We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“understand the repeat guests!lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Ranked #3 of 87 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Middx
Level Contributor
120 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“understand the repeat guests!lovely hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2009

Wonderful hotel set in lovely grounds.Staff are friendly,helpful and professional.Lots of choice for sunbathing,several terraces and free sorbet delivered to your sunbed.
Guests tend to be couples and mostly over 50 ish.Younger guests might find it a bit sedate.Easy walk to Funchal centre when free shutle bus finishes around 1730.
Lovely rooms,balconies and plenty of amenities in the room.
Spa treatments are not cheap!
Overall, very good

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sagittarius7Middx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,718 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,341
    295
    66
    10
    6
See reviews for
318
2,018
80
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,017)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northumberland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 259 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2009

My wife and I have just returned from an excellent stay at the Cliff Bay. We were not sure what to expect of Madeira (the perception being it's a place where the elderly go on holiday).
On our arrival at check in there was a computer glitch which seemed to be muddling up the names and addresses of those checking in - this was not a good first impression - however that was the only minor concern regarding the hotel throughout our stay.
We recieved a complementary room upgrade and were given an executive suite (room 630) which was outstanding - the sea view, the standard of accomodation, cleanliness etc were faultless.
Both the indoor and outdoor pools were perfect and there didn't seem to be a problem with people reserving the sunbeds with towels etc
The buffet breakfast was excellent and the evening meals were of a similar standard - some of the male waiting staff could be a bit overly insincere and mildy irksome but in general the staff were attentive, friendly and helpful.
Costs - everyone seems to be moaning about the prices of things this year, but thats partially the fault of the £ v Euro, and is not the fault of the Hotel. If you want to stay at a 5 star hotel expect to pay five star prices e.g Bottle water E 4.50 Coffee E 4.50 Cheese Toastie E 9.50 Evening Buffet meal with glass of wine and bottle water not much change out of E 100.00 Baileys and Vodka/Coke E 17.00
We looked at some of the surrounding restaurants and the prices were much the same - if you want to sit at a cafe on a plastic seat with table next to main road eating something that doesn't resemble what you ordered, it will be cheaper !
The hotel is situated about a 40minute walk from the centre of Funchal - the walk incorporates a fairly steep hill just outside town - so on a hot day the courtesy bus would be recommended.
Madeira does seem to have a high proportion of elderly tourists, but we certainly didn't feel out of place and I think this probably adds to the charm of the island - you needn't worry about riotous or loutish behaviour on this holiday!
Hotel evening entertainment is centered around the Cliff Bar and the resident singers are Luna Duo who seem to play most nights. The Saturday night group were very good.
Well done the Cliff Bay - We'll be back

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank shark3132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2009

Stayed here for our 10 day honeymoon. All I can say is... what a fantastic hotel!! Nothing to complain about, the room was huge, fantastic view, huge bed (not that important on a honeymoon, lol), great amenities, great staff, great location with a frequent shuttle bus to the centre of Funchal. I have stayed in several 5 star hotels, but nothing so far has beaten the Cliff Bay.

Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sergio1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisboa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2009

I absolutely recommend this hotel to anyone looking to relax in Madeira.
Even though I had never been in Madeira before we didn't spend much time touring the island as the hotel was so amazing that we rather stayed enjoying the sun and the amazing heated outdoor pool.
The room was great, as we got there and I opened the curtains I was stunned with the views of the deep blue ocean just below us and of the Funchal bay. The balcony had a nice size with two chairs and a table. Do book your room with sea view beacuse with will be one of the highlights of the trip!
Breakfast was delicious with lots of variety and we were lucky enough to be able to have it in the garden that surrounds the restaurant.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joanacm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2009

Visited Madeira for first time last October when we stayed at a somewhat disappointing 4* Hotel in close proximity to Cliff Bay.At that time we were told by several taxi drivers and restaurant staff that Cliff Bay was by far the best hotel in Funchal and as this was backed up by a multitude of reviews on TripAdvisor, we decided to give it a try.
From the moment we arrived we were impressed - doorman grabbed our cases from taxi immediately,hassle free check in at reception, led to our room which amazed us by its size and furnishings.Then there were a succession of knocks at the door - first a complimentary bottle of wine, then flowers, our cases and finally an invite to a cocktail reception.Our accomodation was absolutely spotless and quite honestly we could find nothing to realistically criticise the Hotel over.All the staff were very friendly and always acknowledged us on passing.The variety of food on offer at breakfast was fantastic- we had only booked on a bed and breakfast basis but did dine one evening in the Rose Garden restaurant at a cost of 85 euros.Although expensive,we had expected this and trying to work to what we considered a reasonable buget,this was the reason we had chosen to eat away from the hotel in the evenings .Here again some of the nearby restaurants were somewhat pricey but we frequented on most nights the Proa Azul restaurant which is situated on the main road only a few hundred yards from Cliff Bay. Here the staff were very friendly,prices very reasonable and good cooking in both quality and quantity.Well worth a try if you are looking for a basic,inexpensive meal.
Weather in our week there was disappointing and we were therefore unable to utilise the gardens and pools which all looked very nice.
We hope to return either this Autumn or next Spring.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank eddie244494
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2009

This is a bit late in coming, but, better late than never!!!

We stayed in Funchal, Madeira at the Cliff Bay Hotel between Christmas and New Years. The hotel was fabulous. We had a Superior Top Floor room and the view shown on their website from that room is exactly what we got! We were in room 702. It was large, clean, with a very well appointed bathroom. The view was lovely. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful in planning some day trips.

We hired a cab, directly from the hotel, to take us over the island to certain sites we wanted to see. The hotel ensured we had an english speaking driver, and he couldn't have been more friendly. He took his time, made sure he took us the the sites we most wanted to experience, and was knowledgeable about the island and the history.

The diningrooms were well staffed and all were attentive to our needs. The night we arrived it was getting late and they were running a seafood buffet that my husband really wanted to try. I am allergic to shellfish, but can eat regular fish. I was concerned that the fish may have come into contact with the shellfish as some were on plates side-by-side. The hostess went and got the chef and he spoke to me about my concern assuring me that this was not the case. I was however still cautious. Understanding my concern, he asked me to wait a few minutes and returned from the kitchen with a beautiful sample plate of all the fish and special salads that had not been put out in the buffet. I was guaranteed no cross contamination. It was both delicious and attractively displayed.

We had breakfast included in our stay and it was served in the nicer of the two diningrooms. We expected a simple buffet, but no, it was an extensive buffet, or we could order off the regular breakfast menu if we chose to do so, or even a bit of both! Basically, we got whatever we wanted, no extra expense.

It was my husband's birthday when we were there. We said nothing to the front desk or staff. However, when we returned to our room at the end of that day, there was a chocolate cake with candle, a note and a bottle of wine waiting for him. Nice touch!

We had room service one evening and that was exceptional. Delivered very quickly, hot and fresh. They even returned to collect the dishes about 1.5 hours later so we didn't have things sitting around the room.

During our stay, the hotel did not appear too busy, but apparently they were actually quite full. It never felt crowded or loud.

Funchal itself was a great town. During the holiday season there are street events during the day and evenings. It was lively, cultural and fun. I had heard that at New Year's it is quite a fireworks display and outdoor party. Unfortunately, - or not, we moved on to Rome for that.

I believe this is one of the nicer hotels that we have stayed in during our travels and will certainly go there again if ever back in Madeira.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HardCurves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa, Warwickshire, UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2009

A beautiful hotel. Stunning views, delicious food, perfect service and facilities. We went for our honeymoon and decided to treat ourself to a superior room. It was money well spent just to ensure we had a sea view with balcony. We could also have breakfast at the Gallo d'Oro for free if we chose to. We had free access to soft drinks in our mini bar, a choice of pillows. Not being used to this type of hotel, we were so impressed to have a paid-for taxi waiting for us at our arrival, have our luggage brought to our room, receive a complimentary voucher to use at the Gallo d'Oro and have our beds being "opened" each night (with complimentary chocolate!!! We recommend that you try the dinner dance at the Gallo d'Oro on the Saturday night - very posh restaurant but delicious food. The food at the Rose Garden is also impressive with a different theme night each day: flavours of the world, italian, portuguese, fish and seafood, latin world etc. A great hotel and many customers do go back.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank oli4uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
1.3 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
0.5 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#4 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Porto Mare Hotel
Porto Mare Hotel
#7 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,956 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Residence
The Residence
#6 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 785 reviews
1.1 mi away
Lti Pestana Grand
Lti Pestana Grand
#16 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel The Cliff Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel The Cliff Bay

Property: Hotel The Cliff Bay
Address: Estrada Monumental, 147, Funchal, Madeira 9004-532, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Funchal
#1 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#2 Family Hotel in Funchal
#3 Business Hotel in Funchal
#3 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#4 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel The Cliff Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Atlantic Ocean stretches as far as the eye can see at the foot of The Cliff Bay which is perched on the top of a natural promontory. The hotel is surrounded by gardens with innumerable secluded corners and centenary palm trees extending to the very edge of the cliff face. The panorama is completed by a magnificent view over the bay of Funchal to the left of the hotel.The most influential restaurant guide in the world, the Michelin Guide, has awarded a star to Il Gallo d'Oro, The Cliff Bay's gourmet restaurant run by Chef Benoît Sinthon. This is Madeira's first and only star ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel The Cliff Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cliff Bay - Porto Bay Hotel Funchal
Cliff Bay Porto Funchal
Cliff Bay Hotel Funchal
Cliff Bay Hotel Madeira
Hotel The Cliff Bay Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing