We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply The Best”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Ranked #3 of 87 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
North East England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Simply The Best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

We stayed at the Cliff Bay Hotel in June of this year.
This was our first time to Madeira and the island, the people and Cliff bay hotel did not disappoint at all.
I had upgraded the room to a high floor room asking reception to choose a nice one.
They did a very good job, It was lovely quiet with stunning views, the hotel and whole holiday was so relaxing.
The staff are all attentive efficient and polite. A couple stood out there was Sonia from the bar and the Manageress from breakfast who also worked at the pool restaurant, both were extremely efficient and friendly not to forget the chamber maids who do a fabulous job.
It has been our privilege to live in many countries Bermuda being one and I can say that
Madeira has the same laid back friendly atmosphere and although we have always made it our policy to never return to the same hotel in order to get new experiences however we have succumbed and re-booked the Cliff Bay for July 2015. What more can I say!!

Room Tip: Higher Floors recommend
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DubaiBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,711 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,334
    295
    66
    10
    6
See reviews for
316
2,014
80
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,014)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

The Cliff Bay Hotel is a wonderfull place to stay, staff were all extremely pleasant and helpfull, facilities were superb, sun terraces were scattered around the sea edge or higher up if you wished, this meant they catered for all tastes, no matter what time of day you went to enjoy the sun there was always plenty of very comfortable loungers available.A very peaceful, relaxing hotel.The room was very spacious, very clean and well presented (bed was enormous)Great location for walking out and enjoying the coastal walk whether you turn left or right as you exit the hotel.Both me and my wife are in our mid 50, s and travel quite a lot and we have to say this is one of the best hotels we have ever stayed in.Try the cable car with terrific views then take a tobogan back down again, you can walk back into town following the tobogan ride, take you about 30mins and will save you 30euros in taxi fares.Try Goya and Mozart restaurants with there special deals for superb food and wine for only 39 euro each.Would highly recommend this hotel and Madeira.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank george h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

Our fourth visit to this hotel....it's like meeting an old friend. The service etc is magnificent, many of the staff recognise regular visitors and are willing to offer whatever help is required for you to enjoy your stay. The B&B option together with an evening meal package (bought at the hotel after arrival) allows flexibility in terms of visiting some of the Islands restaurants. The Blue Lagoon pool side bar has an excellent salad bar!
I suspect that having already looked at some options for next year we may well make a fifth visit...it's really good value for money compared to other hotels of similar standing.
L&K G

Room Tip: A Funchal view room enjoys early morning sunshine on the balcony.....good for the 'wake up'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Keith G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

We have just returned from a wonderful 2 weeks' holiday at the Cliff Bay, our second visit to this outstanding hotel. Everything is superb. The food is delicious, especially the sumptuous breakfast buffet each day and the afternoon teas and all the staff are so helpful and welcoming. The room was spacious and the view from the balcony is breathtaking. It is a marvellous place just to escape and have a relaxing holiday. Well located and the free bus shuttle into Funchal is easy. Good restaurants and attractions within walking distance too. Nightly music in the bar and terrace was a perfect way to end each day. Thank you and we will definitely return.

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the sea; well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oaktree3952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

We have stayed at this hotel a few times now and can't wait for our next weeks stay there in October.

This is a 5 Star hotel and it most certainly is rated correctly. The restaurants, spa, both pool areas and the sea view rooms are exceptional as are the staff who cannot do enough to make your stay a memorable experience. Breakfast in the Rose Garden is fabulous!

You have access to swim in the sea but I haven't been brave enough and with the two great pools to choose from, why bother.

Once again, can't wait to return.

Kind regards, Robert and Pauline

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pauline D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

We stayed at the Cliff Bay for a week in early July. 5 Star Hotels are awarded there rating on a set criteria of services and facilities they provide,i.e. health and spa centre,24 Hr Reception etc and not necessarily the quality or luxury of the hotel which is why sometimes guests can feel that the 5 Star hotel they have chosen doesn't match up to their expectations.No need to worry about that with the Cliff Bay as it oozes quality!

The check in was very smooth and efficient,we never saw our cases from getting out of the taxi until we walked into our room where they was waiting for us to unpack them,very efficient.As we arrived early evening we was quite hungry so decided to go out for something to eat.After a quick check around the room found that the mini bar fridge wasn't working so mentioned this to reception on our way out for some food.On arriving back 40mins later the fridge had been replaced and merrily chilling.Great service.This level of quality of service continued through out our stay.

Our room was very well appointed,very large,very comfortable bed with good quality bedding,fluffy white towels in the bathroom with bathrobe and slippers and quality toiletries!There is a separate WC in the bathroom and a large rainfall shower cubicle plus the bath and twin sinks.We had a room on the high floors which allowed us to have breakfast in the Il Gallo d'oro restaurant.

The breakfast was very good,in the Il Gallo d'oro restaurant and always plenty of choice and a beautiful setting to dine in the mornings.The staff in here are all excellent and very helpful, and this level of service from the staff was replicated all through the hotel,a big thank you!

The outside terraces and levels are all immaculate and we never had any trouble to find a sun lounger and parasol.

If you are looking for a quality hotel in a great location in Funchal you will not be disappointed with the Cliff Bay.Choose your room with care from previous reviewers comments and you shouldn't be disappointed. Some rooms, such as Mountain view rooms ,should read Car Park view, but if the view is not essential these are bargain rooms.Otherwise it is a choice between Funchal view or sunset view and of course your budget!! Higher floor rooms are obviously further away from any noise pollution from the activities of the hotel but come with a premium on the price.

This Hotel ticks all the boxes and we will return in the future and would like to thank ALL the staff for a very enjoyable stay and can highly recommend this hotel to you,Enjoy!

Kind Regards

Keith and Lesley.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MrsTDrBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

We have stayed in this great hotel for our honeymoon and we will never forget this magic place. We had a room at the top floor 806 with amazing views on Fuchal and ocean. Excellent and professional staff. Great food, nicely decorated rooms and relaxing atmosphere in hotel. We enjoyed the music in the evening at Cliff bar. Curtesy bus that will take you to the city centar and lido for free.

Room Tip: top floor rooms - we stayed at 806 and it was simply great
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marija_MB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
1.3 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
0.5 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#4 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Porto Mare Hotel
Porto Mare Hotel
#7 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,952 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Residence
The Residence
#6 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
1.1 mi away
Lti Pestana Grand
Lti Pestana Grand
#16 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel The Cliff Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel The Cliff Bay

Property: Hotel The Cliff Bay
Address: Estrada Monumental, 147, Funchal, Madeira 9004-532, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Funchal
#2 Family Hotel in Funchal
#3 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#3 Business Hotel in Funchal
#4 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel The Cliff Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Atlantic Ocean stretches as far as the eye can see at the foot of The Cliff Bay which is perched on the top of a natural promontory. The hotel is surrounded by gardens with innumerable secluded corners and centenary palm trees extending to the very edge of the cliff face. The panorama is completed by a magnificent view over the bay of Funchal to the left of the hotel.The most influential restaurant guide in the world, the Michelin Guide, has awarded a star to Il Gallo d'Oro, The Cliff Bay's gourmet restaurant run by Chef Benoît Sinthon. This is Madeira's first and only star ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, TravelUp, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel The Cliff Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cliff Bay - Porto Bay Hotel Funchal
Cliff Bay Porto Funchal
Cliff Bay Hotel Funchal
Cliff Bay Hotel Madeira
Hotel The Cliff Bay Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing