We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oozes class!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Ranked #4 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 March 2014

I was fortunate to end up in this hotel - it really was bliss!
I can't add too much to earlier reviewers comments, but endorse the view that the staff are really lovely.
There are other 5* hotels in the vicinity,but they don't all stretch down to the waters edge as this one does and the ambience is superb. Full marks to the interior designer.
My top tip-try and book Room 734-it has a really good -sized balcony with sunbathing ledge-and looks out over the sea and the hotel grounds. It catches the sun all day long (I suppose some might like a parasol on hot days)Room 732 would be a good option too,having a view of the harbour and the sea-oh ...and the room itself was excellent!
There are three super-efficient lifts so access isn't an issue.

There was music each night from different, above average musicians in the stylish bar.

I used The Rose Garden restaurant a couple of times for a buffet-style dinner.
This was used by the majority of guests and booking a time at reception is suggested.
The offerings were wide-ranging and of excellent quality.
There are other more formal options in the hotel and also good local style restaurants nearby.

The hotel-owned shuttle bus is very popular and runs several times a day (booking a seat at reception for the 9.15 and 10.00 am is advisable). It is actually a full -size coach that the hotel uses, so don't think you'll be a sardine in a cramped mini bus! It collects guests from the nearby sister hotel Porto Mare also.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank sporty60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanRingertz, General Manager at Hotel The Cliff Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Thank you for feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you were happy with your choice of accomodation. We try to offer a wide range of services and facilities for everyone’s taste.
I hope to welcome you back in a near future.
Yours Sincerely,

Jan E. Ringertz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,101)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,520 - 1,526 of 3,101 reviews

Reviewed 14 March 2014

We stayed here last year and found it so good that my wife was very keen to return, so we spent a week here March 3-10. The high point is the amazing buffet at both breakfast and dinner with a very wide selection of fruit salads in the morning, plus hot food, cold meats, bread and cakes and even complimentary champagne for those who want it (not many, it seemed). At dinnertime there was an equally wide selection and each night had a different culinary theme. Sunday night was graced by an excellent Madeiran folk dance group in traditional costume. Lunch can be taken at the Blue Lagoon cafe/restaurant (reached by lift at the foot of the cliff) where we had excellent hamburgers , salad and sorbets. There is a large outdoor swimming pool at this level, while on the upper level the pool extends both inside the hotel and outside. The rooms are very comfortable and bathroom facilities excellent, though, as last year, we commented on the lack of conveniently accessible electric points for recharging shavers, iPhones etc. The electric point in the bathroom is too high for the cables provided with some equipment and there are no points on the table/desk tops. However, there is a socket in the cupboard with the kettle. BBC TV was available last year but not this year for some reason, only Sky and CNN. The hotel is well situated and most rooms have excellent sea views - ours looked out towards the harbour and neighbouring Reid's Hotel (now very expensive under Oriental Express ownership). All in all, Cliff Bay is justifiably THE place to stay in Funchal. However, it has mainly a 'silver set' clientele and is perhaps not ideal for young people and families, but very comfortable for older people, like us.

Room Tip: Ask for a side sea view facing the harbour. We found rooms 123 and 124 had a good view, but those on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Latchford21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanRingertz, General Manager at Hotel The Cliff Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Thank you for feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I am pleased to hear that we managed to correspond to your expectations. The location of the electric point is in accordance with Portuguese legislation in “wet areas” despite it not being as comfortable in all situations. I would recommend the socket in the cupboard for additional appliances. At present moment we are forced to review the British television channels as they have been taken off the satellite that we receive in Madeira island. At The Cliff Bay we try to offer services and facilities for all ages and nationalities.
I hope to welcome you back in a near future.
Yours Sincerely,

Jan E. Ringertz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

We were staying at another Porto Bay hotel in Funchal in January. We had heard great reports about the Cliff Bay Hotel and decided to treat ourselves to afternoon tea. The ambience was wonderful and the weather perfect. Unfortunately, we had cause to ask our waitress if she could replace the inedible cakes because they had melted in the sun. She said it wasn't possible. We were very disappointed and when we returned home I wrote to the manager but did not receive a reply. Porto Bay hotels usually have excellent customer service.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Service
3  Thank R0bbie05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanRingertz, General Manager at Hotel The Cliff Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

Dear Sir or Madam,
Thank you for sharing your feedback here at Tripadvisor. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed one of beautiful sister hotels in Madeira. I am however sad that we didn’t manager to correspond to your expectations regarding your visit for afternoon tea. We will do our very best to further improve our services and naturally look into what happened. The management responds personally to all feedback both at Tripadvisor and through other means of communication. I unfortunately do not have trace of which type of correspondence you mention in your comment so please feel free to contact me at janringertz@portobay.pt or in private mail through Tripadvisor and I will look into any matter further.
Yours Sincerely,

Jan E. Ringertz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

This is an excellent hotel providing a high standard of service and comfort. It is well sited close to Funchal town, the harbour and the old Reids Hotel. The centre and old town are well within walking distance and downhill from the hotel. Taxis or buses are readily available for return journeys.
Staff are friendly and very helpful and the general ambience is warm and welcoming.

Room Tip: Best rooms are on the higher floors with sea/harbour views, floors 6 to floor 10 - although these do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank water4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanRingertz, General Manager at Hotel The Cliff Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Thank you for your feedback. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Madeira is a beautiful destination with much to offer. The rooms on the higher floors are our superior rooms/top floors rooms that are quite in demand.
I hope of the pleasure to welcome you back in a near future.

Yours Sincerely,
Jan E. Ringertz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

First class, welcoming hotel with amenities to match and friendly, helpful staff always ready with a smile. Rooms are spacious and well maintained; plenty of outside spaces and loungers for relaxing; used the inside/outside pool and its kept warm so you can swim even if it's a bit windy. Really enjoyed the variety and quality of the meals and there are plenty of places to eat, ranging from the Michelin starred Il Gallo d'Oro which is wonderful for a special treat, the Rose Garden and Blue Lagoon Restaurants to the Bistro or Bar.
The walk into the centre of Funchal takes about 20-35 minutes depending on how fast you walk but there is a courtesy bus from the hotel and the local bus stop is very close. Funchal, like the rest of Madeira is very hilly, and it is downhill from the hotel so be prepared for an uphill walk on the way back - again depending on which route you take the hill can seem steeper! We found we needed the walk to compensate for the good food and wine so definitely worth it.
Wouldn't hesitate to recommend the hotel and hope to be going back soon.

Room Tip: Rooms looking towards Funchal and port have a glorious sea view, are not overlooked by other rooms i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jenna1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanRingertz, General Manager at Hotel The Cliff Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Thank you for your kind feedback. I am pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and the services and facilities offered.

I hope of the pleasure to welcome you back in a near future.

Yours Sincerely,
Jan E. Ringertz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

My wife and I had enjoyed all of the facilities the hotel and local area had to offer, so when the opportunity arose to book "seats" to view the annual carnival through the hotel, we did so.

On arrival we found that although locally booked seating had been available, the facility offered by the hotel was nothing more than wooden benches. VERY uncomfortable considering you would be expected to be on these for almost 4 hours.

This was the only negative experience in an otherwise superb trip. Shame it was down to the hotel's organisation and misleading advert.

Room Tip: Always pump for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ISOBELM726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanRingertz, General Manager at Hotel The Cliff Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Thank you for your feedback. I am glad that you enjoyed our services and facilities. We have taken careful note of your feedback regarding Carnival seating and we will take this into consideration when and if we have the possibility to use the facility again.
Hoping to see you soon again in Madeira.

Yours Sincerely,
Jan E. Ringertz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

This is a little piece of heaven. The grounds around the hotel are absolutely gorgeous and so well maintained. Lots of seats here and there so you can find your own little peaceful place.

The hotel is located in a quiet area of the town and an easy enough walk to downtown Funchal.

The breakfast spread was simply astonishing. Everything you could wish for ( including champagne). A vast variety of hot and cold choices including omelettes made while you wait. Foodie heaven.

Service from staff is quite exceptional. Everyone was polite & accommodating.

Our room was spacious, bright, very comfortable, clean and had a lovely view towards Funchal.

Pleasant bar and attractive restaurants within the hotel. Evening meals, to be honest, weren't quite as good as we would have expected ( especially for the prices charged).

The pool areas were lovely to spend time around. We spent the start of the week at the upstairs one ( part of which is indoors) but found the lower pool area to be nicer, more spacious and more sheltered from the brisk breezes. The lower pool area has a casual beach type restaurant which was great for using during the day.

We sampled their afternoon teas on day and it was such a treat ....delicious .... I'm sure it would give the Savoy, Ritz etc in London a run for their money !

This hotel really is a treat to stay in with the most stunning floral displays in the main public areas.

We'd happily return here for a relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank anne8527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanRingertz, General Manager at Hotel The Cliff Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Thank you for your feedback. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we managed to correspond to your expectations. Our hotel has a privileged location with many services and facilities.
I hope of the pleasure to welcome you back in a near future.
Yours Sincerely,

Jan E. Ringertz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
1.3 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
0.2 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#3 of 88 in Funchal
964 reviews
0.5 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
0.4 mi away
The Residence
The Residence
#6 of 88 in Funchal
869 reviews
0.4 mi away
Porto Mare Hotel
Porto Mare Hotel
#7 of 88 in Funchal
2,218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel The Cliff Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel The Cliff Bay

Address: Estrada Monumental, 147, Funchal, Madeira 9004-532, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Funchal
#2 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#3 Business Hotel in Funchal
#4 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#4 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range: £141 - £278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel The Cliff Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Atlantic Ocean stretches as far as the eye can see at the foot of The Cliff Bay which is perched on the top of a natural promontory. The hotel is surrounded by gardens with innumerable secluded corners and centenary palm trees extending to the very edge of the cliff face. The panorama is completed by a magnificent view over the bay of Funchal to the left of the hotel.The most influential restaurant guide in the world, the Michelin Guide, has awarded a star to Il Gallo d'Oro, The Cliff Bay's gourmet restaurant run by Chef Benoît Sinthon. This is Madeira's first and only star ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Alpha Holidays Limited, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel The Cliff Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cliff Bay - Porto Bay Hotel Funchal
Cliff Bay Porto Funchal
Cliff Bay Hotel Funchal
Cliff Bay Hotel Madeira
Hotel The Cliff Bay Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing