We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top view and nice, large and clean rooms !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Ranked #4 of 86 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Top view and nice, large and clean rooms !”
Reviewed 27 August 2014

This hotel has a top location and a beautiful view to the Atlantic Ocean !

+ points : Very large and clean rooms, and comfortable beds
Value of food of breakfast is very good
Very clean and quiet hotel ! Nice and fresh flowers everywhere !
Dinner at Portuguese Evening was top !
Swimming pool and pool service is ok

- points : Juices at breakfast are not good, why no fresh juices or quality orange juice ?
Theme buffet in the evening, we found poor, no choice and the dessert was a mess,
too expensive, we were happy we didn't book half board.
Too quiet maybe ?

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BRENT L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,857 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,454
    316
    71
    10
    6
See reviews for
331
2,132
82
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,074)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Words do not do this place justice. 15 years of travel of travel to 30 some countries and never have I ever stayed in a nicer place. They gave us a complimentary bottle of champagne because we were celebrating our wedding. Throughout our stay the staff was incredibly attentive. The grounds are immaculate with fantastic views and an amazing ocean/pool swimming combo. Good weightroom, great food (including an ample breakfast), and wonderful entertainment. Both the folkloric Madeira singing and dancing in addition to the wonderful jazz ensemble was a welcome relief from the stale 80s English covers with bad accents that tends to proliferate nice hotels. Reid's gets credit for being older, but if you're going to shell out some money, this is the place you want to be.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grant-Brooks B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Stayed for a week from 18th to 25th August 2014. Had an amazing time and would certainly stay at this hotel again. Both my husband and I had two spa treatments each....his first was disappointing as the masseuse (Susan/susannah?) was too chatty and also hinted on getting tips/gifts left for her by customers....very unprofessional! The other treatments were incredible though..... Both Sonia and Alex were amazing. We only are the buffet breakfast at the hotel which we found superb and certainly suited everything we needed. The hotel was clean, tidy and the staff couldn't have been more hopeful.
Would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: See view incredible but not compulsory if you don't want to pay extra for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LYNN T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coleraine, Northern Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for ten days which really isn't long enough. The facilities, staff, food and overall atmosphere was just fantastic! I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough. The Rose Garden Restaurant staff, particularly the Maître d were all wonderfully attentive without being intrusive. The other bars and service areas such as the poolside and Spa were comfortable and well supervised. If you do go have at least one meal in the Gallo d'Oro.
Madeira itself is a great holiday destination with great weather and lots to see and do.
A great holiday, thanks!!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rincewind05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northwich
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

Staff wonderful, hotel great and views to die for! Second visit, looking forward to our third. Breakfasts are probably the best, with a choice of just about everything including Buck's Fizz.
We opted for a Funchal view and it is well worth it. Spa facilities great my wife and I had two different treatments, not cheap but great.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank steven h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

We are back home after spending a wonderful vacation at the Cliff Bay hotel.
Everything was perfect!
We had a beautiful room with the best view possible.
The staff was exceptionally pleasant, the hotel, the food, the facilities – couldn't be better.
I hope to be back as soon as possible!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lolik62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tours, France
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

I guess I must have missed something?! Mostly picked this hotel on the basis if the trip advisor comments, but over all was disappointed.
Good points:
Good view of Funchal, good size rooms, very clean, nice facilities.
However, for me the Hotel lacks any character, it's just a Holiday factory. I was hugely disappointed that they allow people to reserve sun beds, and whilst I asked what their policy was regarding this it appeared that although they didn't encourage this practice, neither did they truly discourage it, which made securing a sun bed a challenge at times - this for me in a 5* Hotel was simply unacceptable!
In addition to this, one evening I asked for the use of an iron (published in the literature as a standard service), I had to call 3 times during a half hour period to re-ask, finally on the final time of asking I was told that "they were struggling to find an iron"
- again not a 5* hotel response.
For me though, the cherry on the cake was that we received an invitation to a "welcome" meeting on day 6 of our 7 day holiday!!!!!
In essence, big hotel, 25 minute walk (big hill to come back) from centre of Funchal, lacks atmosphere, with a disappointing customer service level to customer requests/complaints.
Wouldn't revisit!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank JaneM1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
1.3 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
0.5 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#3 of 86 in Funchal
874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Porto Mare Hotel
Porto Mare Hotel
#7 of 86 in Funchal
2,039 reviews
0.1 mi away
VidaMar Resort Hotel Madeira
0.3 mi away
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
#6 of 86 in Funchal
1,364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel The Cliff Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel The Cliff Bay

Property: Hotel The Cliff Bay
Address: Estrada Monumental, 147, Funchal, Madeira 9004-532, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Funchal
#2 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#2 Family Hotel in Funchal
#3 Business Hotel in Funchal
#4 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#4 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel The Cliff Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Atlantic Ocean stretches as far as the eye can see at the foot of The Cliff Bay which is perched on the top of a natural promontory. The hotel is surrounded by gardens with innumerable secluded corners and centenary palm trees extending to the very edge of the cliff face. The panorama is completed by a magnificent view over the bay of Funchal to the left of the hotel.The most influential restaurant guide in the world, the Michelin Guide, has awarded a star to Il Gallo d'Oro, The Cliff Bay's gourmet restaurant run by Chef Benoît Sinthon. This is Madeira's first and only star ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Ebookers, Priceline, TravelUp, Booking.com, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel The Cliff Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cliff Bay - Porto Bay Hotel Funchal
Cliff Bay Porto Funchal
Cliff Bay Hotel Funchal
Cliff Bay Hotel Madeira
Hotel The Cliff Bay Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing