We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Flawless!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Ranked #3 of 87 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Flawless!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed in an ocean view room, bed and breakfast, for a week. We booked based on the good reviews and weren't disappointed. The hotel is 5 star. The numerous staff are superb and very efficient whilst being unobtrusive. Rooms were immaculate, stunning view, and the turn down service is a nice touch. The breakfast in the Rose Garden is delicious, with a huge variety of fresh and tasty food. We spent most days by the pool. Again, the complementary lemon sorbet twice daily was a nice touch. The hotel makes every guest feel special, and we are already planning our next visit.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 73Antonia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,718 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,341
    295
    66
    10
    6
See reviews for
318
2,018
80
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,017)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

We just stayed at The Cliff Bay for 5 nights and we were anxious what to expect as it is a very traditional hotel and we usually go for modern but we had a very relaxing stay. The outside areas are great - you can always find a quiet area and truly relax. There are 2 pools or you can go in the sea.
We stayed in a top floor room and it was lovely, very clean, spacious and quiet. Huge bed and lovely view.
Breakfast was in the II Gallo d'oro restaurant and apart from one lady who was useless it was fantastic. Again relaxing, good selection and service.
We ate at the II Gallo d'oro restaurant one night and it was superb. We have eaten at several mitchelin restaurants and this was delightful. The food looked amazing and was truly delicious - highly recommend. The only complaint is the dress code - my husband took a smart shirt and jacket but there were people in there who quite frankly looked scruffy which is annoying when you make such an effort and there is supposed to be a dress code in place. You must eat there.
Overally we really enjoyed our stay here - there are still some points that need addressing but generally a very good hotel.
The spa is wonderful and well priced for ESPA treatments.
It is worth paying extra for a top floor room and enjoying the little extras - if you have booked this hotel I cannot see how you could be disappointed.

Room Tip: top floor room with view to Funchal
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CDW35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

This hotel is definately 5 star .The position could be no better .Rooms with lovely views Breakfast in the rose garden is something special .All the staff from reception to room service are very helpful and nothing is to much trouble for them .Cable car and gardens a must .Plenty of good restaurants near by .Will return again next year Brian&marnie

Room Tip: All good rooms from sea view to garden view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank henry186332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guisborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Just returned from our 3rd holiday at this top class hotel. When we arrived and shown our room we were slightly disappointed with the size and requested an upgrade to 5th floor. This was arranged within 30 minutes while we had complimentary drinks. Housekeeping excellent, choice of eating places and good entertainment.

Room Tip: 5th floor worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Huttongate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanRingertz, General Manager at Hotel The Cliff Bay, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for your feedback. I am pleased to see that you had a pleasant stay with us and an enjoyable holiday.
Hoping to welcome you back in a near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Jan E. Ringertz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

My Husband and I have stayed at this Hotel four times and every time is just as good, nothing is to much trouble for the staff they are all very nice people. The Hotel is very well kept beautiful flowers every where the Rooms are big and very comfortable, Breakfast is one of the best I have ever had such a lot to choose from. We only stay Bed & Breakfast as there are so many good places to eat in and around Funchal We use the Restaurant Casal de Penha Terrace Bar it is behind were the Savoy use to be great food and Friendly Staff, The Hotel does meal deals and we spoke to people that eat there and they all said that they are very good a lot of people never leave the Hotel. We have just come home from a relaxing week and will book again for next year ...Highly recommended

Room Tip: Funchal Facing room but all the rooms have good views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vivienne w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanRingertz, General Manager at Hotel The Cliff Bay, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for your kind feedback. I am pleased that you had another memorable stay at our hotel. We much praise our staff that do their very best to deliver excellence in guest service and experience.
Hoping to welcome you back for a fifth time next year.

Yours Sincerely,

Jan E. Ringertz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alsager, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

This is our third visit and will deff not be our last. This time it was my 60th birthday and I was really spoilt we had room 821 up on the 8 th floor looking over funchal with a fantastic view and room which we just could not fault. There were many extras included as we were prestige members which you are made after your first visit. Our first 2 years we went with a holiday package company which was fine but this time I wanted to add extras etc so decided to book the hotel direct and what a difference that made we were able to discuss everything with the hotel either by phone od email and that seemed to make it even better if that was possible. We had meal vouchers for the rose garden but after having my 60 th in the 1 star Michelin restaurant we decided to eat there every night apart from Sunday. Food was just fantastic. There was nothing that I can add to this review of any faults we ended up trying to find some! But nope nothing could have been improved they even seem somehow to remember your names which is something when the hotel was completely full. We are going to book for new year 2016 as 2015 is already full.

Ps. They even have there own hawk and keeper to keep away the other birds from the hotel how good is that!

Room Tip: Get a room facing funchal on the top floors as they are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 20yearson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanRingertz, General Manager at Hotel The Cliff Bay, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for your positive feedback. I am pleased to hear that you opted for one of our very popular top floor rooms. The Cliff Bay offer a wide selection of food service but the Michelin starred Il Gallo d’Oro is always special.
I sent you a private message regarding room availability and hope that we will be able to assist for future stays.
Hoping to welcome you back in a near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Jan E. Ringertz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

We have been making it a point to break our annual journey to the US, at a convenient halfway destination. We try and make it a new country or definitely a new destination we have not visited earlier. We chose Morocco and the Madeira Islands this year. Though we were somewhat disappointed with our Morocco stay in the Riads, we were amply compensated with our 4 day stay in The Cliff Bay hotel in Funchal. The room we were given, the breakfasts on the deck overlooking the Atlantic Ocean, the facilities and the service was of the highest standard. This was a real break for us after the arduous travels through Morocco.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bish39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanRingertz, General Manager at Hotel The Cliff Bay, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for your feedback and sharing traveler’s photos. I am pleased to hear that you opted for Madeira and The Cliff Bay. We have a privileged position and many guests return to our hotel. I hope that I will have the opportunity to also welcome you back in a near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Jan E. Ringertz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
1.3 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
0.5 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#4 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Porto Mare Hotel
Porto Mare Hotel
#7 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,957 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Residence
The Residence
#6 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 785 reviews
1.1 mi away
Lti Pestana Grand
Lti Pestana Grand
#16 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel The Cliff Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel The Cliff Bay

Property: Hotel The Cliff Bay
Address: Estrada Monumental, 147, Funchal, Madeira 9004-532, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Funchal
#2 Family Hotel in Funchal
#3 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#3 Business Hotel in Funchal
#4 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel The Cliff Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Atlantic Ocean stretches as far as the eye can see at the foot of The Cliff Bay which is perched on the top of a natural promontory. The hotel is surrounded by gardens with innumerable secluded corners and centenary palm trees extending to the very edge of the cliff face. The panorama is completed by a magnificent view over the bay of Funchal to the left of the hotel.The most influential restaurant guide in the world, the Michelin Guide, has awarded a star to Il Gallo d'Oro, The Cliff Bay's gourmet restaurant run by Chef Benoît Sinthon. This is Madeira's first and only star ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel The Cliff Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cliff Bay - Porto Bay Hotel Funchal
Cliff Bay Porto Funchal
Cliff Bay Hotel Funchal
Cliff Bay Hotel Madeira
Hotel The Cliff Bay Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing