We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An elegant hotel, but an older, well-moneyed clientele” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel The Cliff Bay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Ranked #3 of 87 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“An elegant hotel, but an older, well-moneyed clientele”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

First of all, I chose this hotel because it was #1 on TripAdvisor for Funchal back in about February 2014. This was our final hotel in Portugal, so a bit of a splurge. The hotel is not actually in Funchal, but there is a complimentary bus service, albeit with limited hours. I guess if you're going to stay at the Cliff Bay, you would probably just take a taxi back from downtown Funchal. I chose to walk and be aware that returning to the Cliff Bay is uphill. The clientele is older and European, who else can afford this place? Ha! There is a one star Michelin restaurant on the grounds, Il Gallo d'Oro. We tried it, but we actually preferred the one star Michelin restaurant in Porto, The Yeatman (see my previous review). The breakfast buffet is sumptuous and the staff is ever helpful. This is Portugal and you can be assured everyone speaks English fluently. I also noticed many of the clientele were return guests. I am not surprised in the least.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank QatarJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanRingertz, General Manager at Hotel The Cliff Bay, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for your feedback. The city of Funchal has ca 112.000 inhabitants and is therefore large enough to include various areas. The Cliff Bay, like almost all hotels in Madeira, is located outside the direct city centre with comfortable walking distance to the town square.
Most of our staff are multi-lingual and have been with us for many years.
I am glad that you enjoyed Il Gallo d’Oro. It is always difficult to compare restaurants but all Michelin starred restaurants are special, each within its own way.
I hope to welcome you back in a near future.
Yours Sincerely,
Jan E: Ringertz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,673 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,303
    289
    65
    10
    6
See reviews for
312
1,983
80
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,001)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

After 5 stays at another superb hotel in Madeira we thought a change this year because of recommendations would make for a new holiday experience on this most beautiful island. The hotel is not the best from the exterior and the gardens are not particularly well kept. The interior is fabulous. The food at all times is excellent with my favourite meal, breakfast, outstanding. The evening meals are also excellent and we had a fabulous meal at the Bistro, a lovely change from the buffet which although terrific becomes a little boring as the days go by. Lunchtime snacks were also excellent. All other facilities are exceptional. Now for the downside. Our room on the 7th floor was very poor and was nothing like the booking through Thompson A La Carte. It was fairly small and quite shabby. Initially it smelt musty and unused. The toilet was blocked (not our doing). The shower door did not fit and therefore the bathroom floor flooded. We were given two bath mats to help dry the floor. During the early part of the holiday we had an infestation of what appeared to be small ants, as did the next room. The air conditioning failed, presumably a blown fuse which also put the fridge out of action. No perks came with the room. The balcony was in a superb position for the sun, i.e. on a corner overlooking both Funchal and its harbour and a full sea view but because of the balcony wall one had to stand to appreciate the view. The only furniture on the balcony were two old sit up type wicker chairs, what about sun loungers? There were no UK TV channels, just a European Sky news, in this satellite age. No member of staff ever visited to ask about our thoughts, etc, this we have never had before. Of all the matters outlined and reported, no one ever asked whether we were happy with what had been done to rectify the problems. Two days prior to the holiday finishing, the exterior light at our bedroom door failed but was not replaced. So in conclusion, an excellent hotel but those in charge need to know whats going on in parts of the hotel well away from the lounges where they swan around with big grins on their faces. Will we return, possibly in time but meanwhile its back to the hotel where we have had five superb holidays, but this year was worth a try.

Room Tip: Sea Rooms are best but improvement are necessary.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Genealogist011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanRingertz, General Manager at Hotel The Cliff Bay, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for your feedback. I am sad to hear that we didn’t manage to completely correspond to your expectations. I have taken careful note of your feedback and we will take this in consideration for further improvements. In general your feedback differs quite widely compared to what we normally receive whereas management and staff presence is appreciated. Unfortunately the British TV channels have been taken of the satellites reaching Madeira so it is becoming more difficult to transmit our preferred TV channels.
Thank you for having chosen our hotel and I hope you will return many more times to the beautiful Madeira Island.
Sincerely yours,
Jan E: Ringertz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

Excellent hotel with all you need. You actually dont need to leave the hotel unless you want to experience "the real world".

At Cliff Bay everything works perfectly and the very attentive and polite staff is always there to help you. Most of them speak 3-4 languages fluently.

The hotel is very stylish and elegant but still it feels cosy. It is situated at the coast and both the hotel rooms and pool areas are built in several levels in order to have a beautiful view over the sea and the bay of Funchal.

It is a place for total relaxation and there is no trafic noise. The spa and many pool areas are well maintained and several reastaurants and bars are ready to serve excellent food for you especially the Michelin restaurant Il Gallo d' Oro.

Only drawback is that you feel sad when you have to leave and go back home!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Kristian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanRingertz, General Manager at Hotel The Cliff Bay, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for your kind feedback. I am delighted to hear that you had a most enjoyable stay at our hotel. We do our very best to make you feel comfortable and at ease and you are very right… the only drawback is having to go back to reality.
With kindest regards,
Jan E: Ringertz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

This was our third visit to the Cliff Bay Hotel. It really is a very special place. The staff are so friendly and helpful making sure you have a great holiday. We went half board but my husband and I will go bed and breakfast when we visit next year, as we have seen some great restaurants near the hotel.
We booked a harbour view room on the 4th floor - amazing.
One little negative - it would be great if the hotel served a bottle of water on the table for guests every evening - free rather than having to pay 5 euros!!!!!!!
We know who the manager is because we have visited this hotel 3 times but we think he should be more visible especially at the Cocktail evenings, as lots of new guests do not know who he is.
The food is wonderful - lovely fruit in the morning and so many choices in the evening.
Keep up the good work Cliff Bay and we will see you all next July!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JudySherlock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanRingertz, General Manager at Hotel The Cliff Bay, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for your kind feedback. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. The view towards Funchal and the Atlantic is very beautiful. I glad to hear that you were missing me. Unfortunately I do spend some time outside the hotel but we have a strong team of managers that can assist with any matter.
Looking forward to welcome you back again in July.

With kindest regards,
Jan E: Ringertz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elloughton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

What a wonderful time we had in Madeira, our second visit to the Cliff Bay but it won't be our last. The hotel facilities including all the staff were excellent. Fancy somewhere top class then you must visit this hotel, we had a full sea view over looking Funchal harbour, you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Rooms from the 5th floor upwards with a full sea view are excellent, spectacular views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanRingertz, General Manager at Hotel The Cliff Bay, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for your feedback. Great to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and that you value our service and facilities.
I hope to welcome you back again in a near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Jan E. Ringertz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

My husband and I have just returned from our second visit to the Cliff Bay and as on our first visit it was absolutely faultless. We had an Executive Suite on the 5th Floor with stunning sea views, and lovely facilities. All the staff are very helpful and nothing is too much trouble. Their aim is to make your holiday a wonderful experience and they certainly accomplished that for me. The food is excellent. You are spoilt for choice at breakfast with a wonderful display of fresh fruit, cold meats and cheeses, plus an selection of pastries which my husband thoroughly enjoyed. This year the hotel management introduced a bird of prey to the establishment to eliminate the pigeon and sea gull problem from previous years, and it has certainly worked. The bird is well looked after and after speaking to his handler, I found out that he flies at least 7 hours a day so he is not caged up for any huge length of time. Kozro is also very sociable and likes to be stroked and talked to. He was a definite attraction with all the guests in the mornings and evenings. It is expensive to stay at the Cliff Bay but well worth it. Like us I think anyone visiting will want to return again and again.

Room Tip: If finances allow, chose an Executive Suite with a sea view. The extra cost if well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Samuels1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
106 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

This is a first class hotel with great staff. They are nearly all cheerful, keen to help and interested in whether you are enjoying your stay. Basically they have class in the best sense of the word. There are numerous swimming pools which in mid July were never full and there was an endless supply of towels and loungers, some indoors for those who do not like the sun. Everything was spotless and well maintained. Take the hotel tour so that you can see all its facilities. My wife asked what a tree in the gardens was the guide did not know, but a day later the guide gave her a leaflet she had prepared describing it in detail. Best of all are the cheerful and helpful staff who are keen to ensure you enjoy your stay.
We arranged transfers with the hotel from the airport to the hotel at a charge of €29 which appears reasonsble for a 25 min journey. We were met by a porter who took our luggage before we booked in. We were a bit worried as he never asked our names. However, he found us soon after we booked in and took us to our room on the first floor. Reception is on floor 00 you go DOWN to the first floor. The second and third floors were somewhere inbetween. Our room was on the first floor near the Rose Garden restaurant where we had buffet dinner and breakfast. Arrive early for dinner (7 to 7.15) if you want a seat on the outside terrace with a good view of the bay. On half board, breakfast and evening meal are free in the Rose Garden restaurant. Coffee and Drinks are extra. The dress code of no jeans, shorts or flip flops was not enforced. For dinner and breakfast there is a huge choice and plenty of it. The dinners were themed with Italian, multinational, mediterranian etc. themes on different days. So you did not get bored. There was a wandering saxophonist one night who was great. We ate alfresco in the Blue Lagoon restaurant for a Portugese themed dinner which was excellent, with again great music from a guitar and mandolin.
Our room was quiet with a balcony and a great view over the bay towards Funchal. Wifi was OK in my room but limited to two devices. Though there is unlimited wifi access in reception. Only if you stay on the top floor are free water and fruit juices provided in your room. The mini bar is well stocked. Water and coke are €3.50 a bottle sounds reasonable until you take a short walk to the local supermarket Paraiso where water is €0.25 a bottle and a can of diet coke is €0.68. I do think that all rooms should be provided with a least a couple of bottles of free water a day. There are facilities for making tea in your room. Our room had two double beds made up separately but pushed together each with 3 pillows, two the width of the bed and one smaller pillow. The bathroom had a bath and shower plus a second stand alone shower plus a toilet and bidet. It took us 2days to find the hair dryer hidden below the his and her sinks! The bath towels are huge; in fact I found them a bit difficult to cope with as I have arthritis in my hands. Otherwise the bathroom was excellent just the right size with a great power shower.
The TV had Portuguese channels plus, among others, CNN, BBC world news and Euro sport. The air conditioning is great and switches off when you open the doors to balcony.
There is a shuttle bus between the three hotels in the chain which is free. We took it to go on Christopher Columbus boat trip along the coast which we highly recommend. We went on the 10.30 am trip ending at 1pm. Unfortunately the next shuttle bus was at 3.30. However, no problem, as the taxi fair was only €5. Taxi drivers were friendly and only charged the meter price but were very happy with a small €1-2 tip. The only exception was a taxi driver from outside the hotel who added an extra 50% to the meter charge and dumped us about 100 metres from our destination, fortunately we had a map and found it eventually.
I had my first ever professional back massage in the spa for €49. It was great and they have a wellness room for you to relax in afterwards. Here I dozed off to the consternation of my wife who could not understand why a 40 min massage was taking an hour and a half!
Leaving, you get an offer to join their prestige club with discounts if you come again. Before arriving I booked by email a taxi with the hotel for 2pm to return to the airport. Checking the night before I found it was booked for 11.30 am. Our flight left at 5.30 pm! So check your bookings. Checking out was very efficient.

Room Tip: We had one of the cheaper rooms on level one facing Funchal. This gave a good view of Funchal and th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JonathanIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
1.3 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
0.5 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#4 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Residence
The Residence
#6 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 775 reviews
0.4 mi away
Porto Mare Hotel
Porto Mare Hotel
#7 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,927 reviews
1.1 mi away
Lti Pestana Grand
Lti Pestana Grand
#16 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel The Cliff Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel The Cliff Bay

Property: Hotel The Cliff Bay
Address: Estrada Monumental, 147, Funchal, Madeira 9004-532, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Funchal
#1 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#2 Family Hotel in Funchal
#3 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#3 Business Hotel in Funchal
#4 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel The Cliff Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Atlantic Ocean stretches as far as the eye can see at the foot of The Cliff Bay which is perched on the top of a natural promontory. The hotel is surrounded by gardens with innumerable secluded corners and centenary palm trees extending to the very edge of the cliff face. The panorama is completed by a magnificent view over the bay of Funchal to the left of the hotel.The most influential restaurant guide in the world, the Michelin Guide, has awarded a star to Il Gallo d'Oro, The Cliff Bay's gourmet restaurant run by Chef Benoît Sinthon. This is Madeira's first and only star ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , TravelUp, Odigeo, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel The Cliff Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cliff Bay - Porto Bay Hotel Funchal
Cliff Bay Porto Funchal
Cliff Bay Hotel Funchal
Cliff Bay Hotel Madeira
Hotel The Cliff Bay Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing