We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just gets better!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Ranked #4 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 August 2014

We have just returned from our fourth stay at the wonderful Cliff Bay hotel. We went in August this year instead of July. We had yet another wonderful two weeks there and the weather was fantastic. We had a lovely room on the fifth floor overlooking Funchal. This year we booked direct with the hotel and everything ran smoothly, from the taxi collecting us at the airport, through to the lovely meals in the Gallo d'Oro as part of the Prestige Package. It was good to see that the hotel has added sunbathing areas off the lower level and there were no problems getting sunbeds each day. It's hard to think of anything different to say that hasn't already been said about the Cliff Bay so I thought I'd mention members of staff who had made our stay particularly special. It has to be said that the staff are what makes the Cliff Bay stand apart from the crowd and it is obvious that the hotel management value their staff as there are so many familiar faces each year. Not only do we recognise them, but they recognise and welcome back clients too. Tanya, the lovely pool girl even commented that we had come later than usual! The pool staff on the lower deck were all absolutely fantastic and nothing is too much trouble. Paula and her crew in the Rose Garden were equally welcoming and lovely. We ate in the Gallo d'Oro several times this year and attended two dinner/dances. Dora, Rosario, André, Victor, Sergio and Luis served us several times and made our evenings so enjoyable (especially Dora who also appeared in the Rose Garden at breakfast). Antonio even gave us an impromptu rendition of one of the tunes from the film Amélie during the dinner dance. The bar staff were also lovely, especially Jorge who was always smiling and chatty. We had a fantastic time and we are already planning our next visit for summer 2015 :)

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank thepigandthefrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,103)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,369 - 1,375 of 3,103 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2014

We came here for the first time because of the top reviews and were not disappointed. Top class facilities friendly efficient staff for whom nothing was too much trouble. Beautiful grounds and pool areas. Everything was spotlessly clean including the outside areas. Very impressive.
We didn't manage to eat at Gallo d'Oro so can't comment but the food at the rose garden was excellent and the setting spectacular. Our first time on Maderia and we would love to visit again and when we do we will stay at the Cliff Bay as we felt we got excellent value for our hard earned.

Room Tip: Well worth paying the extra for the upper floor rooms, any of them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2014

Visited the cliff bay with my husband and baby boy in September 2013, had such a lovely holiday. The hotel was clean and plush, the staff were all lovely, especially to my little boy. When cleaning staff left a chocolate on our pillows in the evening, they would leave a packet of sweets on my little boys cot pillow-such a nice touch! It was our wedding anniversary too and they had left flowers, wine and a card in our room on arrival! The staff in the breakfast room were particularly lovely and I can't say enough about the breakfast food-out of this world-fresh delicious fruit, pastries and champagne had to be my favourite holiday treat! The pool areas are all gorgeous and there were always lots of loungers, my little boy enjoyed the baby pool too. My only extra wish was for more vegetarian options on the restaurant and lunch time menus! I particularly enjoyed the views from the garden restaurant, it was so quiet and beautiful. Would go back in a heartbeat and highly recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: We didn't have a sea view but definitely get one if you can!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank newyummymummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2014

This is a great hotel with awesome facilities (such as spa, table tennis and a great 'chill-out' bar, as well as a great view and a convenient beach (if any rock-beach at Funchal can be called convenient)

We found the main hotel-restaurant somewhat mediocre compared to nearby restaurants outside such as Lareira Portuguesa (http://www.tripadvisor.co.uk/Restaurant_Review-g189167-d1542378-Reviews-Lareira_Portuguesa-Funchal_Madeira_Madeira_Islands.html) and Chalet Vicente (http://www.tripadvisor.co.uk/Restaurant_Review-g189167-d2138863-Reviews-Chalet_Vicente-Funchal_Madeira_Madeira_Islands.html)

There is also a Michelin restaurant right in the hotel called Il Gallo D'Oro (http://www.tripadvisor.co.uk/Restaurant_Review-g189167-d1427159-Reviews-Il_Gallo_d_Oro-Funchal_Madeira_Madeira_Islands.html)

I didn't find the service at the hotel very pleasing, even though it is apparent that the staff is well trained and trying hard. Maybe it is the lack of English-speaking skills that they had, which is surprising given that the majority of visitors come from the UK.

The rooms are very large and if you take the sea-facing view you will not regret that.

Overall, the hotel is great for a relaxing trip. I couldn't find any action sports around the area so don't go to Madeira if you are looking for an active vacation.

Regarding the city itself, not much I can suggest except walking around and exploring, but watch out for taxi drivers giving incorrect change, of course :)

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ilya P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2014

This hotel has a top location and a beautiful view to the Atlantic Ocean !

+ points : Very large and clean rooms, and comfortable beds
Value of food of breakfast is very good
Very clean and quiet hotel ! Nice and fresh flowers everywhere !
Dinner at Portuguese Evening was top !
Swimming pool and pool service is ok

- points : Juices at breakfast are not good, why no fresh juices or quality orange juice ?
Theme buffet in the evening, we found poor, no choice and the dessert was a mess,
too expensive, we were happy we didn't book half board.
Too quiet maybe ?

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank BRENT L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Words do not do this place justice. 15 years of travel of travel to 30 some countries and never have I ever stayed in a nicer place. They gave us a complimentary bottle of champagne because we were celebrating our wedding. Throughout our stay the staff was incredibly attentive. The grounds are immaculate with fantastic views and an amazing ocean/pool swimming combo. Good weightroom, great food (including an ample breakfast), and wonderful entertainment. Both the folkloric Madeira singing and dancing in addition to the wonderful jazz ensemble was a welcome relief from the stale 80s English covers with bad accents that tends to proliferate nice hotels. Reid's gets credit for being older, but if you're going to shell out some money, this is the place you want to be.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Grant-Brooks B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Stayed for a week from 18th to 25th August 2014. Had an amazing time and would certainly stay at this hotel again. Both my husband and I had two spa treatments each....his first was disappointing as the masseuse (Susan/susannah?) was too chatty and also hinted on getting tips/gifts left for her by customers....very unprofessional! The other treatments were incredible though..... Both Sonia and Alex were amazing. We only are the buffet breakfast at the hotel which we found superb and certainly suited everything we needed. The hotel was clean, tidy and the staff couldn't have been more hopeful.
Would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: See view incredible but not compulsory if you don't want to pay extra for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank LYNN T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
1.3 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
0.2 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#3 of 88 in Funchal
966 reviews
0.5 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
0.4 mi away
The Residence
The Residence
#6 of 88 in Funchal
870 reviews
0.4 mi away
Porto Mare Hotel
Porto Mare Hotel
#7 of 88 in Funchal
2,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel The Cliff Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel The Cliff Bay

Address: Estrada Monumental, 147, Funchal, Madeira 9004-532, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Funchal
#2 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#3 Business Hotel in Funchal
#4 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#4 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range: £156 - £281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel The Cliff Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Atlantic Ocean stretches as far as the eye can see at the foot of The Cliff Bay which is perched on the top of a natural promontory. The hotel is surrounded by gardens with innumerable secluded corners and centenary palm trees extending to the very edge of the cliff face. The panorama is completed by a magnificent view over the bay of Funchal to the left of the hotel.The most influential restaurant guide in the world, the Michelin Guide, has awarded a star to Il Gallo d'Oro, The Cliff Bay's gourmet restaurant run by Chef Benoît Sinthon. This is Madeira's first and only star ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Alpha Holidays Limited, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel The Cliff Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cliff Bay - Porto Bay Hotel Funchal
Cliff Bay Porto Funchal
Cliff Bay Hotel Funchal
Cliff Bay Hotel Madeira
Hotel The Cliff Bay Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing