank you for your feedback. I am pleased that you enjoyed Madeira and your stay at our hotel.
I hope that we will get the pleasure of welcoming you back in a near future.
With kindest regards,

Jan E. Ringertz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Having holidayed in Madeira a few times including twice at the Porto Mare, for our 30th wedding anniversary we booked into the Cliff Bay. We had two fabulous weeks and have no hesitation in highly recommending this hotel. The hotel is in a spectacular location, beautifully landscaped, spotlessly clean and every single member of staff are a credit to the place. I liked watching the pigeon deterrent, which was exceptionally good at its job as I never saw a pigeon land in the grounds. What a treat to see the majestic birds of prey on parade. The food in all the restaurants was excellent but just slightly disappointed with the Il Gallo D'oro where we had dinner for our anniversary. Tables were too close together; close enough to clink glasses (toast) with the couple on the next table without moving from our seats. No intimate conversation here! Our opinion is that this restaurant is a little overrated but that is just our opinion and each to their own. When we arrived home we noted that we had been charged for what we had assumed were two glasses of complimentary champagne @ €15 each, nevertheless we did enjoy our evening and the champagne! Excellent wine list in the restaurants. Thank you to all at Cliff Bay and we will without a doubt return.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
5  Thank G&SMcD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanRingertz, General Manager at Hotel The Cliff Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Thank you for your feedback and for your preference for Porto Bay Hotels & Resorts. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am sad that your experience at Il Gallo d’oro didn’t completely correspond to your expectations.
We try to give much importance to our Portuguese wines that are very appreciated by our visitors.
I hope that we will get the pleasure of welcoming you back in a near future.
With kindest regards,

Jan E. Ringertz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

This was our first visit to Madeira and was recommended to stay at the Cliff Bay Hotel. We are so glad that we did. The staff were delightful and nothing was too much trouble. It is in a beautiful setting, our room had a fantastic view over the ocean and was spotlessly clean. We very much enjoyed our breakfast in the Il Gallo D'oro restaurant and sat outside every morning. The waitress even remembered which table we preferred and we were able to sit there most days. If I have just one criticism it was with the dinner in the Il Gallo D'oro restaurant. We felt that it was overpriced for what we got. The portions were extremely small and we actually filled up on the bread instead. We really enjoyed the entertainment in the evenings in the Cliff Bar and all of the groups were very good. All in all I would recommend anyone to stay at this hotel. We think it is perfect!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dawn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanRingertz, General Manager at Hotel The Cliff Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Thank you for your feedback here at tripadvisor. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and that you felt that you made a good choice.
I hope that we will get the pleasure of welcoming you back in a near future. Madeira has many different and beautiful seasons to travel throughout the year.
With kindest regards,

Jan E. Ringertz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
1.3 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
0.2 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#2 of 88 in Funchal
934 reviews
0.5 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
VidaMar Resort Hotel Madeira
1.1 mi away
Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
0.4 mi away
Porto Mare Hotel
Porto Mare Hotel
#7 of 88 in Funchal
2,159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel The Cliff Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel The Cliff Bay

Address: Estrada Monumental, 147, Funchal, Madeira 9004-532, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Funchal
#2 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#2 Family Hotel in Funchal
#3 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#3 Business Hotel in Funchal
#4 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range: £137 - £288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel The Cliff Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Atlantic Ocean stretches as far as the eye can see at the foot of The Cliff Bay which is perched on the top of a natural promontory. The hotel is surrounded by gardens with innumerable secluded corners and centenary palm trees extending to the very edge of the cliff face. The panorama is completed by a magnificent view over the bay of Funchal to the left of the hotel.The most influential restaurant guide in the world, the Michelin Guide, has awarded a star to Il Gallo d'Oro, The Cliff Bay's gourmet restaurant run by Chef Benoît Sinthon. This is Madeira's first and only star ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , TravelUp, Splitty, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel The Cliff Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cliff Bay - Porto Bay Hotel Funchal
Cliff Bay Porto Funchal
Cliff Bay Hotel Funchal
Cliff Bay Hotel Madeira
Hotel The Cliff Bay Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing