We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Ranked #4 of 86 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Just Wonderful”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We wanted a nice hotel for my nieces first real trip abroad, this did not fail! Nice is actually an understatement, this hotel is beautiful. From the stunning displays of flowers to the wonderful views from our hotel room (601).
The reception staff were fantastic and helped book tours, gave advice on buses and guides, also helped with the problem of a guest not acting accordingly.
The room service was great, food over all extremely tastey.
The room was very clean, spacious, and the balcony was very well used, as we sat and watched the cruise ships sail in and out of the harbour.
The swimming pools were great, relaxing and the bar just sets off one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in.

The town is close enough to walk although the free bus is great, although you must book in advance if needing travel into Funchal.
To buy your own drinks in a small super market suited us better and the shop being just 5 minutes away was great. A large Coral beer at the hotel was €5.50. At the supermarket you can buy 6 for just the same amount.
I would advise you take a boat trip whilst in Madeira, we have been twice now and both times we have been able to see Dolphins. You can book this through the hotel reception.
Heading across to the other side of the Island to Porto Maniz was amazing too, although the tour guide wasnt the greatest, there are lots of companies to choose from.

Can not wait to return.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a sea view. Room 601 is a great room, with great views. The higher the floor the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Tigghogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanRingertz, General Manager at Hotel The Cliff Bay, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Thank you for your feedback. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and you mentioned us as one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in. Madeira has much to offer and the Atlantic Experiences include much from Sun, Pool, Sea bathing until deep sea fishing and Dolphin Watching from modern Catamarans.
I hope to welcome you back to Madeira again in a near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Jan E. Ringertz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,857 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,454
    316
    71
    10
    6
See reviews for
331
2,132
82
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,074)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Fantastic location, lovely rooms, excellent service & delicious food. Can't fault this hotel. Perfect in every way! Easter flower arrangements were spectacular. Staff very attentive & can't do enough for you!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank argentgee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanRingertz, General Manager at Hotel The Cliff Bay, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Thank you for your short and concise review. You get the points Location, Facilities, Food, Staff and then the flowers… Beautiful ingredients for a hotel…
I hope to welcome you back to Madeira again in a near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Jan E. Ringertz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clacton-on-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

This hotel was absolutely amazing,the whole experience blew us away.We would recommend you go there, What a wonderful place to stay.The food, the service,the whole experience was amazing .The weather was great,and the area was quiet.funchal is an interesting town split between the old and the new areas. A must is the cable car ride up to the village of Monte, we did not take the sledge ride down, it did look a bit rough on the cobbles.This was the best hotel we have stayed in on our travels so far.

Room Tip: Go for top floor with sea view or harbour view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Geoff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanRingertz, General Manager at Hotel The Cliff Bay, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Wow… thank you for your nice feedback. It is much rewarding to hear words like amazing and best hotel we have stayed in our travels so far. Spring is a beautiful time in Madeira and the flowers and flower festival is unique.
I hope to welcome you back to Madeira again in a near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Jan E. Ringertz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We stayed for a week at the Cliff Bay and were astounded at how good the experience was. In particular, the service level was excellent, with staff kind, smiling and efficient - keen to meet our needs and sort out our problems immediately. We have rarely found such a positive and friendly service approach in a large and busy hotel outside Thailand. We had only one minor housekeeping problem with the room: resolved immediately. We needed to sort out hire car options: information on the spot and reservation made as we stood at reception. There was no waiting or uncertainty on what arrangements had been made for us. Recommended service providers were efficient and beyond reproach, very reliable.

Our room was more than generous with two oversize double beds and good and clean facilities, and the view was remarkable, across the cliffs past Reid's Palace and down onto Funchal harbour with the city as a backdrop to the picture - a fine view particularly at night as well as early morning, and all visible from the bed. Breakfast was excellent with much choice and more friendly service, no sudden removal of food at closing time. As seemed the case with many guests, we chose to eat out locally for lunch and dinner, as we could not readily justify the hotel food and drink prices with so many enjoyable and better value-for-money alternatives so close at hand. So we are unable to judge dinner quality.

Relaxation facilities were very good with, for example, a warm and clean indoor/gated/outdoor pool in the hotel complex, plus jacuzzi and comfortable loungers. Staff again were enthusiastic and smiling - this is what guests want. Further outdoor facilities were available via elevator down the cliff side.

We will use this hotel again, without question. Congratulations to the staff and management for providing such an enjoyable and positive experience.

Room Tip: We assume that the superior rooms (or better) on the harbour side have a more spectacular all-round...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Novindcha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanRingertz, General Manager at Hotel The Cliff Bay, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Thank you for your very generous feedback. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we managed to correspond to your expectations. Our staff do their very best to satisfy the most discerning requests.
Our facilities are appreciated and the sea water pool is nice on warm summer days.
I hope to welcome you back to Madeira again in a near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Jan E. Ringertz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

This is a five star hotel and it wears the badge well. It is a modern building with decent soundproofing, hard wood fittings that will look good and last, marble floors etc., basically well thought through design. Rooms are a good size well fitted out and kitted out with all the usuals including safe, scales, an orchid..... Beds are a personal thing, I was comfortable my wife less so. Bathroom has double sinks, toilet cubicle with bidet, separate shower with rain head, drying line, nice towels etc. We were half board, food is very good in the buffet restaurant and very 'nouveau cuisine' in the Gallo D'Oro where you pay extra, a lot extra.

Service from all staff varies between good and outstanding. There are some there who were there there when we visited in 2008. Staff are empowered to deal with anything the customer throws at them and they are endlessly patient with some of the more challenging people.

Spa is brill according to my wife, pools and other facilities are lovely. My only gripes are that the dress code in the Gallo D'Oro is not enforced which is really annoying when you dress up for a special occasion and some other oik rolls up in jeans and a rugby shirt and the 'no nudity' is not enforced in the spa sauna areas.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SubarStaffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanRingertz, General Manager at Hotel The Cliff Bay, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Thank you for your feedback. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are very proud of our staff and they do their very best to leave positive holiday memories with our guests.
The Il Gallo d’Oro dress code is recommended use of Jacket or Tie. Habits differ widely among guests and different nationalities. We will do our best to ensure the comfort and enjoyment for future stays.
I hope to welcome you back to Madeira again in a near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Jan E. Ringertz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Lakes
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

This hotel is reviewed well by virtually all who stay here, and with good reason. The reason is that the staff are excellently trained and are clearly (having spoken to many of them) retained year after year. As a consequence they have a feeling of commitment to the service they provide guests.
Rooms are lovely, up-to-date and clean. Pubic areas are similarly elegant and welcoming.The views from the hotel are simply stunning.

The breakfast buffet is more than adequate, though the evening buffet selections can be just a little repetitive. However the Michelin starred restaurant is genuinely first class.
Yes, they know how to charge for most things, but they do so with such good grace, you really don't mind. We'll be back!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nicenickuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanRingertz, General Manager at Hotel The Cliff Bay, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Thank you for your feedback. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are very proud of our staff, many that has been with us for many years.
I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our food selection. Il gallo d’Oro offers a Michelin experience while the Rose Garden give buffet and a la carte choice.
I hope to welcome you back to Madeira again in a near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Jan E. Ringertz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Vacationing in Funchal for the Easter holiday was one of the best vacations I've ever been on. My husband and I were traveling with our parents, who were upgraded to the Peninsula Suite (best room in the hotel) upon arrival. They were over booked and kindly accomodates us to a luxury room. It had three balconies - would be a a 2.5 million dollar apartment in the NYC, easily.

The concierge were friendly and accommodating, informing us about hotel perks (such as the courtesy bus to other locations in Funchal). The hotel itself is beautiful - the grounds and room were spotless and the food (we only had breakfast and lunch there) was excellent. Staff is friendly and always willing to assist. I also had a spa treatment - prices were reasonable and service was excellent.

If you stay, please check out the Town Forum, which is filled with great shops! Also, take the cable car up to Monte and then a taboggin ride down - a very unique experience.

This is probably one of the nicest hotels I've ever stayed in. No complaints.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank on2thenext1-SM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanRingertz, General Manager at Hotel The Cliff Bay, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Thank you for your feedback here at Tripadvisor. I am delighted to hear that you had a memorable stay in Madeira. The room you had during your stay is special and I am really happy that you felt that this made your holiday one of the best.
I hope to welcome you back to Madeira again soon.

Yours Sincerely,

Jan E. Ringertz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
1.3 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
0.5 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#3 of 86 in Funchal
874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Porto Mare Hotel
Porto Mare Hotel
#7 of 86 in Funchal
2,039 reviews
0.1 mi away
VidaMar Resort Hotel Madeira
0.3 mi away
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
#6 of 86 in Funchal
1,364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel The Cliff Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel The Cliff Bay

Property: Hotel The Cliff Bay
Address: Estrada Monumental, 147, Funchal, Madeira 9004-532, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Funchal
#2 Family Hotel in Funchal
#2 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#3 Business Hotel in Funchal
#4 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#4 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel The Cliff Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Atlantic Ocean stretches as far as the eye can see at the foot of The Cliff Bay which is perched on the top of a natural promontory. The hotel is surrounded by gardens with innumerable secluded corners and centenary palm trees extending to the very edge of the cliff face. The panorama is completed by a magnificent view over the bay of Funchal to the left of the hotel.The most influential restaurant guide in the world, the Michelin Guide, has awarded a star to Il Gallo d'Oro, The Cliff Bay's gourmet restaurant run by Chef Benoît Sinthon. This is Madeira's first and only star ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TravelUp, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel The Cliff Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cliff Bay - Porto Bay Hotel Funchal
Cliff Bay Porto Funchal
Cliff Bay Hotel Funchal
Cliff Bay Hotel Madeira
Hotel The Cliff Bay Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing