We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Nearby Hotels
US$291
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$285
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$247
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$246
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$118
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$164
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$140
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$350
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$340
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$271
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$254
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$160
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$134
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$249
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$190
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$209
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$146
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$466
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (3,204)
Filter reviews
3,204 results
Traveller rating
2,751
360
76
10
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,751
360
76
10
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrose gardenmichelin star restaurantil gallopollofunchal viewle cliff barsea levellower poolpool stafftop floorwonderful hotelreturning guestssea waternothing is too much troublespa areadress codespa treatments
Filter
Updating list...
1,587 - 1,592 of 3,204 reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Visited this hotel for the first time in March 2013. We were celebrating our golden wedding, my wife suggested we try somewhere different and after much research we settled on Cliff Bay. The hotel is probably the nicest one I've ever stayed (including many trips to the USA on business) Your greeted every morning with breakfast in the dining room or on the terrace, the options would suit most peoples taste and the quality cannot be faulted. The hotel is spacious, very well decorated and very peaceful although well occupied. On leaving the hotel there is a short climb up to the main road, turn right and it's a pleasant 30 minute walk into old Funchal. Around the cable car area many restaurants can be found serving good quality food.

Dinner in the hotel restaurant is by reservation, and once again the quality is excellent. The hotel made such an impression on us we returned again this March and we will be back again either later this year or early 2015.

Room Tip: The view looking out at the Atlantic is well worth the cost of upgrading to a sea view.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Terry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanRingertz, General Manager at Hotel The Cliff Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I am delighted to hear that we are a preferred choice of hotel in comparison with some many other destinations. I hope that we will be able to welcome you back already this year.
With kindest regards,

Jan E. Ringertz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

This hotel is one of the best that we have stayed in. The service is second to none, the location is perfect and the hotel facilities are great. This is our first, but by no means our last, visit to this great hotel. Nothing is perfect, but this is close.

Room Tip: Rooms face East, West or South, just pick one for your preference for a sunny balcony, morning, evening or midday. Worth paying a bit extra for a superior upper floor room.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanRingertz, General Manager at Hotel The Cliff Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Thank you for your kind feedback. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we corresponded to your expectations. Our hotel is having a privileged location being close to Funchal and still with fantastic proximity to the Atlantic Ocean.
I hope to be able to welcome you back to Madeira and The Cliff Bay in a near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Jan E. Ringertz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Our first visit to Madeira, and we hope not our last. Our first visit to The Cliff Bay, and again, we hope not our last! We were upgraded from another Porto Bay hotel at the last minute, and were so glad we were. What a stunning place - the views, our top floor room with all the trimmings, the restaurants - especially 1 Michelin starred Il Gallo D'or, the cafes, the food, the leisure and spa facilities, the wonderful staff, the unexpected cocktail party, the peaceful atmosphere, the shuttle bus, the close proximity to Funchal Town, the warm sunshine in early March, the lovely Island of Madeira itself - all in all the perfect package. We couldn't have asked for more. The best holiday by a long way. Now we're spoilt for anything else!

Room Tip: Room 701. A 'Top Floor' room, it has a full sea view towards Funchal, Porto Santo Island in the distance. Quiet, and being the first room in the corridor, not very far from the lift.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Deborah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanRingertz, General Manager at Hotel The Cliff Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Thank you for your kind feedback. I am delighted to hear that we managed to correspond to your expectations and that your late change of hotel became a positive experience.
I hope that we will be able to welcome you back soon to any of the hotels of Porto Bay Hotels & Resorts.

Yours Sincerely,

Jan E. Ringertz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

This was our first stay at the Cliff Bay hotel, we had been recommended to stay there by friends. The service was excellent, all the requests we made were efficiently carried out. Our room with partial sea view looking towards Funchal was spacious and most comfortable. I am neurotic about noise and I can report the room was quiet, no inter room noise ! I imagine it is best to avoid the rooms over the bar or anywhere near the bar as they may well suffer from noise.
The hotel situation is lovely and scenic.
The food was very good if a little expensive, but never the less worth it.

Best summed up....we will be going back, guaranteed !!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DPG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanRingertz, General Manager at Hotel The Cliff Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Thank you for your feedback. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Regarding room preference our side sea view rooms are located in lower floors while top floors are a guarantee to be located further away from bars and restaurants.
Madeira is a beautiful destination with much to offer. I look forward to welcome you back to Madeira and The Cliff Bay.

Yours Sincerely,

Jan E. Ringertz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

My husband & I visited for the 1st time last week - we had toyed with Reids next door, which is renowned, but opted for Cliff Bay on the basis of their facilities - boy, are we glad we did! After driving past it a few times we spotted the sign..........and the experience began. A doorman unpoaded our bags & parked the car for us. We were checked in very quickly, and shown to our room (luggage followed). We had a superior seafacing room - perfect. Bathroom is fabulous - within it a separate shower, bath with shower over, and a glass cubicle for the loo & bidet. Good range of toiletries, and gown (which we wore around the spa area). Everywhere we went staff from the handyman, to the cleaners, waiting staff, pool staff, reception & doormen were all smiling & said hello. Not at all forced. Most definitely 5 star standard, but at the same time very relaxed. We didn't try the Mitchelin star restaurant (we couldn't get in........worth pointing out that gentlemen require a jacket &/or shirt & tie. Another restaurant doen't allow flipflops. Lunch restaurants are more relaxed. Towles are provided by the pool, and there are ample loungers. Beautiful arrangements of flowers are dotted all over the hotel. WE had an orchid in the bedroom, and fresh flowers in the bedroom. As for the breakfast buffet - quite simply the best we have ever sampled - I defy anyone to not find something to their taste. Many fruits, breads, pastries & the usual hot & cold fayre, fresh waffles & pancake too. Sparkling wine flows freely if so desired, and some local hooch. We travel extensively and Cliff Bay is up there with some of the top hotels we have stayed at. We particularly liked indoor /outdoor pool and spa area. We pretty much stayed around the hotel and Funchal in general, trying out local restaurants & the pub across the road (Hole in One), which was great for live music & people watching. We did pop into Reid's, which we found quite jaded and it confirmed for sure that we made the right choice with Cliff Bay. We dined in Reid's Italian restaurant - when I came back from the loo y husband said that he had spotted the difference between our hotel & Reid's. 'What?' - 'none of the staff here are smiling' - he was spot on. I kept looking for flaws - there were none! Minor critique - I don't especially want bathroom scales on holiday, but that is the worst I could come up with! We can't wait to go back, and next time for more than 5 days. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: We had a superior seafacing on the 8th floor - excellent.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Elaine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanRingertz, General Manager at Hotel The Cliff Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Thank you for your kind feedback. I am delighted to hear that we managed to correspond to your expectations. Our objective is to offer good facilities, excellence in service in a relax environment.
I very much look forward to welcome you back to Madeira and The Cliff Bay.

Yours Sincerely,

Jan E. Ringertz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews