We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our first stay at the Cliff Bay...we will be back”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Ranked #3 of 85 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Our first stay at the Cliff Bay...we will be back”
Reviewed 1 April 2014

This was our first stay at the Cliff Bay hotel, we had been recommended to stay there by friends. The service was excellent, all the requests we made were efficiently carried out. Our room with partial sea view looking towards Funchal was spacious and most comfortable. I am neurotic about noise and I can report the room was quiet, no inter room noise ! I imagine it is best to avoid the rooms over the bar or anywhere near the bar as they may well suffer from noise.
The hotel situation is lovely and scenic.
The food was very good if a little expensive, but never the less worth it.

Best summed up....we will be going back, guaranteed !!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DPG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanRingertz, General Manager at Hotel The Cliff Bay, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Thank you for your feedback. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Regarding room preference our side sea view rooms are located in lower floors while top floors are a guarantee to be located further away from bars and restaurants.
Madeira is a beautiful destination with much to offer. I look forward to welcome you back to Madeira and The Cliff Bay.

Yours Sincerely,

Jan E. Ringertz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,771 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,386
    303
    66
    10
    6
See reviews for
322
2,061
81
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,040)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

My husband & I visited for the 1st time last week - we had toyed with Reids next door, which is renowned, but opted for Cliff Bay on the basis of their facilities - boy, are we glad we did! After driving past it a few times we spotted the sign..........and the experience began. A doorman unpoaded our bags & parked the car for us. We were checked in very quickly, and shown to our room (luggage followed). We had a superior seafacing room - perfect. Bathroom is fabulous - within it a separate shower, bath with shower over, and a glass cubicle for the loo & bidet. Good range of toiletries, and gown (which we wore around the spa area). Everywhere we went staff from the handyman, to the cleaners, waiting staff, pool staff, reception & doormen were all smiling & said hello. Not at all forced. Most definitely 5 star standard, but at the same time very relaxed. We didn't try the Mitchelin star restaurant (we couldn't get in........worth pointing out that gentlemen require a jacket &/or shirt & tie. Another restaurant doen't allow flipflops. Lunch restaurants are more relaxed. Towles are provided by the pool, and there are ample loungers. Beautiful arrangements of flowers are dotted all over the hotel. WE had an orchid in the bedroom, and fresh flowers in the bedroom. As for the breakfast buffet - quite simply the best we have ever sampled - I defy anyone to not find something to their taste. Many fruits, breads, pastries & the usual hot & cold fayre, fresh waffles & pancake too. Sparkling wine flows freely if so desired, and some local hooch. We travel extensively and Cliff Bay is up there with some of the top hotels we have stayed at. We particularly liked indoor /outdoor pool and spa area. We pretty much stayed around the hotel and Funchal in general, trying out local restaurants & the pub across the road (Hole in One), which was great for live music & people watching. We did pop into Reid's, which we found quite jaded and it confirmed for sure that we made the right choice with Cliff Bay. We dined in Reid's Italian restaurant - when I came back from the loo y husband said that he had spotted the difference between our hotel & Reid's. 'What?' - 'none of the staff here are smiling' - he was spot on. I kept looking for flaws - there were none! Minor critique - I don't especially want bathroom scales on holiday, but that is the worst I could come up with! We can't wait to go back, and next time for more than 5 days. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: We had a superior seafacing on the 8th floor - excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Elaine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanRingertz, General Manager at Hotel The Cliff Bay, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Thank you for your kind feedback. I am delighted to hear that we managed to correspond to your expectations. Our objective is to offer good facilities, excellence in service in a relax environment.
I very much look forward to welcome you back to Madeira and The Cliff Bay.

Yours Sincerely,

Jan E. Ringertz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

I met an old colleague just a week before we were going to Madeira in Feb.2014. He asked me what hotel we were going to. When I said the Cliff Bay, he immediately said "Great, the best hotel in the world." This might be a slight exaggeration overall, but in terms of value for money in five star hotels I think it is exactly right.

We have been to Madeira 8 times and stayed in the Cliff Bay on five occasions and we are going back in three weeks.

In terms of staff attention and friendliness, rooms, facilities and food the Cliff Bay is superb and I would recommend it to anyone without reservation.

A very minor complaint would be that, as a regular visitor to the hotel, the evening entertainment, although generally of high quality, tends to follow the same pattern every week with the same artists but, I emphasise, it's a minor complaint.

Do try lunch in the restaurant down at sea level--very relaxing, although it does spoil you for dinner in the evening.

Room Tip: We generally prefer Funchal view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JohnC22332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanRingertz, General Manager at Hotel The Cliff Bay, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Thank you for your very kind feedback here at Tripadvisor. I am pleased to hear that you hold our hotel so highly. To say that we the best hotel in the world would be pretentious, but we try to offer memorable holiday experiences for all our visitors. We are very proud of our staff and the beautiful island of Madeira.
We all look forward to welcome you back for another memorable stay at The Cliff Bay…

With kindest regards,

Jan E. Ringertz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Just returned from our third holiday at this hotel, obviously we love it. We chose a room with a full sea view as we like to have the sun on our balcony during the day The beds are especially comfortable. Anna our chambermaid was a delight and so efficient We did eat out more this year than in other years, why, we love the starters in the Rose Garden they are varied and delicious, the puds are predictable, but the main course is where we had difficulty. No we don't want British dishes, just a better selection of meats. We did find the vegetables which are now kept in open dishes much better. We loved the steak in the bar, it was cooked to perfection so that was a good alternative. Of course we will be back, hopefully our 91 year old friend who was with us will be back too.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jimaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanRingertz, General Manager at Hotel The Cliff Bay, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Thank you for your feedback here at Tripadvisor. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and that you managed to have a relaxing holiday. The beds are quite comfortable and a differentiating factor in all Porto Bay hotels. Your feedback is appreciated in our attempt to always improve further our hotel.

Hoping to see you soon again in Madeira.
Yours Sincerely,

Jan E. Ringertz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llanrwst, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We recently spent 5 nights here hoping for sun and relaxation. On arrival we were greeted by the concierge, checked in and given our room keys. Our bags were delivered to our room as our car was parked for us in the car park.
The room we were given wasn't really to our tastes and at the very end of the hotel. We decided to seek an alternative room the following morning. We were shown the only other 2 rooms left in the hotel and choose one on the 7th floor with a large sea view that suited us fine. The room was more expensive than the only originally booked but reception informed us there would be no extra charge which was very nice of them. We now settled in to enjoy our stay.
The breakfast's are delightful, easily the best choice and quality I have ever enjoyed. The hotel facilities are also to a very high standard and the extremely polite and pleasant staff are a credit to the hotel.
My wife was very ill one morning and the staff and management were very caring and helpful, calling the doctor and getting a prescription. Thank you so much for your assistance.
I would say that most of the clientele are retired and in their golden years so it's not a place I'd recommend to anyone in the younger crowd.
In summary an excellent hotel that is spotlessly clean and worthy of its 5 star's, it's reputation and returning guest's.

Room Tip: High level 7th floor, sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RichieLloyd66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanRingertz, General Manager at Hotel The Cliff Bay, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Thank you for your feedback. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. The Cliff Bay has a wide range of room categories that facilities specific location inside the hotel. We are very proud of our staff that I believe is one of the unique success factors of our hotel.
I am sad to hear that your wife was ill and hope that she got better rapidly.
I look forward to welcome you back in a near future.
Yours Sincerely,

Jan E. Ringertz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Have just returned from a second holiday at the Cliff Bay since a heart attack in February 2013. It was everything we expect from one of the very best hotels we have stayed at (we are both approaching 80). Great room overlooking the twinkling lights of Funchal. Great breakfast and some equally great evening meals in the Rose Garden. Had my birthday in the Michelin-starred Gallo D'Oro,

The staff are brilliant, and treat us like old friends returning. Couldn't be better. Stayed at a Heathrow hotel, but unfortunately my Honda Accord broke down on the home journey. It did not take the shine off a brilliant fortnight in our favourite hotel. We have already booked for Christmas.

Room Tip: We have always chosen the Funchal Sea View although it is more expensive than those overlooking the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anthony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanRingertz, General Manager at Hotel The Cliff Bay, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Thank you for your kind feedback and for your confidence in hosting your stay. I am delighted to hear that you had a good holiday when you returned back to our hotel again. I am pleased that you enjoyed our restaurants and that our staff made you feel “at home”. Sorry to hear that you Honda gave you an additional “holiday experience”, but despite this it seems that you arrived well back home again.
I look forward to welcome you back in the beautiful Christmas time.
Yours Sincerely,

Jan E. Ringertz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

Have stayed in the Cliff Bay on another visit to Funchal, second time didn't disappoint. The staff were accommodating and helpful without being intrusive. The hotel has every amenity that you could wish for and the whole ambience ensures that you get the most from your stay. Another great visit and will go back and if possible stay in other Porto Bay properties if the opportunity arises.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Nicholas h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanRingertz, General Manager at Hotel The Cliff Bay, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Thank you for feedback and you positive comments. I am glad that we managed to correspond to your expectations on this your return visit. Porto Bay Hotels & Resorts offers many different properties in Portugal and Brazil. I can comfortably recommend any of them as they are all quiet exceptional in their own ways.
I do however hope of welcoming you back to The Cliff Bay and Madeira Island.
Yours Sincerely,

Jan E. Ringertz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
1.3 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
0.5 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#4 of 85 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Porto Mare Hotel
Porto Mare Hotel
#7 of 85 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,977 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Residence
The Residence
#6 of 85 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
1.1 mi away
Lti Pestana Grand
Lti Pestana Grand
#16 of 85 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel The Cliff Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel The Cliff Bay

Property: Hotel The Cliff Bay
Address: Estrada Monumental, 147, Funchal, Madeira 9004-532, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Funchal
#2 Family Hotel in Funchal
#3 Business Hotel in Funchal
#3 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#4 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel The Cliff Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Atlantic Ocean stretches as far as the eye can see at the foot of The Cliff Bay which is perched on the top of a natural promontory. The hotel is surrounded by gardens with innumerable secluded corners and centenary palm trees extending to the very edge of the cliff face. The panorama is completed by a magnificent view over the bay of Funchal to the left of the hotel.The most influential restaurant guide in the world, the Michelin Guide, has awarded a star to Il Gallo d'Oro, The Cliff Bay's gourmet restaurant run by Chef Benoît Sinthon. This is Madeira's first and only star ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel The Cliff Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cliff Bay - Porto Bay Hotel Funchal
Cliff Bay Porto Funchal
Cliff Bay Hotel Funchal
Cliff Bay Hotel Madeira
Hotel The Cliff Bay Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing