We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“beautiful, quiet & peaceful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Ranked #3 of 87 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
County Mayo, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“beautiful, quiet & peaceful”
Reviewed 28 August 2014

Visited the cliff bay with my husband and baby boy in September 2013, had such a lovely holiday. The hotel was clean and plush, the staff were all lovely, especially to my little boy. When cleaning staff left a chocolate on our pillows in the evening, they would leave a packet of sweets on my little boys cot pillow-such a nice touch! It was our wedding anniversary too and they had left flowers, wine and a card in our room on arrival! The staff in the breakfast room were particularly lovely and I can't say enough about the breakfast food-out of this world-fresh delicious fruit, pastries and champagne had to be my favourite holiday treat! The pool areas are all gorgeous and there were always lots of loungers, my little boy enjoyed the baby pool too. My only extra wish was for more vegetarian options on the restaurant and lunch time menus! I particularly enjoyed the views from the garden restaurant, it was so quiet and beautiful. Would go back in a heartbeat and highly recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: We didn't have a sea view but definitely get one if you can!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank newyummymummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,711 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,334
    295
    66
    10
    6
See reviews for
316
2,014
80
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,014)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2014

This is a great hotel with awesome facilities (such as spa, table tennis and a great 'chill-out' bar, as well as a great view and a convenient beach (if any rock-beach at Funchal can be called convenient)

We found the main hotel-restaurant somewhat mediocre compared to nearby restaurants outside such as Lareira Portuguesa (http://www.tripadvisor.co.uk/Restaurant_Review-g189167-d1542378-Reviews-Lareira_Portuguesa-Funchal_Madeira_Madeira_Islands.html) and Chalet Vicente (http://www.tripadvisor.co.uk/Restaurant_Review-g189167-d2138863-Reviews-Chalet_Vicente-Funchal_Madeira_Madeira_Islands.html)

There is also a Michelin restaurant right in the hotel called Il Gallo D'Oro (http://www.tripadvisor.co.uk/Restaurant_Review-g189167-d1427159-Reviews-Il_Gallo_d_Oro-Funchal_Madeira_Madeira_Islands.html)

I didn't find the service at the hotel very pleasing, even though it is apparent that the staff is well trained and trying hard. Maybe it is the lack of English-speaking skills that they had, which is surprising given that the majority of visitors come from the UK.

The rooms are very large and if you take the sea-facing view you will not regret that.

Overall, the hotel is great for a relaxing trip. I couldn't find any action sports around the area so don't go to Madeira if you are looking for an active vacation.

Regarding the city itself, not much I can suggest except walking around and exploring, but watch out for taxi drivers giving incorrect change, of course :)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ilya P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014

This hotel has a top location and a beautiful view to the Atlantic Ocean !

+ points : Very large and clean rooms, and comfortable beds
Value of food of breakfast is very good
Very clean and quiet hotel ! Nice and fresh flowers everywhere !
Dinner at Portuguese Evening was top !
Swimming pool and pool service is ok

- points : Juices at breakfast are not good, why no fresh juices or quality orange juice ?
Theme buffet in the evening, we found poor, no choice and the dessert was a mess,
too expensive, we were happy we didn't book half board.
Too quiet maybe ?

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BRENT L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Words do not do this place justice. 15 years of travel of travel to 30 some countries and never have I ever stayed in a nicer place. They gave us a complimentary bottle of champagne because we were celebrating our wedding. Throughout our stay the staff was incredibly attentive. The grounds are immaculate with fantastic views and an amazing ocean/pool swimming combo. Good weightroom, great food (including an ample breakfast), and wonderful entertainment. Both the folkloric Madeira singing and dancing in addition to the wonderful jazz ensemble was a welcome relief from the stale 80s English covers with bad accents that tends to proliferate nice hotels. Reid's gets credit for being older, but if you're going to shell out some money, this is the place you want to be.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grant-Brooks B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
164 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Stayed for a week from 18th to 25th August 2014. Had an amazing time and would certainly stay at this hotel again. Both my husband and I had two spa treatments each....his first was disappointing as the masseuse (Susan/susannah?) was too chatty and also hinted on getting tips/gifts left for her by customers....very unprofessional! The other treatments were incredible though..... Both Sonia and Alex were amazing. We only are the buffet breakfast at the hotel which we found superb and certainly suited everything we needed. The hotel was clean, tidy and the staff couldn't have been more hopeful.
Would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: See view incredible but not compulsory if you don't want to pay extra for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LYNN T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coleraine, Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for ten days which really isn't long enough. The facilities, staff, food and overall atmosphere was just fantastic! I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough. The Rose Garden Restaurant staff, particularly the Maître d were all wonderfully attentive without being intrusive. The other bars and service areas such as the poolside and Spa were comfortable and well supervised. If you do go have at least one meal in the Gallo d'Oro.
Madeira itself is a great holiday destination with great weather and lots to see and do.
A great holiday, thanks!!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rincewind05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northwich
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

Staff wonderful, hotel great and views to die for! Second visit, looking forward to our third. Breakfasts are probably the best, with a choice of just about everything including Buck's Fizz.
We opted for a Funchal view and it is well worth it. Spa facilities great my wife and I had two different treatments, not cheap but great.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank steven h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
1.3 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
0.5 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#4 of 87 in Funchal
816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Residence
The Residence
#6 of 87 in Funchal
784 reviews
0.4 mi away
Porto Mare Hotel
Porto Mare Hotel
#7 of 87 in Funchal
1,952 reviews
1.1 mi away
Lti Pestana Grand
Lti Pestana Grand
#16 of 87 in Funchal
1,805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel The Cliff Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel The Cliff Bay

Property: Hotel The Cliff Bay
Address: Estrada Monumental, 147, Funchal, Madeira 9004-532, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Funchal
#2 Family Hotel in Funchal
#3 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#3 Business Hotel in Funchal
#4 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel The Cliff Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Atlantic Ocean stretches as far as the eye can see at the foot of The Cliff Bay which is perched on the top of a natural promontory. The hotel is surrounded by gardens with innumerable secluded corners and centenary palm trees extending to the very edge of the cliff face. The panorama is completed by a magnificent view over the bay of Funchal to the left of the hotel.The most influential restaurant guide in the world, the Michelin Guide, has awarded a star to Il Gallo d'Oro, The Cliff Bay's gourmet restaurant run by Chef Benoît Sinthon. This is Madeira's first and only star ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, TravelUp, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel The Cliff Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cliff Bay - Porto Bay Hotel Funchal
Cliff Bay Porto Funchal
Cliff Bay Hotel Funchal
Cliff Bay Hotel Madeira
Hotel The Cliff Bay Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing